Oops

I know.  Two posts in one day.  Not proper at all.  But I have a funny.  And a picture.  I’ve been all worked up over the changes since I’ve started chemo, what with the fatigue, and the anger, and the little sore developing in my mouth.  Annoyed that all this is happening to me so fast, and that my body is going downhill so fast.

It never occurred to me that perhaps – just perhaps – some of the changes weren’t caused by chemo. 

It might be all the chocolate that I’ve eaten this week.

chocolate

Mmmmmm…. Mommy can eat chocolate, and cheese, and milk now.  Perhaps she ought to eat something a little more healthful too.

28 Responses to Oops

  1. Emily says:

    Mommy should eat whatever she can handle.

  2. CreoleInDC says:

    I agree with Emily.

    Smooches from a survivor.

  3. Stimey says:

    Chocolate’s NOT healthy??!! Oh, WhyMommy, you’re shattering my world.

  4. bon says:

    i believe chocolate is a balm for soul and body.

    though i suppose…moderation is occasionally perhaps called for. but i say that grudgingly.

    love the photo.

  5. Jenn says:

    I’m trying to think of something more healthy, but nothing comes to mind.

    Eat some for me!!

  6. diatribal says:

    Mama eats whatever mama wants!!! 🙂

    (Isn’t that the rule for all mamas?)

  7. Well. You could always switch to dark chocolate. That’s supposed to be healthy…

  8. Colleen says:

    I think I need to go find some chocolate now!

  9. NYfriend says:

    Here’s a health tip:

    “Not sure your chocolate is dark enough? Steven Pratt, author of “SuperFoods Healthstyles,” had mass market chocolates tested. Here are the brands that came out on top:

    • Newman’s Own Sweet Dark Dark Chocolate: 955 milligrams total polyphenols

    • Dove Silky Dark Chocolate: 811 milligrams

    • Endangered Species Chocolate Company Wolf Bar (with cranberries and almonds): 811 milligrams

    • Cadbury Royal Dark Indulgent Dark Chocolate: 765 milligrams

    • Hershey’s Special Dark Mildly Sweet Chocolate: 739 milligrams

    • Chocolat de Dina Extra Dark Chocolate with Green Tea: 676 milligrams”

    Enjoy!

  10. whymommy says:

    Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm…..

    It all sounds good to me. I had gone six months without even a taste of the chocolatey goodness. The things we do for our kids!

  11. NYfriend says:

    Here’s a health tip! 🙂

    “Not sure your chocolate is dark enough? Steven Pratt, author of “SuperFoods Healthstyles,” had mass market chocolates tested. Here are the brands that came out on top:

    • Newman’s Own Sweet Dark Dark Chocolate: 955 milligrams total polyphenols

    • Dove Silky Dark Chocolate: 811 milligrams

    • Endangered Species Chocolate Company Wolf Bar (with cranberries and almonds): 811 milligrams

    • Cadbury Royal Dark Indulgent Dark Chocolate: 765 milligrams

    • Hershey’s Special Dark Mildly Sweet Chocolate: 739 milligrams

    • Chocolat de Dina Extra Dark Chocolate with Green Tea: 676 milligrams”

  12. christine says:

    eat some for me too!

  13. canape says:

    Don’t forget the queso. You know, cheese dip😉

  14. ~JJ! says:

    YAY!!!! Chocolate!!!!!

    Can I have some?

  15. Arkie Mama says:

    Chocolate and cheese — my two favorites. Eat some for me, please! Neither can be found in our house at the moment.

  16. My hope is that one day we can say “my cancer was cured by chocolate”. I believe that day will come. So I eat MORE chocolate and pray that works to scare away and lasting or rebelious cancer cells from 14 years ago. HMMM speaking of I do need to by more chocolate.

  17. Susan K says:

    DARK chocolate! All the dark chocolate you want. And since when is milk and cheese not healthful??? They gave your heart a thumbs up, so cholesterol is NOT a concern right now.

  18. Susan K says:

    I should have added mustard. Chocolate, cheese, and mustard – my three desert island foods (not to be consumed together!, well, actually mustard and cheese on crackers is pretty darn good..

  19. Linda Lawrence says:

    Ymm! Chocolate! What could be better? 🙂

  20. Ally says:

    I know we’re not supposed to steal candy from babies, but that photo has me awfully tempted!

  21. imstell says:

    Yeah for chocolate! Chocolate does not do mouth sores! And mouth sores are easily handled! Swish often with 1/2 and 1/2 listerine and water. Works like a charm. I used the citrus listerine – much less mediciny. Also, switch to the softest toothbrush you can find – even if it is a baby toothbrush. This will save your gums. Another dental tip. For flossing use Reach Cleanpaste. It is thick, yarn-like (kinda looks tie-died) and won’t cut your gums. Plus it has toothpaste on it. And eats lots and lots more chocolate!

  22. Kendra says:

    I say have all the chocolate you can handle. I know I do.

  23. Oh, The Joys says:

    I think you and your family are currently allowed to exceed the standard chocolate limits!

  24. Kristin says:

    I’m just coming down from a sugar weekend. You’d think I’d learn but sometimes, comfort foods and sweets sound like a good idea.

  25. Kristen says:

    Chocolate is so very good for you…antioxidants and a substantial mood booster. Personally I prefer it with a side of chocolate…You go ahead and eat as much as you like. We won’t tell anyone.

  26. ohgrammy says:

    Hmmmmmmm….

  27. whymommy says:

    Busted. By my Mom.

    But Mom, the internets SAID I could have chocolate! See? See?

    Sigh. 🙂 She still looks out for me. Thanks, Mom.

  28. Damselfly says:

    Well, hey, chocolate has antioxidants, right? 😉 What a cutie. He has good taste….

