Baby Love

Pssst… over here.  Yep, here, on the couch, in the half-light of morning.  I have something to show you.  Someone to show you.  Someone wonderful.

Here, take a peek.  I’ll fold back the blanket so you can see him better.  Isn’t he lovely?

This is my child.  My second child.  A boy.  Not my first child, my beloved, my constant companion of three-plus years now, who I run and climb and play and laugh with, but my second child.  My last child.  Baby of my heart. 

I fought for this child.  I fought to conceive this child.  When my first child was just over a year old, I was at home, on my way to 35, and desparate to conceive again right away.  I wanted two kids very close in age.  The first was walking, running, and eating well.  The house was under control and I was at peace.  I was ready.  I had been ready for months already, actually, but nothing had happened.  So I set about conception like I had so many other tasks before.  I brushed up on the facts.  I reviewed the best times to conceive and how I would know when the time was right for me.  I talked to my doctor.  I studied and I planned and I read the ttc boards for help and advice and support.  I temp’d.  I charted.  I recorded.  I read and I consulted and I stressed and I — we — took steps to make this happen.  Three months went by.  No baby.  Six months went by.  No baby.  Seven?

I held tight to my dream of two boys so close in age that they could share a room.  That they could share friends.  That they could share everything.  So close that they could go to the same school and be in the same scouting troop or soccer team if they wished.  That I could be with them when they wanted me to, and not have to choose between the big one’s little league game and the baby’s playdate.  That we would have a family that worked together as a team, and brothers as close as Moses and Aaron, who would pinch-hit for each other when needed.

But seven months had gone by, and the dream was slipping away.

Finally, I let go of breastfeeding.  I got serious about my exercise routine.  I took my toddler for brisk walks, and then runs, logging 5 miles each day.  I lost weight and added muscle.  My body was in excellent condition, ready to carry a baby effortlessly and with grace.  I ate nutritiously and exceeded the recommended 5 fruits and vegetables each day.  Every day.  This baby was going to get the best that I could give.

Eight months went by.

In March, we thought it had happened.  I felt awful.  Tired, crabby, and nauseated, I started to take it easy.  Just in case.  An avid gardener, I was suddenly too weak, and I had to ask my husband to till the garden for me.  Just this once.  My temps were elevated for 17 days.  We were over the moon.  And then, I wasn’t pregnant after all.  Just like that.

Nine months went by.

And the tenth month, when my first baby was growing up so fast, we found out that I was pregnant.  Success!  A baby!  Hallelujah!  Everything was wine (well, juice) and roses. 

Six weeks later, I had terrible pain in my back and my groin, and I could barely stand.

A month after that, I could no longer stand without pain or bend at all.

And then I could no longer sit without pain, and I walked with the aid of a cane.

I spent 7.5 months searching for a source of my pain, certain that this child — this wanted child — was not causing it.  I saw doctor after doctor, PT after PT, and finally became a patient in a pain management clinic, where I’d sit each week with my geriatric compatriots and compare canes and awkward gaits.  They smiled at my belly.  A bit.  We talked about the weather and tried not to notice each other’s pains. 

Those appointments were the only time I left the house, aside from playgroup, which was my saving grace.  Twice a month, my husband would help me into the car, go back into the house, bundle up my toddler son, bring him, his snacks, and his toys out to the car, and take us to a friend’s house for playgroup.  He’d sit outside and wait, just in case I had a bad bout of the pain and needed help right away.  At the end of the playdate, he would come to the door and help me down the stairs and into the car, while our little son walked at his side.

And then this child was born. 

Six weeks later, he is a source of amazing joy.  Too young to laugh, too young to sit, too young to crawl or walk or play or delight us with his precocious witticisms, he still means more to me than life itself.  He lies in my arms, feeding from my very body, and his warmth is somehow all I’ve ever wanted. His contented sighs and rhythmic suckle reassure me that he is well.  A little gasp escapes his lips, and I bend to check the clearance between his nose and my breast.  As if any part of me could harm any part of him.

We have been up all night.  He has been in my arms all night, except for short breaks where I lay him gently, sleeping, down in his bassinet and I dash off to the bathroom or the kitchen or the toddler’s room, to check on an errant cry.  Each time, the baby stirs, he shifts, and he wails in pain from the gas that is welling up in his little tummy.  This child of mine is allergic (sensitive?) to milk.  I gave up all dairy weeks ago, but dairy is pervasive in our diet, and it sneaks in whenever I glance away.  Was this a reaction to the butter I spread so thinly on my bagel this morning?  Proteins in the dry waffle I ate last night?  It takes three weeks for milk proteins to pass through the system, so it could have been anything.  Cheese on a taco, even, or something in the dip.  Whatever it was, I regret it.

And so I hold him, and comfort him, and let him sleep on my chest.

Because I am his mother.

And he is my last child. 

23 Responses to Baby Love

  1. Amanda says:

    I didn’t intend to stay. I thought I’d just peek having seen a link to you on Chicken and Cheese. But oh how delighted I am, how privileged, to have stayed and read the heart rending words. Such a beautiful post. Thank you for changing the color of my day.

  2. I came by your blog by way of the party blog. Your post was beautifully written and very moving. Stop by if you get the chance. No fear, we are dairy free (and wheat, rye, barley, egg, and peanut) because my youngest has multiple food allergies.

  3. Katrina says:

    This really is a beautiful post – thank you for sharing from your life and your heart. I came here via 5 Minutes for Mom and am so glad I did!

  4. green3 says:

    I’m stopping by through the blog party. I loved your post. There is simply nothing better than being a mom.

  5. qtpies7 says:

    What a wonderful post! I’ve finally got my long, long awaited child, even though he is my seventh, he was promised to me by God, and I waited for years for him. And then a horrible pregnancy, and now a happy, wonderful, incredible health little boy!
    Hello from the blog party!

  6. Nic says:

    Gorgeous writing. I’ll be back.

  7. De says:

    Great blog. Beautifully written. Happy party!

  8. Tonya says:

    what a sweet post. isn’t motherhood incredible? i’m here from the blog party!

  9. Ann says:

    What a beautiful post, girl!! I have a newborn son who I adore more than I ever thought possible. I found you via themomblogs.com and I’m so glad I did.

  10. Bon says:

    oh, that was lovely. really lovely.

    and your endurance is pretty freaking impressive too.🙂

  11. robbinlynn says:

    I feel this way about my one son all the time. He is the only one I will ever have and the joy at every accomplishment is mixed with the sorry of knowing that “I will never pass this way again”.

  12. whymommy says:

    Thank you. Thank you all for sharing your baby love too. Being a mom is powerful.

  13. marym says:

    Did you ever find the source of your pain? I had the same thing with all 4 of my children – went away after each child. It was terrible and no one could relate. I was in horrific pain. I think I know what it was… it’s called SPD disorder. Let me know b/c I’ve never known anyone else who had it.

  14. marym says:

    Did you ever find the source of your pain? I had the same thing with all 4 of my children – went away after each child. It was terrible and no one could relate. I was in horrific pain. I think I know what it was… it’s called SPD disorder. Let me know b/c I’ve never known anyone else who had it.

  15. […] Baby Love […]

  16. […] gives us a heartwarming peek at her newest addition with Toddler Planet posted at Toddler […]

  17. Julee says:

    Wonderful story!

  18. dexie says:

    thanks you so much for sharing this. what a lovely story.

  19. Lisa says:

    Beautiful story. congratulations.

    Here via the carnival of family life.

  20. Lill says:

    There’s nothing like the love of a mother for her child. My youngest is 9, but as I read your post, I remembered when she and my others were babies, nestled in my arms. Enjoy him and I hope he feels better. I got here via the Carnival of Family Life.
    Lill

  21. […] and discovering – eleven months into blogging – that i wasn’t alone out here, i came across this gorgeous post, this song to her second son, her “last baby.” he was six weeks old then, product of a […]

  22. […] My last child.&160 baby of my heart.&160 … Thank you all for sharing your baby love too.https://toddlerplanet.wordpress.com/2007/03/01/baby-love/Deaths &amp Funerals – Times ColonistHe will be sadly missed by Maureen, his loving wife of 48 […]

