Quiet Time

Widget is approaching that dreaded milestone.  The one that no parent of a toddler ever wants to admit is drawing near.  The one that signifies the end of my nap recovery period each afternoon.  That’s right … he’s giving up his nap.  It’s not gone yet, but he resists it and has been successful in resisting it about 5 out of the last 7 days.  What to replace it with?  Quiet time, of course!  Now I know nearly every parent comes to this decision sooner or later (and, at 32 months, this is definitely later), but I’ve been racking my brain for ways to make this a worthwhile time for him, where he can both rest his body and exercise his brain if he chooses.

Since we have the luxury of a separate playroom / family room for Widget’s toys to roam free, we’ve kept his bedroom almost Spartan (well, not that Spartan), with only his bed, dresser, chair, little table, and well-stocked bookshelf.  If he won’t sleep, he can always read.  And I certainly don’t mind if he reads by himself in the afternoon!

For a twist, this week I put in a new set of Lincoln Logs for him to discover and play with.  Canape’s stepdaughter Lovely taught him to build a house and carefully (so carefully!) assemble the little green roof.  Now, he’s obsessed.  Each afternoon, if he won’t nap, I can hear him puttering around up there, building a house and putting the roof back on.  He’s happy, his little brother is happy (because I can then put him down in peace), and that makes me happy.

This is working for me this week, at least.  What works for you at naptime?

P.S. Live in or near Washington, D.C.?  Leave me a comment!  I’m always looking to discover new DC mom blogs!

3 Responses to Quiet Time

  1. Mrs. Chicken says:

    The Poo gave up her nap at 27 months. It is KILLING me. Sadly, nothing works for me at naptime. We ry quiet time, but it usually ends up as crying time – me, not her!🙂

  2. NYfriend says:

    Love the Lincoln Logs solution. 🙂
    Here are some more ideas!
    http://www.askdrsears.com/faq/sl11.asp

  3. Mel says:

    I like to show him the things he can do….. read these 4 books, Listen to this or that music, play with this puzzle.

    Sometimes it works…… many times not. I think it’ll have to become a routine for mine to like it.
    Good luck!

