Metro Anxiety

WhyDaddy is okay.  As it turns out, he was on the platform at Fort Totten waiting for the train that crashed into another train today on the D.C. Metro red line.  He and hundreds of others were standing on the platform, cursing the delay, when sirens began to wail throughout the station, over and over, with no announcements over the P.A.  Finally, a Metro employee walked upstairs and told them that the station was closed.  There would be no more trains today.  Walk outside and take a shuttle bus.

So he did.  He took an unmarked shuttle bus to the next station.  And then the next station.  And then he got out and walked and found a place to wait for us.  We picked him up, as M picked up his mother-in-law and thousands of others went to go pick up their loved ones, worried, stressed, and fighting unusually heavy traffic …

… but grateful that our loved ones are alive and here with us again.

My heart goes out to the  two four six families who have lost loved ones today, and the 70 that are being treated for injuries of varying severity.  It’s been a scary afternoon here in D.C.

15 Responses to Metro Anxiety

  1. Scary Mommy says:

    Scary, scary day here. So glad he’s ok!!!

  2. Jason says:

    “We are extremely saddened that there are fatalities as a result of this accident, which has touched our Metro family,” Catoe said in a statement.

    What a disingenuous scum bag. I’m in New Jersey and I feel more for these people. Shut up with your f—ing press statement. Roll your sleeves up and help help these people. don’t figure out the most graceful way of avoiding a lawsuit. You f—ed up.

  3. donna says:

    Those photos just break your heart…let alone what too many will have to go through. I am very glad you got to fight traffic and bring your big guy home to be with you and the little guys.

  4. So glad to know that WhyDaddy is ok!

  5. Stimey says:

    That’s pretty intense. I’m glad that WhyDaddy is okay. Alex usually rides in the front car of that train when he takes it. Never thought a motorcycle would be safer. My heart goes out to everyone on that train.

  6. I’m glad he’s okay! What a scary evening in DC. My heart also goes out to the families of the victims.

  7. Susan K says:

    Thought of Whydaddy as soon as I heard the news – having seen him at work and knowing how he must commute. So glad he is OK. And so sorry for all those who are not. What a terrible, sad day.

  8. How scary! Glad he was okay.

  9. JoC says:

    Scary! You keep showing us how to be compassionate and grateful at the very same time. Thank you!

  10. Robbin says:

    I take the Red Line in DC when I go there for business. This is pretty frequently – in fact, I just got back last Thursday. This absolutely terrified me when I heard it. Glad to know WhyDaddy was okay.

    I don’t think I am going to be able to ride it again without worrying.

  11. I’m so glad he wasn’t on that train.

  12. You two are dodging death all the time! I’m glad that he just was inconvenienced. With the Holocaust Museum shooting and then this tragedy, it’s been a sad few weeks in DC. We often ride in the front train like Alex because the kids love to see the view. Perhaps we’ll select middle cars from now on.

  13. diva65 says:

    My prayers go out to everyone touched by this tragedy. I am so glad WhyDaddy is OK.

  14. whymommy says:

    Thank you — and it never occurred to me that middle cars would be safer. How complex our lives have become.

  15. Lauren says:

    I have been away for awhile and just now catching up. I am glad you are feeling better and that he was not on that train.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 528 other followers

