Whoo-hoo!

Did you hear that?

No, really — did you hear that?

It was the sound of two boy babies sleeping, and Whymommy getting some work done around the house.  A lot of work, actually, the most I’ve done probably since June.  (New readers, I was on bed rest from July-January; I’m not that big a slob naturally!)  In the past 2 weeks, I’ve been making a HUGE effort to clean, sort, organize, and toss things around the house.  I’ve been overwhelmed, driven, and exhausted.  The good kind of exhausted.  And now … I’m elated.  I’m finally making tangible progress!

By concentrating on one little area each day and keeping it clean, I’ve been able to clean off and throw away things from:  my bedside table, bedroom bookshelf, dresser, desk, telephone stand, buffet table, guest room, family room bookshelves, tv stand, and (drum roll, please) … the laundry room.  Every stitch of laundry is clean, folded, and put away.  My pre-pregnancy clothes are back in my closet, ready to wear, and my maternity clothes are (another drum roll, please) … photographed and posted on eBay, with backup plans to take them to the church.   They’re already washed, folded, sorted, and put in bins in the guest room.  That’s it.  I’m done.  No more babies here!

I’m actually quite torn up about that last part.  The more I smell that sweet baby and hold him in my arms, the more I want another one.  And another, until my house is positively overflowing with kids.  I do.  Some days.  But then again, I’d like to get back to work one day as well, and I’m choosing not to do that with infants at home.  And, of course, my body can’t take another pregnancy because of my back problems.  So, we’re done.  Point being that we’re done.  And I have 2 bins of pregnancy and “fat” clothes that I’m done with too.

And pregnancy books.  Those and about 20 other books were thrown off my shelves this weekend, for good.  I’m going to take them over to the local moms-and-kids shelter on Saturday.  That will feel good, and make it feel final too.

Yay!

 7954

Moments like this make me crave more time with the babies, and more babies too.  I know it’s selfish, but I can’t help it.  I love me a newborn baby.  Little Bear was less than a month old in this snapshot on his changing table.

2 Responses to Whoo-hoo!

  1. canape says:

    Dude. I wish I could snap up your “fat” clothes. Alas. It is not the “fat” that I don’t have under control, rather it is the ridiculous tallness that keeps me from saying “dibs”!

  2. Ann says:

    What a cutie pie!!!!!

