Five things

The viral meme currently sweeping the blogosphere has made its way to Toddler Planet.  Odd, because other viruses take a much more direct route.  And no one here sweeps. 

Five (Slightly Odd) Things You Didn’t Know About Me:

1.  I don’t cook.  Period.  I am a stay-at-home mom, but I don’t shop for groceries or fry ’em up in a pan.  Why?  Because I suck at it.  Actually, there’s a deeper reason.  A more feminist reason, if you’ll believe that.  I decided way back in junior high that I was going to do something important with my life, and that didn’t include cooking for my husband (presumably a perfectly capable individual in every other way, or why would I choose him?) or making coffee at the office.  I never learned to do either properly.  I did do something important with my life — but this early attitude of mine shames me to this day.  Luckily, I did marry a perfectly capable husband, who loves to cook.  And doesn’t mind whipping up the 20 minute dinner on occasion too.

2.  I don’t make coffee.  I don’t know how.  See above.

3.  I did do something big with my life.  I got a Ph.D. in a difficult science field, and I went to work in my dream job.  But I gave it up to raise a little boy.  I still miss it.  A lot.  But I wouldn’t have missed the time with my son for the world.  Oh wait, that’s not so odd!  The blogosphere (and my MOMS Club) is filled with successful women taking time at home to raise children.  However, a younger me would have found it odd (also to my shame), so I’m keeping it on the list.

4.  I opened my own consulting business just over a year ago, and I’ve spent the first month of my maternity leave finishing a proposal for a big chunk of work.  I wonder if it’s any good, or if the oxytocin and lack of sleep have made it sound girly.  Can it be scientifically sound and girly at the same time?

5.  I own two pairs of shoes.  Just two.  Well, I suppose I do have another seven or eight stylish black pairs in my closet, from my silk-suit and fancy-lunch days, but I don’t wear them.  My suede-ish boots and low-heel black pant shoes fit the bill for anything I need to do these days.  Sorry, Canape and Mrs. Chicken — you’ll have to carry the fashion torch for us here!

I was tagged for this by Canape at Don’t Take the Repeats — and now I tag NewDotMom and Bri from My Level of Awareness.  What don’t we know about you?

P.S.  I’m going to be up all night again editing that proposal.  It’s due Thursday and it’s really been on my mind lately (hence no blog postings this weekend).  Anyone who wants to share the love and leave me an encouraging comment would be greatly appreciated and much-read in the coming week … because who doesn’t want pity-comments?

8 Responses to Five things

  1. canape says:

    Two pairs? Seriously? How do you survive? And what is your size in case I find something that you really need to have?

  2. Oh, The Joys says:

    Make me some coffee pleaseeeeeeeeeeeeeee!

  3. whymommy says:

    J,

    Here’s how I make coffee at the office: Blank stare.

    Here’s how I make coffee at home, for company: We have a lovely pastry shop around the corner, with the best coffee. Would you like to go out for breakfast?

    Canape,

    Bring your own coffee. And shoes in a 7.5-8. Comfy shoes. Because the pastries really are delicious. Remember the Olde Tyme Delicatessen? It’s gone, but the secret of the pastries has been mysteriously transmitted to the Jewish pastry shop around the corner. Open every day but Saturday, so plan your trip accordingly!

    WhyMommy

  4. Good luck with that proposal, Whymommy. I believe that you can do it, and do it well. I’m impressed with how hard you’re working this soon postpartum!

    I think I have you beaten on the shoe front. I have a pair of sneakers, a pair of dress shoes, and a pair of hiking boots for when I get to go out to the woods. Nothing stashed away in the back of a closet somewhere.

  5. whymommy says:

    Country Mouse, you do indeed beat me on the shoe front! I’m glad, actually … I feel a little less freakish to know I’m not alone among the shoefree mommybloggers … there are at least two of us!

    We’re the ones with the carryon luggage, people.

    My sister-in-law once packed ten pairs of shoes for a weekend trip with us. True story.

    Oh, and here’s another thing you didn’t know about me, unless you’re in our playgroup — I wore one pair of shoes — count ’em, one! throughout my last pregnancy. One. Marginally cutesy slip on tennies, with the big nonskid soles. Because I couldn’t afford to fall while pregnant. Last time, I slipped and fell three times, and each time I ended up in the hospital for babymonitoring. This time, I was taking no chances. The day I returned home from the hospital, I chucked ’em in the garbage. I never want to see them again.

  6. Kelly says:

    The only way that I beat you at shoes is by virtue of the fact that I splurged and bought two new pairs this weekend.

    I have a similiar story to you, on the subject of cooking. When I was in high school my mother woke up one morning and suddenly seemed to feel she had neglected my womanly education and prepared to start her own sort of “finishing school,” pestering me to learn to cook. I had absolutely no interest, and when she asked me, “But what will you do when you get married and have a husband to cook for?” I responded, “I’ll marry a man who cooks.” And I did. On occasion he’s even been known to sweep and mop and help with the laundry.

    Good luck on that proposal tonight, you Superwoman, you. I hope you had someone make you some coffee.

  7. Hey there Whymommy, I just wanted to say thanks for adding me to your blogroll! I own 11 pairs of shoes, which includes everything from slippers to fancy heels. Where I come from, that makes me a freak.

  8. whymommy says:

    Awesome story, Kelly! And excellent choice of cooking husband! I HAVE to teach my boys how to cook so that they’ll be good husbands to feminist daughters one day too. Oops. Flaw in the plan somewhere there. Maybe hubby will teach us all….

    Finishing school. Harumph. When I was growing up, that was called “going over to Canape’s house.”

    Canape, remember the little tea cookies we used to make? And matching cakes for the matching boyfriends? I think that was a Valentine’s Day long ago as well…. You’re still the only woman I know with a salad spinner AND a cookie shooter!

    PilgrimParent, glad to add you! I have really been enjoying reading about Porthos and Athos and baby Aramis. Your volcano post today was awesome!

