Thinking Bloggers

Well, I’ve been tagged.  By you, and you, and especially you.  And don’t think I’ve forgotten about you!  It’s been rough going around here lately, what with The Incredible Nursing Baby and all, but I do want to say THANK YOU for thinking of me and I’ll do my best to share the love! 

First, a big THANKS to my good friend Canape, She Who Got Me Blogging.  She has just bestowed the Thinking Blogger award on me, and I am overwhelmed.  I’m in good company here, and I’d like to pass it on to a few moms I read who are each part of my day now, and who always make me think.

My first two picks, MC Milker at The Not Quite Crunchy Parent, and Chris of In The Trenches of Motherhood challenge me as a parent.  Their organic, inventive, yet overwhelmingly wholesome appoaches to parenting inspire me daily as I set about raising my boys — as opposed to entertaining them with plastic toys, TV, and junk.  Their posts stretch me as a parent and as a creative soul.

Owlhaven allows me to follow along with her dream of a big family with several beautiful adopted children, and to live vicariously that dream though her.  A good thing, since The Toddler and The Incredible Nursing Baby (seriously — he’s still attatched and working it after nearly two hours!) are keeping my plenty busy!  She has such good stories of creative things to do with the kids, sand she inspires me to do more.

MUBAR was the first blog I read regulaly, and she inspired me to get involved politically as a mom, because I’m a mom, and to join with other moms.  She’s made me think of the possibilities.  Also, the lovely children’s splash parks in Toronto.  How do we get some of those here in DC and the ‘burbs?

This list wouldn’t be complete without my current Big Thinker Read, Ravings of a (Former) Corporate Mommy.  She is simply awesome.  Both her contemplation and her writing move me.

I would have loved to give this award to Bri/Robbin at My Level of Awareness, who is rebuilding her life after Katrina (and kicking *ss, by the way!) and the reflective essayist Bon at Crib Chronicles, but they were both chosen just this week!  Congrats, ladies!

Go.  Read these women.  They make me think.  And they all totally deserve this Thinking Blogger Award.

Thinking Blogger Award

Looking for more great blog choices?  Another of my new faves, Unplug Your Kids, has tagged me for the Discover New Blogs Meme.  Here’s the list she passed to me, and I would add the newest Thinking Bloggers I listed above.  Anyone looking for a meme is welcome to join in on this one!

Here are the rules:
1. Write a short paragraph at the beginning of your post and link back to the blog that put you on the list in the paragraph. This isn’t a suggestion. You need to break up the duplicate content string. Someone took the time to add you so the least you can do is give them an extra linkback.
2. Copy the list of originals below COMPLETELY and add it to your blog.
3. Take the adds from the blog that added you and place them in the Originals list.
4. Add up to 5 new parenting or (Mommy/Daddy) blogs to the list in the My Adds section.

My Adds:
(see the newest Thinking Bloggers, above)

The Originals:
A Work of Art: Raising Our Exceptional Son
Ever After … My Way
Adventures In The 100 Acre Wood
An Island Life
Adoption and Fire
Lala Girl
The Bookworm Broadcast
Parenting Sites 411
Cass Knits
Geni Desu Yo
No Average Mom
Notes From The Trenches
Busy Mom.net
Groovy Mom
Coffee Time
My Thoughts, Ideas, and Ramblings
Toil
My Single Mom Life
Tips From The Money Goddess
Army Mom: New Jersey
Melissa’s Place
Three Sons and a Princess
Moot Thoughts and Musings
A family runs through it
Uglyhead
Parenting Toddlers
arewethereyetmom.com
HeartSongs
Kitchen Ramblings from a fairly odd Tofu mom
My Splatter Painted Life
The Adventures of Fantastagirl
Party of Six
Controlled Chaos
Never a Dull Moment
It’s Just the Coffee Talking
Supermom
Christina, Downloaded
Cursing Mama
scribbit
Unplug Your Kids
Don’t Try This at Home
Toddler Planet
Crib Chronicles

As for the other memes I’ve been tagged for?  I did the music meme for Bon a few days ago, albeit with my own twist, and I think I’m going to have to stay home from Momma’s Blog Prom this year.  Sorry, Momma — work calls.  But the picture I’d post if I had the time and equipment is over at my good friend Canape’s.  She who makes me laugh and makes me cry and who makes me up for special events.  Like Prom.  Homecoming 1989 (see her last photo for a good laugh at our dates!).  Even my wedding.  I’m thinking of asking her to help me make myself over as a Mom-of-two-ILF when she comes to visit next month, and help me lose the frump.  I lost the weight, but the frump keeps coming back.  But I digress.  Go read those thinking bloggers.  I know they have more good things to say.

7 Responses to Thinking Bloggers

  1. Mrs. Chicken says:

    You totally deserve it! I wish we could’ve hooked up when I was in DC … but you know, inlaws, blah.

    Sounds like you are busy taking names and kicking butt.

    Also, great picks here for Thinking Bloggers. I’ll be spending some time there!

  2. canape says:

    So much linky goodness in this one! Thanks for all the new reads.

    You are never frumpy. The beauty is always there. Sometimes, it just requires metallic eyeshadow 2 shades darker than your metallic dress to bring it out.

  3. Mom of 3 says:

    You are a busy lady, especially with the baby too! I am glad you don’t hate me for including you in the Discover Blogs meme when you have all these other things going on also. Thanks for the nice recommendation and congrats on the Thinking Blogger!

  4. bon says:

    what a great list, Whymommy…i’m going to spend some time checking them all out.

    congrats to you. it’s deserved.🙂

  5. Aliki says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! And thanks for all those good links–I’m off to track down some of them.

  6. mcmilker says:

    Great list- I’ll have to check some of those out! Thanks for being such a regular reader of mine and mentioning me in this post! You too, make me think and are a regular read of mine.

  7. Theodore says:

    I’ve just been letting everything pass me by lately. I haven’t been up to much lately. My life’s been dull recently, but that’s how it is. I’ve just been sitting around doing nothing. It’s not important. My mind is like a complete blank.,

