The Pain

The pain has returned.  It’s low-grade, only a 4 to 6 on the old 10 point scale (it was consistently 8-10 during my third trimester, and 10 without any relief the last three days), but it has returned. 

I’m tired of running the doctor circuit and tired of going to physical therapy, where I’m one of three patients being juggled by the lone therapist, who is also checking his email at the same time, looking for a stale blue handout with exercises to give me as homework, and sucking on his watered down soda while I work on the treadmill or the bike.  I mean, really.  The bike?  For someone with such back pain?

And I’m not sleeping.  But you knew that.  Cause I have this at home.

stripes 

Making it all worthwhile since 2007

5 Responses to The Pain

  1. Amy says:

    I am so sorry. I’m having a hard time coping with the regular 3rd trimester pain – I can’t imagine dealing with what you’ve dealt with. Is it anything that you can have surgery for? My husband had the epidural shots in his back for a ruptured L5 disk, and the second time he had them it really helped.

    We’ve had rotavirus here for the last week. NOT fun! I’m going to start carrying a can of Lysol in my purse. I know for a fact, since we’ve been basically shut in for weeks due to the weather, that we got it at the doctor’s office when I took MG for her 18 month well visit. So much for the “well” part. We were in the ER Thursday. Ugh.

    Misery loves company, right? I’m right there with you.

  2. Mrs. Chicken says:

    I literally feel your pain on this one. I have degenerative disc disease and frequently have siatica/herniated discs. I live in total fear of sneezing, especially with a 27-pound toddler and no family for 700 miles. I know EXACTLY what you mean about PT. I so hope you get better fast.

  3. Shana says:

    Oh man, I’m so sorry. Are you going to be able to get an MRI now that Little Bear is out? If you at least knew exactly what was going on with your back maybe you could get a better plan of attack than half-assed PT.

  4. Robbin says:

    I never had back pain in my pregnancy, thank God, but I had it for about six months AFTER Harry was born. Along with plantar fascitis.

    Yep. Fun days ahead.

  5. whymommy says:

    Thanks, y’all! It is so nice to hear that I’m not alone. I called the orthopedics guy today and am going back for an evaluation. Eventually, when they can fit me in. I have GOT to find out what’s going on here!

    Robbin, what did they say to you when you had back pain AFTER Harry was born? That’s what happened with Widget, and I thought I was going nuts. I wondered if I had injured myself at the birth, or nursing, or if it was carrying the baby in the sling. He was such a little baby, though, I don’t see how that could be…. Our bodies sure go through a lot for pregnancy!

