An Unexpected Solution

After over an hour of trying to comfort our screaming baby in the car on the drive home from Grandma and Grandpa’s house last night, we tried something initially counterintuitive:  we played music REALLY LOUD.

Daddy rocked out.

Mommy sang along.

Widget played air guitar.

And the baby, God bless the baby, fell asleep.

Works for me!

Edited to add:  One problem solved.  Now, about that chocolate treat I ate at MOMS Club this morning … somehow I conveniently “forgot” that chocolate contains dairy … the (milk-intolerant) baby has been screaming ever since.  Anyone have any mom-calming solutions to suggest?  I’m ready to climb the walls.

Edited again, to add:  Quick recipe for that sweet and salty treat:  Spread 1″ square lattice type pretzels on a cookie sheet.  Top each with an unwrapped hershey’s kiss.  Place in preheated oven and cook for 5-6 minutes at 200′.  Remove, top each treat with a single m&m, and let cool.  This is a quick and easy playdate treat that will have the moms coming back for more!

6 Responses to An Unexpected Solution

  1. canape says:

    Mom calming? Wine. Big glass.

  2. Spacemom says:

    Mom or baby calming? Try Hyland’s teething tablets for babe (they really calm baby) and wine for mommy (I know, a little late)

  3. NYfriend says:

    How is baby now?

  4. whymommy says:

    Little Bear screamed all afternoon and all evening yesterday, until he finally nursed to sleep about 10. I was braced for a really rough day today, but he seems to be in a pretty good mood so far … and I would say that he is even NAPPING, but I’m afraid of jinxing it! His tummy has calmed down somewhat as well, with only minor gurglings on that left side.
    Thanks for asking, though. I hate to hear the baby cry!

  5. Jane says:

    My friends used to open the windows in the car and the force of the air blowing on the kids would get them to stop fussing or it would drown them out. I think her kids were toddlers though and not really babies.

  6. kat says:

    Fresh pineapple, not canned,contains the enzymes baby is missing to process milk protein. If you eat it the enzymes should pass through. If it’s really bad I’d give a small bottle of water to the baby to dilute the milk.

