I’m ready

i am ready
for my hair to fall out
for my mouth to sore
for my strength to ebb
and my looks to go

because then I know
that the cancer inside 
is dying inside
and ceasing to grow
and we’re one step closer to recovery

23 Responses to I’m ready

  1. canape says:

    Your looks aren’t going anywhere. You have beauty that chemo and cancer cannot touch.

  2. clifford says:

    Oh, it’s dying alright.

  3. That cancer should be very frightened just about now.

  4. Ally says:

    I love your fighting attitude! You rock, WM! This cancer doesn’t know who it’s up against.

  5. NYfriend says:

    I’m ready with you WhyMommy, right beside you. The deep breath before the plunge.

    Big hug.

  6. E :) says:

    I agree with canape. I don’t know you but I do know that you are beautiful. Strong, brave women like you never lose their beauty.

    And that cancer? Doesn’t stand a chance.

  7. You know what, Whymommy? Strong, courageous women like you are Grace itself, which is the ULTIMATE beauty.

    You go, girl!! Kick that cancer till it’s ab-so-lute-ly GONE… We are all here for you, watching and cheering you on… and doing our best to support you every single step of the way.

    love xoxo

  8. Daren says:

    You go! We’re here, praying for you.

  9. Stimey says:

    I was going to say just what canape said. So, second that!

  10. Traci says:

    Do you know I got your comment on my blog the same day that I received a mass email about IBC? And I had NEVER heard of it before. Thank you for being so brave, so willing to tell about your experience, and still reaching out to make more friends. I’d love to get together with you sometime when you are feeling up to it – our babies can play and I’ll bring a VERY cool hat for you to wear.🙂

    My heart goes out to you and my prayers are for you in this great fight!

  11. Imstell says:

    That is exactly the attitude to take!!! I used to imagine myself the heroien in a movie pretending to befriending the not-long-for-this-world she-bitch. I would offer her that nice shrinking red chemo cocktail. “Have a bit more”, I’d say, “isn’t it delicious?” I’d have some too then go pee it out in the bathroom. I’ve always been sneaky that way. The next time we met she’d be smaller and I’d be bigger. Eventually, I cut her out of my life for good. Bye-bye she-bitch! Bye-bye red chemo cocktail. Hello bigger, better me! You can do it too!

  12. whymommy says:

    Love the imagery, Imstell! My cancer is a beast that sits perched on my breast. The bad part is, I have to carry it everywhere. The good news is, it can’t get away.

    Heh.

    And soon it will start to shrink down to hamster-size and smaller. And who could possibly be afraid of a hamster?

    CodeYellowMom — we will playdate. Sounds awesome.

  13. Annalise says:

    I’m rooting for you Mama; and I love you even though I don’t know you per-se, but Mama to Mama, Sister to Sister, I care for you and yours and am vying for you and praying for you.
    Hold-on, Hang-In, you are so strong, it will be done!🙂

  14. Leann I Am says:

    That’s AWESOME! You amaze and impress me with every post.

  15. urban urchin says:

    You will kick cancer a**, no doubt about it.

  16. Jennifer says:

    Nah, that cancer doesn’t stand a chance. Hugs to you.

  17. Emily says:

    Girl, your looks won’t go. To your kids and your husband, you will always be stunning, and no one else matters.

  18. Jenster says:

    Your hair will go, you may or may not get mouth sores, you’ll probably be fatigued – but you won’t lose your looks. There’s nothing more beautiful than a strong and brave woman!

  19. ~JJ! says:

    You are so much closer to recovery this minute…closer than last minute!!!

    And I am ready to help you vent. I’m all ears.

    I doubt you could lose any beauty, you are more beautiful than any treatment could take away!

  20. My SIL was diagnosed at age 31. She was BFing and found a lump, was told it was nothing, but it was. That was 6 years ago. She is still here and doing well. My own mom was diagnosed with breast cancer at age 46 and told too, that she was too young. I had my first mammogram at age 30. The insurance company loved me! After reading about your diagnosis, I am now making an appt. to have another mammogram and probably the MRI that the radiologist recommended. I have had the script for months now. Thank you for writing about your struggles and for being so open.

  21. christine says:

    amen, love, amen.

  22. mod*mom says:

    i was bald from breast cancer chemo last year + people told me my hair might come back in curly or a a different color, but i didn’t believe them. my hair was always fine + straight, but now it has grown in curly! + i liked being bald, so i hope you don’t feel too bad about losing all your body hair, it is temporary, though emotionally difficult

  23. […] know I said that I was ready for my hair to fall out, but I don’t think I was quite ready to see it […]

