Fighting breast cancer

And now, the stories of the fighters.  These are the women I am going into battle with.  These are the women who are fighting their own battles, right beside me, and who are mustering the forces to defeat the enemy that is breast cancer.  We will line up together and fight this beast.  We will keep at it until he is whittled down to a worm.  And then we will step on him.  We will survive.  Because we have little children, and husbands, and friends who love us.  And we will blog through it, because cancer is now just one more part of our full, active, exciting lives.  Cancer is a diagnosis.  We are people.  Your friends.  Your neighbors.  The gal over here in the blogosphere. 

Until there is a cure, we must keep fighting. 

Here are two amazing moms I’ve just met who were recently (very recently) diagnosed.

  • LawMom at The Merits of the Case
  • Angela at Laudat (who also has IBC)

And here are two more relating their experience in a way that I just can’t stop reading:

There are also women out there blogging through it as they survive cancer, beat this thing, and move on with their lives as women, with or without continuing therapy and treatments.  Three cheers for Brave as a Tiger, Strong as an Ox, The Cancer Grrrl, Truesurvivor, Two Hands, Fighting Breast Cancer, Beating Breast CancerThe Cancer Blog, and, of course, the very recent survivor Leanne from Follow Lingling as She Gives Lymphoma a Beatdown.  They are all amazing.

I know this is exhausting.  I know stuff like this is heavy, and perhaps you’re into blogging for a release or a little fun while the kids nap.  I’m sorry to be so obsessed right now. Feel free to click away.

Just please, don’t look away if I pass you on the street or walk a thread of comments behind you in the blogosphere.

I am preparing for a battle, and this, for at least a little while, is now the story of my fight.

15 Responses to Fighting breast cancer

  1. […] Fighting breast cancer […]

  2. BR says:

    I don’t have a blog, but I was doing some online reading and found your page through a link from another page.

    I am behind you. Supporting you all the way. I wish I could do more, but I’m here, thinking of you and praying for you more than words can say.

    Your strengh is inspiring – while you fight this fight, you are giving so much to others fighting along side of you with your courage and writing on this blog.

    Here for you,
    BR

  3. MammaLoves says:

    Talk about a gang you wouldn’t want to meet in a dark alley!

    With a force like that, that cancer ain’t got a chance.

  4. Ally says:

    What a strong and courageous group of women! You go girls!

  5. Oh please, please, don’t be sorry to “be so obsessed right now.” Every single one of us would be the same way.

    Every. single. one.

    This is an amazing group of women.

  6. diatribal says:

    Thanks for sharing all these wonderful sites!

  7. You are inspiring even to a girl like me who is not a BC survivor but a 14year cancer survivor none the less. I found your blog just after my Avon Walk for Breast Cancer in San Fransisco last weekend where me and 2,800 of my closest friends walked 40 miles each and raised an amazing $5.6 million dollars. If you would like to know more about our foundation you can go to http://www.avonwalk.org but I will put you on my list of “Reasons why I walk” so when I do three walks next year you will be on my pink ribbon.

  8. julia says:

    So what if it’s exhausting, so what if it’s heavy. This, to me, is the finest distillation of the blogosphere. Support. Unconditional, full-throated support in a time of crisis. This is what women (and many men) do. I may only be adding my small voice to a chorus, but it’s an ever-growing chorus, one I’m proud to be part of, no matter how tiny my voice.

  9. Mrs. Chicken says:

    I’m with SM and Julia. I’m obsessed, too. You know my dad had cancer, and now my friend (you) has cancer. I’m obsessed on your behalf.

  10. whymommy says:

    Thanks, friends.

  11. Emily says:

    Babe — I wouldn’t click away if you paid me. BTW — feel free to pay me.

  12. Winz says:

    Love is a battlefield. You rock.

  13. You just keep doing whatever you have to do to keep up this fight. If obsession helps, obsess away!!!

    I ain’t lookin’ away for nuttin’, Missy!!!

    Thinking of you…

  14. tori says:

    I absolutely love that I am able to help you (at least a little anyway). I am serious if you decide you want me to knit you something cozy for your head, please let me know! For real! I wouldn’t offer if I didn’t want to help!

    I suppose I should get on to finish (or at least catch up) my cancer story since you are reading it!

    Anything I can do, please let me know! You are a very strong brave woman.

  15. tori says:

    Also? Is it wrong that I am totally jealous of your t-shirt?

    I’ll be thinking of you tomorrow when I walk my survivor lap at Relay For Life.

