Starting Kindergarten

There’s a very interesting article in the New York Times today about Kindergarten “cut-off” dates and redshirting … go read it if you’ve got the time and interest.  As the mom of a kid who will always be the youngest in his class, it worries me a bit.

Go ahead, read it.  I’ll wait here, and post my thoughts during tomorrow night’s meeting of the HATT NAFA club.  I’ve finally got the baby back to bed, so I’m going to try to get a little rest myself….

8 Responses to Starting Kindergarten

  1. APL says:

    Thanks for the link. I don’t get the Times. I’ve been talking a lot about this issue lately with my husband (both our boys are September kids, which means they could start Kindergarten right at age 5). Looking forward to reading your post on it…

  2. MC Milker says:

    I read that article too and blogged about it on gnmparents. What I found interesting is that because of the red-shirting and various school district decisions, fall birthday babies may end up being the oldest rather than the youngest in the class.

  3. NYfriend says:

    Interesting article indeed. More to ponder as we try to decide when and if to start preschool!

  4. twithhoney says:

    I wouldn’t worry about your son being so close to the cutoff age. A good friend of mine and I were the 2 youngest in our class with birthdays in Dec and Jan. We both ended up in the Honors program and graduated in the top 10% of our class. This article found the few kids that never catch up but they failed to report on whether or not it is hurting kids by holding them back because of their age when they are emotionally and intellectually ready.
    Rely on your mommy instincts when the time comes.

  5. spacemom says:

    My oldest starts K in the fall. She has a late July birthday. (our cutoff is Sept 1) We’ve decided to not redshirt her at all. She is ready for kindergarten.

    I read this article and I see some people doing this for the wrong reasons. To be honest, I see parents pushing their kids too hard. I wonder if some of these redshirts are actually just getting pushed in other ways….

  6. coolbeans says:

    I didn’t read the whole article – just the first page.

    I wanted my kids to either be six or turn six before Christmas break of their kindergarten year. Interestingly, the two girls we know who were born within six days of my oldest son started school a year ahead of my son. The mother of one of those girls wishes she’d waited.

    I think the academic demands for kindergarteners are high. With so many schools going to all day kindy, they have to sit still, line up, sit at their desks, etc… more than before. All reasons to wait if you’re close to the cut.

  7. Fanny says:

    My daughter missed the cut-off by 4 days – and she is so ready! So, that makes her an involuntary red shirt.

    Here’s the rub though, my son WILL make the cut-off, but, if I start him at 5, he will be 2 years younger than his sister but only one grade behind? Because of this, he’ll be a red-shirt too.

    Cut-offs on our state are completely driven by standardized testing requirements. I was told by the principal of our elementary school that in order for my daughter to be admitted 4 days shy of her fifth birthday, she would have to test at a second grade level!! Insanity. But, I don’t want to be one of “those moms” always fighting the system so off-to pre-k she goes…

  8. margaret says:

    My daughter just finished Kindergarten. Her 5th birthday was Dec. 25 – the cut-off was Dec. 31. For her, sending her was the best thing we could have done. She was more than ready. Seeing how much she has blossomed this year, I think it would have been more harmful to have kept her out one more year.

