On Cancer

First the good news.  My good friend Canape’s mother has been confirmed cancer-free!  Or in remission!  Or even… healthy?  I’m not really sure of the right terminology (forgive me, Canape), but I know that they received some very excellent news and I want to shout it from the rooftops.  HOORAY!  Yippee!  Huzzah!  Head over there and celebrate this good news with her!

And now, for those of you not in a mood to celebrate, the other shoe.  On the same day that I read about Canape’s momma, I also learned that my next-door-neighbor’s cancer has metastasized and spread throughout his body.  He’s been having chemo for a few months now, but they were hopeful that they’d find the primary site in time.  They didn’t.  It’s now spread throughout his bones and is causing him great pain, both chronic and acute as his bones turn brittle.  In fact, he broke a bone just turning over in bed last night and had to go to the ER.  I hadn’t seen him in a while (being housebound for all those months will do that to you), but we’re on friendly terms, and this just makes me sad.  Very sad.  We immediately offered to do what we can for them, helping around the house and such, but realize that there is really very little we can do.  He’s 72.  He was diagnosed less than a year ago.  But it has metastasized already and so his cancer is most likely terminal.  My heart aches for him and for his wife and family. 

He was diagnosed with cancer less than a month after retiring from his lifelong career, which he loved, but which took him away from his wife and family for long hours and little opportunity for vacations.  It just seems wrong for him to get so sick so quickly after retiring to spend more time with them.

Edited to add:  And now Elizabeth Edwards’ cancer has returned as well.  It’s also spread to her bones.  My heart aches for her and her family, and all those struggling with cancer today.

5 Responses to On Cancer

  1. canape says:

    Sharing your heartache at the same time as my joy. Prayers for your neighbor and the Edwards family too.

  2. Mrs. Chicken says:

    I can’t even tell you how this makes me feel. I hate cancer with every fiber in my being. It robbed me of my daddy and robbed my daughter of a grandfather who would have loved her very, very hard.

    I am so sorry for your neighbor.

  3. Bon says:

    cancer killed three of my four grandparents before they were sixty. as my parents hit that age now, i taste the bile of fear in my throat.

    on an entirely different and much fluffier topic, i have tagged you for a music meme, if you’re into it. come over and check it out…very simple. no pressure.

  4. whymommy says:

    Thanks. It’s so hard to see my neighbor all grumpy and curled up in his recliner at all hours of the day. It makes me feel more than a little guilty to have a vibrant toddler waving vigorously through the window (before I scoop him up to keep him from bothering them too much!). Our family is so young and happy and lucky at this very moment.

    Canape, Bon, and Mrs. Chicken, you have all dealt with this closer and more fiercely than me and so many others … I admire your strength, and support you in your sorrow. Thanks for sharing.

  5. […] cancer I have a neighbor who is angry at cancer.  Angry at the cancer that she fought; angry at the cancer that took her husband just a few months ago.  Angry that I have to fight the cancer now, so soon after her […]

