God Bless Grandparents

Last week, my parents watched Widget for three days straight.  Last night, Whydaddy’s parents held the baby for 5 hours while I got in my first long stretch of uninterrupted sleep since January December November at least October 2006. 

Ahhhhhh.  It was nice.

Tomorrow, Little Bear will be baptized.  I know what I’ll be thanking God for!  Grandparents.  And sleep.  Ah, sleep.  I have missed you so.

WHEN do Little Bears outgrow their milk allergies?  I’ve heard 6 months, but that seems soooooooooo long from now!  Due to some unfortunate food choices (it was just a tsp of yogurt on those berries, I swear!), Little Bear has been up all day and all night since about Wednesday.  Wednesday of what year I’m still not sure, but I’m sure it was a Wednesday.  He goes to sleep in our arms okay, but then 5 minutes after I set him down, swaddled, in his crib, he starts fussing and works his way up to a howl.  I pick him up, calm him down, possibly feed him, hold him, walk him if necessary, and then the cycle starts again whenever I’m brave enough (or stupid enough) to put him down.  I suppose I have to face it.  His little digestive system is really still so immature that the slightest bit of dairy product upsets it. 

I am lucky, though.  Two women in my postnatal group have babies that howl if they eat regular bread, even, because of the small amount of casein in it.  At least I can have regular bread and crackers.  Even if I can’t have anything on them except hummus.

gasmonster

LOOK OUT!  It’s the GAS MONSTER!  AAAAAAAAAAAAAH!

2 Responses to God Bless Grandparents

  1. Kim says:

    Hugs, so sorry! Hang in there!!
    Sometimes they mature enough at ~12 weeks, 6 months, a year or even as old as three years. But often at 12-13 weeks a lot of improvement is seen.

    Gotta run through the old list again:
    Leg pumps?
    I-L-U massage?
    Hyland’s colic tablets?
    Chamomile+fennel tea by Mom (safe for baby to drink too, but I’m a purist😉 )
    Co-sleeping (in-arms)
    Gripe Water (Mom or baby)

    A new one-
    Slippery Elm Gruel (thick tea) (Mom or baby from R. Gladstar’s book Herbal Remedies for Children’s Health): Can I post a recipe from a book?
    Drink freely; nourishing, healing & soothing to mouth, throat, stomach and intestines.

    When WhyDaddy’s parents held him for 5 hours straight – how long were his stretches of sleep?

    Hugs again!

  2. Mom of 3 says:

    I think it depends on the child. I was told that most babies outgrow it by age 1, but my first was 3 when she finally outgrew it. My second child was fine at age 1. My 14 month-old seems to still be sensitive, so I will probably try her with milk again at 18 months, but it might take her longer just like her sister. For now we are doing soy milk and all is well. Let me know if you need any dairy-free cookbook recommendations later on. There are some good ones out there.

