Weaning

Well, it’s not what I’d recommend, but it turns out it IS possible to wean a 6 month old baby in a week.

A whirlwind week, yes, but a necessary week.

We started to wean last Thursday, just after my cancer diagnosis.  Then Friday we had the bone scan and the CT scan.  We were told (too late) that the isotope that I was given was REALLY BAD for nursing babies.  And we couldn’t nurse again til Monday.  On Tuesday I’d have the breast MRI and echocardiogram.  Yes, the MRI with contrast.  Also REALLY BAD for nursing babies. 

So we jumped into weaning last Friday with both feet!  Grandma, WhyDaddy, and I have tried everything — and here’s what works for us.  We mix up a little formula, toss in some defrosted pumped milk, and add a very little bit of rice cereal (less than a tablespoon to 4 oz of milk).  Then, we just spooon it in!  The rice cereal thickens it so it doesn’t fall off the spoon between the bowl and his mouth.  The nutrigimen stretches the pumped milk so we’ll be able to keep it up for the next month or two.  It takes a little longer to feed Little Bear this way, but he won’t starve.

Oh, and he’s starting to take to the cup too!  We have these bright colored two piece sippy cups with animal tops that a good friend gave us to try, and they are working out GREAT!  I’ve convinced the baby to “wash it down” with a few sips of milk here and there — and it is working for us!

Hurrah!

21 Responses to Weaning

  1. Heather! says:

    He sounds like he’s just rolling with the changes and taking it all in stride. I guess we know where he gets *that* from! Have a great 4th!!

  2. Leeanthro says:

    The good news is that when he gets hungry, he’s gonna eat. He’ll be downing entire bottles in no time.

    Good thing you have stored milk reserves. I’m so impressed! I would love to know how a mom of 2 had time to pump. I just can’t seem to find the extra time.

    Have a good holiday.

  3. Luanne says:

    I am so happy for you that this transition is going so smooth! You are awesome!

  4. Jennifer says:

    That is great news!

    Have a great Fourth.

  5. Bon says:

    i’m glad you three industrious, creative caregivers have found a solution that works for Little Bear…and for you. it must have been a rather wild ride this weekend, but i hope it will go smoothly from here on in…and i suspect Little Bear will soon be downing whole bottles or sippy cups quite happily, just as Leeanthro said.

  6. margaret says:

    I stopped nursing Moe cold turkey around 9.5 months after a major infection/teething/and surgery. Luckily for us, she took it all in stride. Sippy cups worked real well for us as opposed to a bottle. The plastic cups with straws are another alternative that works as well!

  7. ewe_are_here says:

    Sounds like it couldn’t have gone any better uner the circumstances. And well done for having frozen breastmilk! Not easy.

  8. Amy says:

    That’s great news!! Have a wonderful 4th!

  9. Ally says:

    That is such fabulous news, and I’m sure takes a load off of your worry pile, just knowing that Little Bear will be feeding well. Nice job getting creative to find something that works for him. Hooray!

  10. Katherine says:

    Yeah, they told me at the last minute that I couldn’t breastfeed if I took my check-up CT. I hadn’t taken one in over a year and a half. Luckily, I was able to put it off for two weeks. Take heart and be greedy with your babies!

  11. Izzy says:

    I’m so glad weaning is going well for you. I know you had to have been dreading it but it almost seems like the younger they are, the easier it is. And he’ll take a cup? That’s wonderful!!

  12. Hurray! If you can go straight to a cup, that would be fantastic. Skipping a step would make it all a bit easier. So glad it is working out! Enjoy your Fourth!

  13. kgirl says:

    I get the feeling that sometimes the babes just know when you need their cooperation. Good on ya, mama.

  14. Jennie says:

    Good for you!

  15. LawyerMama says:

    Whew! What a relief. Great news to hear.

  16. Yay, you!! Keep up the good work…

    So glad Little Bear is liking his “porridge”.

  17. mo-wo says:

    Amazing formulation WhyMommy! You guys are brilliant. I’ll add that I gave my little guy solid food a lot earlier than my big girl and it was really really great… for 5 early months he ate anything I put in front of him. I think I missed the most food fussless stage with her by taking too long to give solids.

    At six months I dropped large chunks of chicken and mango and avocados on the high chair tray just in time for teething. It was too fun to watch him.

    Lots of love to you all. Happy 4th from Canada. And, good luck on you making fireworks on the ward! Hit it tough stuff. Swift, straightening of my back and extension of warm hand to rub your brave shoulders.

  18. Bill Lawrence says:

    Just wanted you to know I am thinking of you each and every day. Hope your picnic was fun yesterday as you celebrated 4th of July. Love from Uncle Bill

  19. Colleen says:

    What good news! Weaning normally can be stressful… it’s just so great that it sounds like it’s one thing that not too bad. A baby won’t let themselves starve. When they’re hungry enough… I think anything goes.

  20. tori says:

    You are awesome! My son had a forced weaning when I was diagnosed with cancer too, and now he is 3 and you would never know anything traumatic happened to him at all. I have been thinking about you a lot lately. Hopefully my positive energy is helping you. If there is anything I can do, please let me know!

  21. I am sorry to hear about your cancer! This must be a rough time for you. I am glad you have found something that works for you in the weaning department. That is rough in and of itself. I weaned my daughter a few months ago and I think it was as hard on me as it was on her – Emotionally and Physically!

