Toddler Science

One of my goals for this blog when I started it in August was to explore what we can do with toddlers to help them enjoy the natural world, to learn to ask questions, to learn to solve problems, and in general get them ready for kindergarten and elementary science.  I may veer from this topic from time to time, but that’s really my big goal for Widget and for this blog.   I intend to review preschool science sites, to post ideas for experiments, field trips, playdates, and to consider carefully what is really appropriate for early childhood education in science.  I am not an education expert.  I am a scientist and I do have a toddler myself, and we’re learning as we go along.  Thanks for joining us on the way.  I’ll try to keep the politics to a minimum so as to make this an enjoyable blog for all.

I’ll close with a quote which I was reminded of by an article in the paper this morning, “A Barbie girl, thinking outside the box,” by Julie Seiler.

“If a child is to keep alive his inborn sense of wonder, he needs the companionship of at least one adult who can share it, rediscovering with him the joy, excitement, and mystery of the world we live in.”  — Rachel Carson

Bloglines/Feedfetcher/Other FeedReaders:  This post was written on November 27, 2006.

Comments are closed.

