Eleven – fifteen

Eleven days ago, I was in chemo.  Fifteen days from now, I’ll be in surgery.  But tonight, I had a break from thinking about all that.  I kissed my boys goodbye, climbed into my friend Stimey‘s minivan, and went out for the night. 

In fact, all across the DC metro area (and a little beyond), blogging moms donned Baby Brewing t-shirts (thanks, Kristen!), put on a little makeup, and hi-tailed it down to meet each other at a local, um, drinking establishment.  We danced around the canapes (and some of us even mentioned Canape!).  We had cocktails (and some of us even wore shirts to that effect!).  We talked about trips to Petroville, to Parentopia, and how odd it was to just be away from the little monkeys for a night.  We talked about tweeting and meeting in Second Life.  We talked about day jobs and night jobs and dirty jobs and, well, potty training, which has to rank right up there with the dirtiest of jobs.  We cooked up some good ideas for saving the world … or at least helping moms with little ones stay or return to work when they’re ready.  We didn’t read, but we did snag swag from the lovely Devra, who shared copies of her book on Mommy Guilt, and Graco, who sponsored the evening’s refreshments and slippers to take home and relax in.  We had a fabulous time with some fun-loving friends, checked out a new Graco product, and marveled when they sent a pregnant blogger home with the amazing new Sweetpeace soothing center (it’s like a bouncer on steroids, people!).  We were not so well behaved.  Well, okay, we were actually very well behaved, but maybe that’s because we had a Gunfighter there with us.  We chronicled the night with mental notes, pictures galore, and promises to meet up again before BlogHer.  What a great night.

Many thanks to PunditMom for organizing the party!  We had a blast!

jan07.jpg

Check out the shirt, people — you’ll see it again! 

Oh, and one more thing.

15days
-Because I want to have more fun going-out nights like tonight.
29 Responses to Eleven – fifteen

  1. sounds like a fabulous evening.
    and you WILL have more nights like tonight.

  2. Paull Young says:

    All I can say is WOW… I’m amazed you got such a great post up AND joined Twitter – all after the Get-Together!

    Great to meet you tonight :)

  3. It was a great night! Good to meet you last night too.

  4. Nancy says:

    Great to see you again last night! I’m hoping we can do something like this again in the not-too-distant future. :-)

  5. OH, it sounds like a blast! What a great event!

  6. Kimberly says:

    It was so great meeting you! I agree, we should do this again tonight…and tomorrow ;-)

  7. slackermommy says:

    Sounds fantastic! Female bonding at its best.

  8. mayberry says:

    Some of my all-time faves! Sounds like a blast.

  9. canape says:

    Totally jealous.

  10. Judy says:

    I love your post. I love your spirit. I’m sure it’s hard to keep it up all the time, but I want you to know how very glad I am that serendipity, or more likely fate/God stepped in and I found you here online.

    Yeah, I think it was meant to be. You’re lighting the path for me, truly.

    Thank you for that.

  11. MammaLoves says:

    I can’t believe you were able to fit everyone in!!

    It was so wonderful to get to finally meet you in person last night. Your smile was so infectious!!

    It really was a great time, with great folks.

  12. Andrea says:

    That was an awesome time! It was great to meet you and all the other gals finally! We should definitely plan more get-togethers!

  13. debi says:

    You always make my day. You are special .

  14. Wow– you lucky ducks!! Glad you all had such a great time.

    And the shirt?? Love. Want.

    xoxo CGF

  15. jj says:

    Oh man, that’s a good time…

    yay for blogging friends!

  16. PunditMom says:

    It was so great to meet you! It was a blast!

  17. Devra Renner says:

    It was a fantastic evening. It felt like we were all old friends hanging out together. No topics off limits, hell we know so much about each other already, so this made conversation just flow.

    Or maybe it was the wine.

    either way, it was awesome and I want to do it again soon!

  18. Stimey says:

    I had a great time too! Thanks for navigating!

  19. Angela says:

    I love that smile in that picture…both of them!

  20. Robbin says:

    You look great, by the way!

    My son has the little T-shirt that says “My Mommy is Blogging This” with my url on the back. I love it.

  21. Ally says:

    Sounds like a great night! And check out all the linky love you included in this post! You go! AND I love the t-shirt!

  22. Mummycha says:

    Sounds really great! I miss the interaction with busy Mums. Would love to be part of a group of firends like this one.

    That’s a precious picture!

  23. Kristen says:

    I can’t believe we sat down on that rug in that restaurant and hung out. That was the best. I’m looking forward to the partying and conversation on the other side of 15 days!!!

  24. Angela says:

    Sounds like you had some great fun

  25. NYfriend says:

    Sounds like a good time – yea!

  26. fizzledink says:

    LOVE the shirt! And so jealous of your amazing fun night. I can’t wait until the countdown is complete and you go on to have oodles more going-out nights like that.

  27. OMG!!! That is the shirt my kids want to buy me! You look fab in it by the way.

  28. Nicole says:

    I had so much fun! All of my prayers are with you right now! Can’t wait to party after your surgery…

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 530 other followers

