… and in with the new!

It’s that time of year again — everyone is posting New Year’s Resolutions, resolving to lose weight and exercise more.  I am too, for one simple reason.  Fat stores estrogen.  My cancer is estrogen positive, so the leaner I can be this year (while staying comfortably not-skinny, to give myself a little cushion while I recover), the less estrogen I store and the less it will feed any cancer still in my body.  So the chemo fat has to go.

There are other post-cancer strategies that I’ll work to put in place too, once I’ve had my surgery and started or finished radiation.  I imagine there will be lots of work ahead, as I claw my way back to “normal,” but I am happy to do it.  I’m just happy to be here.  Tickled, really.  And now, the list I’ve been waiting to make: 

Top things we’re looking forward to in 2008

* Me.  Yup, me.  I’m happy that I’m still here, and I am looking forward to enjoying every day with my little boys and my husband.  And, soon, work too.

* Work.  I happen to love what I do, and so does my husband.  So we’re both looking forward to contributing to the nation’s space program in our own ways this year.  Huzzah.

* Spring Conference.  WonderDaddy and I have gone to the same science conference every year since 1995, and I’m not going to miss this year.  We’re even organizing a brunch for the women at the conference, to facilitate some networking and see if there isn’t something that we can do to help women stay in the field.  We’re losing lots of women during the childbearing years, and I think that’s a shame.  I’m wondering what we and NASA can do to help reverse that trend.  (And yes, I already have clearance from my radiation oncologist to skip 2 days of radiation and add them on to the end.  She says I’ll need a break in the middle anyway, to lessen the burning.)

* Summer Vacation.  We rented a beach house.  We have a solid committment to go and have the time of our lives together after radiation and recovery.  We’ve been looking forward to it and talking about it during these last weeks of chemo treatment, and I am so looking forward to actually going.

* Birthdays.  Widget will turn 4 this fall — it seems unbelievable — and possibly start preschool.  If it’s not right for us, though, we’ll start a real homeschooling regimen, and get together with some other kids and moms for weekly science, arts, and music fun.  Little Bear will turn 1 in a couple of weeks.  I can’t even wrap my brain around that.

* The changing of the seasons.  Planting seeds.  Transplanting them to the garden.  Watching the little shoots come out of the ground.  The forsythia bursting yellow.  Iris blooming.  Azaleas turning pinks and reds and whites all over the neighborhood.  The trees filling out with leaves, and then the long summer days of lazing on a blanket and playing in the back yard.  Pool parties with friends.  Swimming lessons.  And then, the chill in the air and the changing colors on the trees.  Seeing another Fall day.  Waiting for it to turn into winter again, and snow. 

* Christmas.  I love Christmas.  We had such a wonderful one this year, exhaustion and all, and next year the boys will be old enough to start crafting presents for their grandparents, helping me shop, making something for each other …. I can’t wait.

* New Year’s Eve Party.  Our traditional toddler ball drop party was cancelled this year due to the boys’ fevers, but next year we’re going to hold a bash!  During the day, of course, and maybe not even on New Year’s Eve, but we will celebrate and there will be the Giant Toddler Ball Drop, and it will be fun.  I love to throw a good party.

* Being together.  Every single day.  We are lucky to have each other, lucky to have such good friends, lucky to have such a wonderful and giving family.  I hope all of you do too, and that you enjoy your times together. 

I’ve listed special days and times here, but really, the love of family and friends can make any day magical.  Every day can be magical.  Even the days where the most exciting thing you do together is laundry.  Which reminds me … I’ve got work to do!  Happy New Year, everyone!

23 Responses to … and in with the new!

  1. Imstell says:

    And I hope each and every one lives up to your expectation. What a great year to look forward to.

  2. Amy says:

    Can you e-mail me? I have lots of thoughts on #3 that I’d love to share. :)

    Congrats on having a new year full of new dreams and goals!

  3. mcgearstella says:

    What a wonderful list of great things to look forward to!!
    I cannot imagine you not reaching and excelling at every single one of those and more!!

    Happy 2008!!!

  4. canape says:

    Well I’m glad you are still around too. That makes 2008 a much brighter place to be.

    And I tagged you. Because I have known you long enough to interrupt this serious and well written blog with a silly meme. Ha.

  5. Heather! says:

    great list! lol about the laundry. I’m procrastinating folding mine and reading blogs instead!

  6. jj says:

    Now THIS is a New Year’s post…
    Happy in 2008!!!!

  7. clifford says:

    You must surely feel like Patton did when, upon breaching enemy territory for the first time, he stopped to urinate in the Rhine.

    On to Berlin, YM!

  8. juliepippert says:

    I’ll tell you one thing NASA could improve: the number of available slots for kids at the onsite child care. And improve it. It’s better now, I hear, than a year or so ago, but still not enough.

    I think most dedicated and intense jobs suffer this attrition though. It’s just too hard to give enough to either side, and you feel stretched too thin and like you can’t please anyone or do well enough anywhere.

    Hence my At Home status.

    Anyway the brunch idea sounds awesome. Good luck with it!!

    Great list and also glad you are around. :)

    P.S. I know a great lotion for your skin that’s okay with radiation. The lady I know said she never even burned! It’s all natural and organic too. Very safe. Her oncologist now recommends it. I can’t recall the name off the top of my head but I can call and ask if you’d like to know.

    Julie
    Using My Words

  9. Linda Lawrence says:

    I am so excited you remembered the camels and Epiphany! Hurray!

    Love ya,
    Aunt Linda :) :) :)

  10. Leann I Am says:

    This year has been quite a ride for you! Thanks for taking us along with you and I hope all of your dreams come true!

  11. Christy says:

    It sounds like you are going to have a wonderful year to look forward to.

    The part that boggles my mind every year is the birthdays! Like Widget, my little one will be 4 in the fall too. I am still trying to figure out where the time has gone.

  12. Mummycha says:

    Yeah!! This is really great that you are so full of energy. You are definitely going to have a wonderful year!

    This brunch during the spring conference is a very good idea. Please let me know if I can help prepare this event. I will be there, and I will be very very happy to see you, in great shape!

  13. planetnomad says:

    Happy New Year! Here’s to a fantastic 2008 for you and your family!

  14. I am so looking forward to reading posts on all of these great events throughout 2008. Happy, Happy New Year!

  15. maggie says:

    And happy new year to you!

  16. mooshinindy says:

    Of everybody’s resolutions and New Year’s posts, I like yours the most.

  17. Beth says:

    This is a great and informative site you have. This breast cancer *thingy* is new to me. The surgery (2) have been nothing compared to facing radiation & maybe (gulp) chemo, find out on the 7th. I feel like I’m in a haze but will try to inform myself more by your site & others.

  18. Hooray! Happy New Year and congrats on the end of the chemo! I have been a bad blog visitor to everyone for the past month or so, but should get back on track now.

    I am glad your Christmas was nice and I wish you and your family the very very best for 2008. I know it will be a MUCH better year than 2007 was, despite the “clawing your way back to normal.”

    My thoughts are with you.

  19. BetteJo says:

    I love it that you are planning. Planning an looking forward to “normal”. Yay WhyMommy!

  20. Angela says:

    It might sound crazy, but I can actually *hear* the crackle of excitement and happiness through this post. Happy happy happy new year!!

  21. Mummycha says:

    I thought you might be interested in this article about workplace parenting

    http://www.time.com/time/magazine/article/0,9171,1699879,00.html

    I would not do that myself but I like that idea

  22. […] treatments and we’ll start that soon after.  I’ll get a two-day break to go to that science conference and then back to the daily radiation until we’ve done seven weeks of it.  After that, we […]

  23. Kelli Rawlinson says:

    I would LOVE to know what the name of the creme that you can use during radiation. I have a friend here at work that is so burnt and is in so much pain.

    Thank you,

    kelli

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 521 other followers

