Still waiting….

My oncology appointment will be Thursday afternoon, moved up from my scheduled appointment at the end of the month.  My primary care provider showed me the results of my scan late yesterday.  The spots on the scan are consistent with a recurrence of cancer in the middle of my chest, near or in my lungs, but we don’t know anything more right now, nor will we until we hear it from the oncologist.

So we wait.

I’m pouring my energies into work and into finishing the big announcement I had hoped to make yesterday on a completely different topic.  Some work on the advocacy front has finally paid off, and I have happy, happy news to share with you on that.  Yes, it’s hard for me to concentrate on that, but what good would it do to stop?

42 Responses to Still waiting….

  1. Darryle says:

    Susan you are amazing and inspiring as always, now more than ever. No surprise that you have an army of people waiting and praying along with you.

  2. Stacey says:

    Oh, Susan! I just want you to know that I receive your blogs via email and I always benefit from reading them. It’s just that I often don’t feel I have time to comment or have anything meaningful to add.

    I just want you to know that I’m sending lots of prayers and light and love to you. And I can’t wait to hear your big announcement on your advocacy work and I admire you so much for putting your focus on this positive aspect when so much else is going on.

    Of course, I also look forward to, and pray for, the big announcement that the findings from the scan are benign and you can continue to enjoy good health. Much love, Stacey

  3. *m* says:

    Looking forward to your big announcement — you ROCK. And I will keep hoping and thinking the strongest, most positive of thoughts for you. Hugs and strength to you and yours.

  4. Gamermomma says:

    HUGS Thinking of you!

  5. Donna W says:

    Like others, I never know quite what to say. But reading this about your scan, the words “Well, crap!” come to mind. I know, that isn’t helpful at all.
    Just please know I care.

  6. Robin says:

    I’m looking forward to the big announcement as well. As for the rest, I’ll wait with you and hope.

  7. J.J. says:

    I’m going to keep praying the spots are an artifact or something else. You have managed to overcome so much, I have faith your body will defeat whatever this is as well. I am looking forward to your big announcement. Your mind and spirit amaze me as much as your resilient body.

  8. Eve W. says:

    Susan,

    Just to let you know you’re in my thoughts. Hopefully all of this positive energy will accomplish something! Thinking of you, Eve

  9. justenjoyhim says:

    Hate cancer; love you.

    Hoping & praying the news is better than expected.

  10. Heather says:

    Much love to you, Susan. And prayers. Lots of ‘em.

  11. k8 says:

    love and hugs and prayers and good thoughts…..(and this……..f the f-n cancer!)

    k8

  12. imstell says:

    Effing Cancer! Am NOT happy! But you are marvelous, as usual… and will overcome! Hugs and prayers.

  13. D'Lyn says:

    Susan,
    You are never far from my thoughts or my prayers!
    Hugs,
    D’Lyn

  14. byrney says:

    Praying for you and looking forward to your big announcement x.

  15. Kelley says:

    waiting with you babe.

  16. lorri s. says:

    Susan – I’m praying for those spots to be anything else but cancer. I had a spot that looked really bad on film, but when taken out? Just fine. I hold you close to my heart while you wait to know what’s next.

  17. Laurie says:

    Wanting more of the good news and none of the bad. Looking forward to your BIG ANNOUNCEMENT and to it being followed up by another one saying “false alarm” about the spot. xo

  18. Vickie says:

    Praying for you, and wishing for the best possibilities.

    You are awesome.

  19. Lindsay says:

    Hang in there! I’m thinking of you. You are amazing.

  20. Susan says:

    Muttering crap! while sending light and love your way, and looking forward to the bi announcement.

  21. So inspired by you. Waiting and praying with you.

  22. Cassandra says:

    Praying, praying, praying for you Susan. And in between prayers, eagerly awaiting the big announcement.

  23. Amanda says:

    You are such a force. So many selfish things I want to say, but will sustain myself with this—I adore you.

  24. K says:

    My friends mother had a “spot” show up on her lung scan. When she went in for her next appt (which I believe was a biopsy) 100% gone, nada, nothing there. Miracles happen. Praying for you Susan, stay strong..

  25. Ashley says:

    I stumbled across your blog back in Oct and while I am sure I haven’t commented before, I do read each post via email. I just wanted you to know that you are in our thoughts and prayers!

    Looking forward to the big announcement and good news!

  26. Lisa says:

    praying nonstop from the atl for you. you are an amazing woman Susan. Nothing can stop you, including this pesky disease.

  27. Niksmom says:

    Holding you in my thoughts and prayers and hoping the spots are simply artifacts or something completely innocuous. Waiting with anticipation of your big announcement, too. :)

  28. slouchy says:

    waiting with you, my friend.

    xoxoxo

  29. Hooray for having good news to share – may there be lots more of it after your appointment, too. I’m so glad you don’t have to wait until the end of the month, that would be unbearable I’m sure. I hope that you are feeling well otherwise and the effects of the chemo have faded into memory.
    Lots of love. I have fingers, eyes, toes and everything crossed for you!

  30. jodifur says:

    Looking forward to the big announcement and you have all my thoughts.

  31. Michelle says:

    I’m praying hard for you, even though we have never met. I think you are an inspiration, and you are in my thoughts.

  32. Valerie says:

    Praying for you, Susan.

  33. Jane says:

    Thinking of you extra powerfully this week, Susan. I am super inspired and challenged into action by LympheDIVAs and Crickett’s Answer for Cancer’s good work. Meanwhile, our local Relay for Life gears up. We were just asked for our sidewalk telescopes on June 4 and 5 to show Saturn to the walkers. It’ll be a great night! :-)

  34. ecobabe says:

    Oh, Susan! I’m thinking of you hard this week. Waiting with you…..

  35. Linda Lawrence says:

    Thoughts and prayers are with you!

  36. NYFriend says:

    I hope your PCP is in error with the interpretation of your scans.

    Looking forward to your big announcement and sending lots of healing vibes your way.

  37. Prayers and healing thoughts being sent your way, sweetheart.

  38. I’m waiting right along with you, Susan, and hoping my thoughts and prayers help in some way. Also, can’t wait to hear your announcement!

  39. sutari says:

    Thinking of you this morning Susan and hoping for best news possible.

  40. Nadia says:

    Much love to you, Susan. My thoughts are with you!

  41. Spacemom says:

    Thinking of you today…. I hope you get better news than what your primary care told you.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 522 other followers

