A diagnosis?

A big THANK YOU to commenter MaryM who suggested in a comment this weekend that I may have developed SPD, Symphysis Pubis Dysfunction.  I haven’t run this by my OB yet, but a quick look at it makes it sound VERY promising.  The good news?  It’s primarily a pregnancy disorder, and it typically resolves a few months to a year after giving birth.  The bad news?  It can return every month just before one’s period.  LOVELY.  Oh, and it gets WORSE with every pregnancy.  As I was on almost-complete bed rest for over 7 months with this one, I think I’ll stop.

Here’s a good explanation of SPD:  http://www.babycenter.com.au/pregnancy/antenatalhealth/physicalhealth/pelvicpain/.  This article gives more of a human view: http://www.eparenting.co.uk/pandb/spd.shtml.  The woman in the story could be my twin, our experiences are so similar.  Eerie!

I’d be happy to swap stories with anyone else who thinks they’ve experienced this sort of pain during pregnancy.  It was an incredible experience for me, and I don’t think I’ll ever quite forget it.  So, anyone out there googling “pelvic pain in pregnancy,” “lower abdomen pain pregnancy,” or even “abdominal pain while nursing,” welcome to my blog — and please leave a comment so we can chat!  My whole “back pain and bed rest” story can be found in this series of postings if you’re interested, but I can tell you that it all turns out just fine

3 Responses to A diagnosis?

  1. bon says:

    um….seven months on bedrest?!? i did ten weeks with this pregnancy, seven of them in hospital away from home…and i thought that sucked.

    you are my new hero.

  2. ED says:

    Hope you’re on the mend soon.

    Great site and adorable kiddos. My oldest two are exactly 2.5 years apart and they are best pals. A house full of boys is sticky, but very good.

  3. Mrs. Chicken says:

    I can’t even imagine how you did this. I haven’t gotten to doing it myself yet b/c I am at the in-laws, but I am tagging you for the Real Moms meme. It is called “Real Moms …” and you need to post a picture and something that you do.

    I think you should post something about how you bore seven months of pain for The Bear.

    You’re tagged and it’s up to you what you choose, but lady, you are one tough mother.

    xoxo

