Gratitude

Canape started a blog this spring called Gratuitous Gratitude.  There, Canape, Girl, Nancy, Mamma, and Jen post inspiring notes when their hearts well up and they just can’t take it any longer.  I think it’s a beautiful thing.  (I would have participated, but I can’t spell gratuitous consistently.  I had to look it up three times just for this post.)

Today’s post is about gratitude, but the well-deserved kind.  You guys have been so good to me the past few weeks, and it’s time for me to thank you publicly and with some linky love.

First, the awards.

Robin from Around the Island handed me TWO awards earlier this week — the Rockin’ Girl Blogger and the Schmoozer.  I think the Schmoozer really belongs to Canape, though, don’t you?  I’m handing it right over to her for her Herculean efforts in organizing Team WhyMommy.  Amazing.  Also, she established a partnership with iBakeSale on Friday that benefits the Inflammatory Breast Cancer Research Foundation.  So that we can learn what causes this thing, and how better to fix it.
schmooze

Slouching Mom bestowed the Rockin’ Blogger award on me.  For courage.  I wish I could give it right back to her.  I cannot fathom how someone so new to the blogosphere (January, people!) has made such a difference so quickly.  Also, I just seem to follow her around people’s comment areas some days, and I wilt in her thinky presence. 
rockinblogger

My good blog-friend at Unplug Your Kids ALSO gave me a Rockin’ Girl Blogger award.  For strength and grace.  Clearly, she has never seen me navigate a crowded playroom.  Some days the toys just jump right in front of me, I swear.
rockingirlblogger

Now according to the rules, I get to bestow Rockin’ Blogger or Rockin’ Girl Blogger awards on 5 bloggers who I think ROCK!  Here they are.  But since I couldn’t decide whether these were Rockin’ Bloggers or Rockin’ Girl Bloggers, I’m going to let THEM CHOOSE which one to accept, display, and pass on.  Take that, authority!  I pick:

Jenster of Jenster’s Musings, for her sunny outlook and post just yesterday about getting “Frisky on the 15th.”  Check yourselves, people.  Breast self-exams, every month.  She’s even got a cute pink button to grab to remind yourself;

Stella, of I Can’t Complain Any More Than Usual for her bravery in blogging about inflammatory breast cancer long before I’d ever heard of it;

Sweet | Salty Kate, for being both publicly brave and publicly vulnerable, also long before I was;

Kristen of Candy Sandwich, for being brave without anyone knowing; and

Jessica at Oh, The Joys.  Because she makes me laugh.  Every. Darn. Day.

You guys — and the rest of Team WhyMommy (who I would award as well, if I didn’t fear the wrath of the rest of the collective blogosphere) — ROCK!

8 Responses to Gratitude

  1. Leann I Am says:

    I am realizing more and more what an AWESOME community of women is here! Thanks so much for pointing me toward some more of these incredible blogs!

    YOU REALLY DO ROCK!!!

  2. Thanks for the kind words, WhyMommy.

  3. Imstell says:

    Awww! I’m humbled! Thanks so much!

  4. Colleen says:

    I hope you’ll accept another award. I’ve written you up for a “courageous blogger award”. I immediately thought of you, and of how much your writing can help so many others.

  5. christine says:

    awesome! you deserve these. and good choices for the next recipients.

  6. Jenster says:

    Aw shucks!! Thank you so much!! I’m taking the Rockin’ Blogger because that banner is tres cool! And you TOTALLY ROCK!

  7. Kristin says:

    Thank you so much! I am just starting to catch up after a weekend away and I’m floored by how much I’ve missed in just a few short days as well as the award. I don’t feel very brave.

