I have a lump.

There.  I said it.  I said it without crying, tears, or more than the teensiest lump in my throat.  I have a lump in my breast.  It’s 2 cm across, and that’s scary.

They found it on Friday, during my mammogram.  More about how that all went down soon, when I can write about it better.  I can’t yet.  But what I want to say now is this.  Yes, I found a lump.  Yes, I’m terrified.  But it’s not nearly as rare an occurence as one might think.   I’m not the only young mom who has found a lump.  Just ask these brave breast cancer survivors.  If worst comes to worst, and the lump is cancerous — I will remember that these women have already survived it.  And so will I.

Heike Malakoff (founder of CheckYourBoobies.org) found hers while nursing her baby.

LifewiththeOthers (blogging at Killer Boob) found hers at 29.

All the gals at the Young Suvivor Coalition, including this group who found their lumps while pregnant, hoping to get pregnant, or breastfeeding too.

Inspire me … who else have you met who has been through this?  Who inspires you?

21 Responses to I have a lump.

  1. coolbeans says:

    My grandmother and a former coworker. Two very different women who chose different courses of treatment. Both had good results. It makes me hopeful.

    I’m thinking about you and hope you get the best possible news.

  2. oh, no. i am so, so sorry.

    that said, i know that you will meet this head on and with courage.

    already in the telling you’re showing unbelievable courage.

    so, let’s see: my mother is a cancer survivor. and she survived a kind of cancer hardly anyone does. if she did it, with sinus cavity cancer, i know you can do it, because treatments for breast cancer have come so far, have gotten so sophisticated and targeted.

    you will beat this, friend.

  3. Mrs. Chicken says:

    You inspire me, Whymommy. When I would be crying and screaming and freaking out over not knowing, you are upbeat and brave.

    I’m in awe.

  4. canape says:

    Why you do, of course.

  5. Amanda says:

    Lack of artifice, that inspires me. You’ve wielded it beautifully here. I’ll be back, and I’ll be thinking of you.

  6. Oh, The Joys says:

    Whymommy,
    That must be scary and hard. I don’t have the right words at all, but I’ll be thinking of you.
    Best,
    Jessica

  7. I am sorry to hear this news.

    My mother in law was diagnosed with breast cancer the year I married my husband. We’ve been married eleven years now, and she’s been lively and healthy and driving me a bit batty the entire time.

    My prayers are with you Whymommy.

  8. Amy says:

    My mom’s friend Bernie has had breast cancer. She’s a phenomenal person, and is currently perfectly healthy.

    Much love to you and your family.

  9. FENICLE says:

    I came over from Canape and wanted to offer my support. I am impressed with the way you are handling the scariness of it all. I have had first-hand experience with this ugly monster. My cousin had a form of breast cancer called IBC.
    You can read about her & it here:
    http://fenicle.com/category/stephanie/

    I’ll keep you in my thoughts and come back to check on the update. Just try to breathe and hold your kiddo’s a little tighter.

  10. I’m surrounded by strong healthy women who have not only survived breast cancer but gone on to thrive – my husband’s aunt, my beloved next-door neighbor, a fellow LLL leader (who would be happy to talk with you about breastfeeding issues if it comes to that), and others. All of them are leading happy, HEALTHY, productive lives as they watch their children grow.

    Be strong, and kick this whatever it is where it counts.

  11. MamaLee says:

    I had a biopsy on a mole a couple of weeks ago, and it came back benign. And my sisters have had lumps over the years, and they came back benign.

    Take a breath and believe that you are not alone. I’ll be thinking of you and praying for you.

    Try to stay as strong as you can, and when you need a rest from being strong, we’ll be here to lift you up.

  12. lifewiththeothers says:

    You’ve probably read it on my site, but I’ll say it again in case you missed: 80% of all biopsies come back negative.

    I have lots of optimism and hope that this will be the case for you! If not, then we’ll deal with that then. Meanwhile, fingers crossed!

    By the way, my grandmother had it 2x and died of natural causes a very long time later. And that was ages ago before the treatments we have now!

  13. Kelly says:

    My sister and my mother-in-law are both breast cancer survivors.

    I’m keeping my fingers crossed that you don’t have to face this but if you do just remember that people beat cancer everyday, my sister and mother-in-law are proof.

    My sisters was found through a routine mammogram. It wasn’t easy but she went through the surgery and chemo and came through with flying colors. The doctor now tells her she has a bigger chance of dying because of a heart attack than she does with cancer.

    Good luck and I hope it’s ok if I check back in on you. I’ll be praying for you.
    Kelly in Canada

  14. Emily says:

    I have had a lump, and it turned out to be nothing after they removed it. I know two amazing women — mothers of friends — who have had breast cancer and have had to have breasts removed. Years ago, years ago. And now they are healthy and living their lives. As will you, if this turns out to be something worth worrying about.

  15. christine says:

    You can get through this! I know moms who have gone through similar situations, and they made it through. So will you. Hang in there. . .

  16. Pilgrim Mom says:

    Wow. I am sorry to hear this news yet you have share so generously in this blog that I am sure many women (myself included) will learn from your experience as you write about it. Prayers on the way!

  17. Charlene says:

    I am a breast cancer survivor; my sister is a breast cancer survivor; my best friend is a breast cancer survivor; my aunt’s best friend (age, 80+) is a breast cancer survivor. All of the women I have met who are survivors are an inspiration!! Have you ever attended a Komen Race for the Cure? THERE is your inspiration!!!!

    Since you found the lump early, you have a terrific chance of survival! I had a lumpectomy and did not suffer very much at all through the chemo and radiation treatments – I never really got nauseous or sick – just an “empty” feeling in the pit of my stomach.

    A positive attitude and laughter are the best armaments! You will look silly with no hair, no eyebrows (until you get used to it) — so LAUGH! It will grow back.

    I wish you the very best and I’ll keep you in my thoughts and prayers.

  18. carrie m says:

    my mom. 4 years ago, my stepfather called me and told me that the lump they found and biopsied was cancer. I couldn’t believe it. My mom couldn’t believe it. We all trekked to the doctor and got the facts, and this is what happened:

    she had about a 3cm lump in her right breast, ductal carcinoma but it wasn’t in situ. It had broken out. They removed it. They checked her lymphnodes. All clear. A year of radiation. My mom was exhausted for a year and a half, her breast got smaller, she had 2nd degree burns, ended up taking a month off of work, immune system was down and she got shingles.

    Now? She’s totally clear. Energy is back. She is FINE. The good news is with most forms of breast cancer that it’s very treatable now. It’s no longer the sentence that it used to be.

    I didn’t write that to sound scary, b/c honestly, what my mom went through I hated every minute of it, but she’s okay. No chemo. She’s OKAY.

    My thoughts and prayers are with you, my dear.

  19. Spacemom says:

    I am sorry. But now you can DO something about it instead of not knowing!

  20. […] grandmother and her former coworker have both beat breast […]

  21. Swobby says:

    hmmmm…very interesting!
    Thanks google

