Happy Fourth of July!

Happy Fourth of July!

I hope that all of you have a wonderful, wonderful day outside with your friends and family.  We’re having playgroup friends over for a playdate and barbecue this morning.  I’ve been worried about how we’ll do, but it will be okay.  The kids will play, the moms will chat, the dads will cook and eat, and we’ll all have a lovely time.

And it will be like nothing ever happened.

blog100_0456.jpg

Let’s go outside and play!

39 Responses to Happy Fourth of July!

  1. Jenn says:

    Happy Fourth.

    And Fifth and Sixth.

    And it will be like something happened, but something good, very, very good.

  2. Luanne says:

    Awww! I love the picture!

  3. twithhoney says:

    OMG – What a cutie pie!
    That face is something to be VERY happy about.

  4. Arkie Mama says:

    Too cute — makes me want to head outdoors right this very minute!

  5. And a Happy Fourth to you, friend. Enjoy that beautiful baby.

  6. Kristin says:

    Happy day to you! Have fun.

  7. Linda Lawrence says:

    Happy 4th of July to all of you. Have a great day!

  8. margaret says:

    Happy Forth! Enjoy the picnic and company.

  9. planetnomad says:

    Happy 4th! Enjoy your picnic and that gorgeous baby of yours.
    My internet connection has been down for nearly a week, but I haven’t forgotten you and I’m glad to be able to catch up.

  10. Ally says:

    Happy 4th to you and your family! Have a great time at the gathering. Good for you for forging on and fostering a sense of normalcy for yourself. Here’s to many, many more 4th of July celebrations!

  11. mamatulip says:

    Happy Fourth — have a wonderful day.🙂

  12. canape says:

    Have a hot dog for me. Enjoy your day!

  13. kgirl says:

    enjoy! (and that is an awful lot of cuteness for one picture.)

  14. I just started reading because of ServingTheQueens. I’m sending positive, healing vibes your way. Have a fabulous family day outdoors!
    Orangeblossoms

  15. cliff says:

    Hey, want any homemade vanilla custard? We ate so much that I can lay on my stomach and not have my arms or feet touch the ground. *burp*

  16. christine says:

    we were totally rained out of everything. Oh well–we made brownies instead!

  17. LawyerMama says:

    What an adorable little guy you have! Have a great 4th.

  18. Stimey says:

    Seriously. Could he be cuter? Hope you had fun!

  19. GTech Doc says:

    Happy 4th! Stay away from those fireworks folks, don’t drink and drive. Lets keep the hospitals quiet tonight! 🙂

  20. Your oldest friend says:

    That boy’s so bright, I need glasses. He either had a great idea or that’s some sort of solar event.

    *** Embarrassing comment alert. Embarrassing comment alert. ***

    Speaking of glasses, I remember the first day of school when you got yours. Mom told me not to laugh or say anything mean. I can say they went well with pigtails…now there’s a memory!

    *** Embarrassing comment alert. Embarrassing comment alert. ***

  21. gwen says:

    What a nice picture. A cute face to go with the clear blue sky…

  22. FENICLE says:

    I just caught up on your recent news from Canape’s site and a few others who have posted on the diagnosis of cancer. I did not realize it was IBC until I read your post.

    So many emotions hit me. Hard. My cousin was diagnosed almost 3 years ago – she was 30 years old at the time. With IBC.

    I wrote a couple posts on her experience. Here:
    http://fenicle.com/category/stephanie/

    I’ve been where you & your family are going. It’s a rough road. My prayers and thoughts are with you.

  23. diatribal says:

    Happy 4th! I too am just now getting back to the “land of the stable internet connection” where I can catch up on my blogs. I am so sorry to hear of your news. You (and your family) will be in my thoughts.

  24. Emily says:

    I have hesitated to write this to you because I know you don’t want down comments, but I hope I can find a way to say it that you will know is encouragement.

    My mother died of cancer and left me and my sister as small children. Now that I am a mother, I think of her often. How much pain she must have been in at the thought of leaving us. How heartrending to think that she would not be there to love us.

    I write this 1) because I want you to know I am trying to shoulder just the tiniest bit of the terror you must be feeling. 2) Because I am so glad that there is an aggressive and effective treatment for your cancer.

    Celebrate your independence, celebrate your life and your kids, and celebrate the doctors who are going to make sure your butt is firmly placed in a seat at high school graduation.

    Love.

  25. coolbeans says:

    We have exploded everything we could (legally and otherwise) and are optimistic about earlier bedtimes the rest of the week.

    I hope you had a great time.

  26. Emily says:

    It didn’t come out right, but what I was trying to say is that I am there with you every step of the way as you rewrite history and are there for your kids. Being there for you makes me feel like I can reach out to my mother and say, “This time it is OK.”

    And, throughout my life, I have wondered if she is there for me still. I am not religious and don’t believe in an afterlife, but I think her love has always been there for me, and now it is there for you.

    I will only post wiseass comments from now on, but I just wanted you to know how much I think of you and why I am glad there is a treatment.

  27. clifford says:

    Emily, you haven’t had the pleasure of enduring YM’s childhood Chevy Celebrity Idol singing contests…to which we plead/pleaded no contest…or seen her Earnhart it through the streets of Atlanta. Cancer is what should be terrified. She will break into an eardrum-shredding rendition of “Hangin’ Tough” and send IBC running for the hills. SON.

  28. nutmeg says:

    I found you from Slouching Mom… Sticking you right in my prayers. My best friend was diognosed with breast cancer at 35. She is now a seven year survivor and counsels women on their choices. She’s really wonderful at it. If at some point you need that, just e-mail me and she’d call you!

  29. Emily says:

    I have no doubt. None at all. I have been reading up and it is clear to me that she is going to kick its ass. What I meant is how happy I am for those kids that they have a mommy who is going to do that for them.

  30. whymommy says:

    Thanks, Emily. Don’t give it a second thought. Your concern shines through loud and clear, and I appreciate it more than you could know. Thank you.

    And Cliffie — you STILL make me laugh. But must we bring up ’80s boy bands? Oh, the shame!

  31. clifford says:

    “I have not yet begun to dig up dirt on YM.”

    – John Paul Jones

  32. Kim says:

    yes! dads cook and moms chat. now THAT’s a party!
    hope it was fun.

  33. Momma Em says:

    Now wait a minute! Why are the Dads the only ones eating??? If I were you I wouldn’t let them eat all the food. Happy (belated) 4th and hope you had a wonderful day…and nite!

  34. NYfriend says:

    Clifford you are just too funny! Though I never would have guessed it, somehow I can just see WhyMommy doing the crazy things you described (big grin). I can’t wait to read what else you’ll reveal about her childhood and teen years! 🙂

  35. clifford says:

    Let’s see…ask her about Travis and truks. TRUKS.

    I may get in trouble for this one. 😀

  36. whymommy says:

    Clifford, you are SO skating close to the edge here! Who would have thought I had anything interesting in my past? And remember — my mother reads my blog!!!!

  37. NYfriend says:

    Oh thank you Clifford! Off to email WhyMommy…
    Heh, heh, heh!🙂 This is fun!

  38. jen says:

    my son has the swim trunks that match that hat

  39. whymommy says:

    Jen, I bet he’s adorable. We do too, and they just make me smile!

