Status

MAMA

HURTS.

I will be in my room with chocolate until further notice.  I have also taken the peanut butter and my laptop.  I am going to Second Life for the BlogHer conference.  If anyone is looking for me, I’ll be in the exhibit hall.

Currently, I’m the one wearing a box.

I’d explain this post here in some italicized comments, but I’m not sure that I really can.  Let’s just say that I’m trying to learn something new.  And it’s going to keep me distracted until the pain passes or the oncologist arrives in her office tomorrow morning and can give me something for it.  I hope.  I’ll also be out there reading the blogs, but the pain makes me angry, so I can’t promise many cheerful and peppy comments today. 

I *am* out there reading your IBC posts, however, and they are making me so incredibly proud of you.  I just know that, together, we will save someone else’s life. 

44 Responses to Status

  1. Stimey says:

    Oh, WhyMommy, if I could take some of your pain, I would. Hang in there. I’m thinking of you. Love! Love! Love!

  2. Ally says:

    I’m sorry that it hurts so much. Like Stimey, I wish we could all take it away from you and spread it around so it would be more bearable. Chocolate– the drug of choice. I hope you get something stronger from the doc tomorrow.

  3. We love you, Whymommy… Hang in there!!

    love to you xo

  4. NYfriend says:

    Hugs WhyMommy, lots and lots of hugs.

  5. canape says:

    All I can say is that you better be dipping the chocolate into the peanut butter.

    I think the pain is the cancer’s last attempt. It’s kicking and screaming; it knows you are getting ready to hit it again on Friday, and put it down for good.

  6. ohgrammy says:

    And more hugs. . . . Close your eyes, and feel the love around you. We all want to try to help you through this. I know it’s hard, but it’ll be okay, I know it will.

  7. Shannon says:

    Oh, no. Oh, I’m so sorry. Praying for you…

  8. tori says:

    You are an amazingly strong woman. I know you can get through this. The chocolate and peanut butter will help, but it is YOU beating this! You are awesome!

  9. I LOVE canape’s comment. The pain is the cancer, panicking.

    In the meantime, do whatever you need to cope, and don’t ever be shy about asking people in your life to accommodate those needs.

    Here for you, cheering, as always.. even when you’re thick in the battle. Especially then.

  10. Amanda says:

    Comments, schmoments. Just promise to poke your head out from time to time for an update. Give me a PO Box or something and I’ll send you some real chocolate…

    I know it feels liek your ass is kicked right now, but it’s really you who is kicking ass. Keep on keepin’ on we are all here, behind you, beneath you and everywhere. And don’t doubt for a minute, you are indeed saving lives WhyMommy.

  11. I’m sorry it hurts. I hope that you feel some relief by now.

    (hugs)

  12. christine says:

    oh that sucks.
    [[hugs]]

    i sent your blog post out as a huge email to all my friends. hope they pay attention

  13. FENICLE says:

    Lots of prayers sent your way. My cousin had IBC a few years ago. Unfortunately, she passed away after a bloodclot & other complications…hers was very far progressed by the time the dr’s diagnosed it correctly. You’re doing well to spread the word – it doesn’t have to be a lump!

    She kept hearing over & over that there was no lump, so it wasn’t cancer – from dr’s & radiologists.

    You can read about her here:
    http://fenicle.com/category/stephanie/

  14. Ashlea says:

    Sending healing vibes your way…..

  15. I am in awe of your courage and your strength. I have re-posted your July 23rd entry on my blog. Thank you for helping to educate all of us about this disease.

  16. fidget says:

    Sending you strength and i agree smear PB directly onto chocolate. Better yet take two chocolate bars and smear peanut butter on one side of each bar. Squish together for best peanut butter sandwich EVER

  17. My prayers are with you to feel better and have a speedy, complete recovery. I have linked to your article in a posting on my website. Enjoy the peanut butter and chocolate and feel better soon.

  18. Robin says:

    I wish it didn’t hurt. I wish I could somehow take on your pain for a while and give you a chance to rest. I wish I could do something. Anything.

    Hang in there WM, you CAN do this. You WILL beat this.

  19. Kim says:

    all the stuff you’re going through right now (plus the work of regular family life) and you are really into Second Life?? wow. i’ve never even tried it – but it sounds intriguing. hey- whatever it takes to put one foot in front of the other. chocolate is a fabulous start!

  20. Jacquie says:

    If only we could releive som of the pain for you! Hugs sweetie hugs!

  21. Heather says:

    So sorry you’re hurting. Take it easy and let others take care of you. Hopefully the doctor can give you something in the morning. Lots of (((hugs))).

  22. Marlita says:

    Just wanted to let you know that I am sending, healing, positive thoughts your way. I wish there were something I could do to take away your pain. Chocolate is good . . . enjoy it and know there are others out there who care.

  23. ~JJ! says:

    I am proud of you.

    I am sending you soothing pain relief. Envelope it.

  24. Jenn says:

    Here, praying, hoping, pissed off for you, wishing you chocolate in unrationed amounts.

  25. Whymommy-My post is up at my site. http://www.joyinchaos.com

    It’s not enough. I wish I could do more. I too wish I could ease this burden for you, take away the pain. I hurt for you, and I am envisioning a time in your future when you are pain-free again and this is all just an awful memory. I am lifting you up today.

  26. girl says:

    Hang in there chick!

  27. Bon says:

    i too love Canape’s image of the pain being the cancer, kicking and screaming. of course, it’s not kicking ME…sorry for that. but i am cheering over here, for you and your chocolate putting it in its place.

    just keep on keepin’ on, friend.

    and BlogHer is in Second Life? omg! i can go! is it on now?

    whee!! see you there!

  28. Lisa says:

    So how do you feel about gorp? Honey-roasted peanuts? Would you rather choco-late chip/peanut butter cookies? Brownies? Banana bread (we can always throw some chocolate chips in there too!😉

    All our love and good vibes heading your way! Go Whymommy! You can do this!

    Many of our family and friends have already said thanks for us forwarding on all of your useful information!

    M^2L^2

  29. Emily says:

    Are you putting the peanut butter on the chocolate?

  30. Arkie Mama says:

    I’m so sorry. I hope the pain eases soon, or that your doctor can give you something to help get you through these early days.

    (I say mix the peanut butter & chocolate. Yum.)

  31. Tracy says:

    I ran across your post on The Moosh’s Blog….so of course I had to mosey on over here to let you know that my thoughts & prayers are with you! BTW I will be sharing you post on my blog as well. Wish there was more that I could do!!! Just keep in mind that there are a lot of us out here that think of you not only with smiles on our faces, but with hugs & prayers in hearts too!!!

  32. Susan K says:

    Take the pain meds. All the pain meds you can get. Pain is the cancer’s attempt to distract you from fighting. Pain meds are just another weapon in your battle!! Get them now, use them as often as needed. NEVER start a weekend without some on hand.

    And eat more chocolate!

    Love and thoughts and strength coming your way.

  33. whymommy says:

    Thanks. I have a message in to the oncologist and am hoping for some help soon. The pain is new. It’s disconcerting. And it HURTS.

    But this too will pass. I know. It just takes time. And pain meds. And lots and lots of chocolate. (Of course dipped in peanut butter! I haven’t been able to eat both for three YEARS because of the nursing and pregnancies and such — and it is GOOOOOOD.)

    And yes, BlogHer is in SecondLife this year. Events start Thursday night, but the exhibit hall is up already on Hyperstring Island. I had never tried SL until 2 days ago, but it’s actually really cool. Not creepy at all, especially if you stay in an organized event.

    I’m still learning to walk smoothly and fast, but at least I’ve figured out how to dress myself.

    I’m the one with the gorgeous bald head.

    And know what? It’s helping me visualize myself that way. Bald really can be beautiful.

  34. You are SO beautiful, Whymommy, to ALL of us– and most of us have never seen you before. I hope your oncologist phones soon and is able to relieve your pain (it’s SO BEYOND exhausting to be in pain), and that you have a never-ending supply of chocolate and peanut butter (you just let US know if you even come CLOSE to running out, you hear me??!)

    Now, if you want to see some MORE beautiful women, take a look at this:

    http://www.amazon.com/Turning-Heads-Portraits-Inspiration-Possibilities/dp/0977007405/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1/103-4909932-6552624?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1185377388&sr=8-1

    (Sorry, the link might not work here, so you will likely have to cut and paste)

    I saw this book the other night, immediately thought of you, and picked it up. What inspiration!! What Grace!! What SURVIVORS!!

    Just like you, Whymommy.

    We love you, and we’re all so very proud of you. Hang in there, we’re all right here with you, every single step of the way…

    xoxo

  35. Kristin says:

    I keep talking about what an inspiration you are. You know that, right? I hope the pain subsides. Soon. Already.

  36. ella says:

    I wish I could do something to take away the pain WhyMommy.

    Hope you’re feeling a little better today.

  37. practiceliving says:

    Oh, WhyMommy, I’m so sorry you are hurting. Keep up a steady stream of choco-peanut-butter-covered spoons, and things are bound to improve!😉

    Lots of hugs and prayers your way, especially today.

    I found out today I can’t do Run for the Cure this year because I’ll be away at Guiding camp. I’m trying to think up a way to do a bit of awareness and fundraising among our little crowd of women and girls, though. They’re a fiesty bunch, so I know you and all the other survivors will gain even more cheerleaders!

  38. Kim says:

    Bawling here for you! Oh lady, I too would be locking myself up in the bedroom with chocolate, and all sorts of caffeinated beverages…and some good chick flicks. My prayers are with you…good luck this week.

  39. Jennifer says:

    Ugh. I hate to hear that you are in pain. Sending you a ((Hug)).

  40. twithhoney says:

    Oooo, you discovered one of my tricks. Distraction is a great way of dealing with pain until A) it goes away or B) you get some drugs to take care of it.

    This is one of those times that computer/video games are my absolute best friend. Although if Widget sees them he may insist on playing with you or having a turn. My toddler loves to try and help me type on the computer… until she starts chanting “I wanna watch Do De Rubber Duck!” YouTube… a blessing and a curse.

    Maybe you should stick to reading blogs and learning something new. 🙂

  41. Jennie says:

    hugs and more hugs! BTW I copied your earlier IBC post on my blog (and forgot to tell you.)

  42. clifford says:

    You expected it to go gracefully? Bwaha.

    Think of pain la IBC as a trying to stuff a wet cat into a bathtub…paws outstretched, fur dripping…not going without a fight. But going nonetheless.

    Not that I’ve ever tried to stuff a cat into a bathtub. At least not as an adult. That can be proven. So, yeah.

  43. oh – I am so sorry that you are goign through this. Thank goodness you still have your appetite for chocolate and blogging!

