Learning to Fly

The pain…is bad.  The friends…are good.  The love…is all around me.  I can feel it.

The pain really never subsided last night.  But my oncologist called a few minutes ago and wrote me a scrip, which WhyDaddy WonderDaddy is off filling right this minute.  Hopefully, this will take some of the pain away.  And if it doesn’t, why I’ll just go see her tomorrow and get something stronger. 

I don’t need to be a hero.  I’ll take the pain meds.  Pain meds are good.  They may not be natural, but…pain isn’t natural.  It means there’s something wrong.  And while we fix it (yay, chemo!), I’m going to use all the weapons in my arsenal to fight it.

And that includes brownies (thanks, WonderDaddy) and chocolate chip cookies (thank you, Stimey!) and distractions (thank YOU for the comments and good cheer!) and babysitting (thanks to Grammy and Granddad).  I’m using all the tricks today. 

I’m also compiling a list of the places that this post has been.  So far, over TWENTY of you have crossposted the information and/or linked back here to tell your friends and readers about IBC.  Others have sent it to their friends over email or posted it at the gym.  My aunt is even getting a newspaper article written.  Awesome.  Awesome.  Awesome.  Huzzah!

And Second Life.  I had never entered the virtual world of Second Life  (think of it as virtual reality, without the funny helmet) before two nights ago, but it’s already becoming a refuge for me.  In Second Life, I can go to the BlogHer conference.  I can walk around the exhibit hall.  I can attend the cocktail party tomorrow night and laugh and chat with other blogging mamas who couldn’t go this year, for one reason or another.  I can wear my prettiest clothes, and high heels, and a tiara on my bald little head if I want to do that.  And I do.

Right now, in Second Life, I’m relaxing in a champagne glass of bubbles over at Karen‘s booth in the exhibit hall, watching the sun rise.

bubbles_2c

This afternoon, in Second Life, I’m going to learn to fly.

27 Responses to Learning to Fly

  1. Aliki says:

    I hope you are finding some relief now, as I write this…hugs and more gentle hugs to you.

  2. Heather says:

    I really have to check out Second Life. I feel like such a loser I haven’t heard about it until the past few days. I used to be such a tech head and now I feel like I can’t catch up.

  3. Monica says:

    I want to hold a remote BlogHer in DC for those of us that can’t attend the “real” one. I will bring many snacks. If you are interested let me know!!

  4. Jenster says:

    Have a great time learning to fly!

    I’m very sorry about your pain. Can I ask if the pain is from the actual cancer or is it related to the treatment? I know the treatment for IBC is “backwards” from most other BC, i.e., surgery first and then chemo.

    And good for you. Right now is no time to be brave by trying to deal with the pain. No sense in that at all.

  5. Mrs. Chicken says:

    I think you already know how to fly. No lessons needed.

    Thinking of you.

  6. Amy says:

    Good. You don’t need to be a hero – you just need to take care of yourself so you get well. Which you are. WHich you will.

    I sent your IBC post to just about everybody I know. It’s so valuable. It’s amazing to me that in the midst of taking care of yourself you’re taking care of others, too…

    You Rock!

  7. allthepretties says:

    I was thinking about you all day today.
    You are already a hero.

  8. twithhoney says:

    I’ve been avoiding Second Life but you may just convince me to try it out. Oh, the things peer pressure can make you do! 😉

  9. canape says:

    Tiara? Tiara? You will be adorable in a tiara.

    I think Clifford should wear one too.

  10. You just do WHATEVER it takes to get through all of this, Whymommy… Take the pain killers, as many as you feel you need, and don’t let the pain sap your strength!!

    So glad you’re having some fun, too– you DESERVE the tiara, and don’t forget a few diamond rings and bracelets, too!! Go, girl!!

    Love to you xo

  11. Eva says:

    My friend Mary pointed me to another mommy with IBC:
    http://www.punkrockmommy.org/

  12. Jennifer says:

    Hope those drugs kick in soon.

    Wear that tiara proud! And enjoy the champagne bubbles!

  13. Nothing wrong with pain meds. Nothing at all.

    Go, go. Learn to fly. I have a feeling it’ll be easy for you.

  14. bon says:

    i stole the post, too…it’s up.

    and i think i will try to get SL up and running and check out the champagne.

  15. Kristin says:

    As soon as I can, I’ll be stealing your posts. I should anyway.

  16. Ally says:

    Someone need to explain this second life thing to me. Even after visiting the webpage, I just don’t get it. Any tech-tutor out there willing to edubacate me?

    Pain meds are good. Don’t feel guilty even for a second for taking them. I agree 100% with your philosophy– pain isn’t natural.

    To fly– let us know how it feels.

  17. ohamanda says:

    Praying you feel better every day!

  18. Joanna says:

    WM – Hang in there through this; your fighting spirit is pulling you through, even though it might feel like the pain is winning. It’s most certainly not! I have read your recent posts and tried to link to your informational post on IBC, but I couldn’t. So I gave all of you a plug over at my blog instead — continued strength to you in the coming weeks –

  19. Lori says:

    Hello. I’m a radio disc jockey and read your blog regularly. As it happens several of us have lost family members to cancer. It’s a club we don’t long to be part of but want to do something about. I put a link on my personal page so people could read it and then a link to your site. I’ve talked about it and hope it makes a difference.

    Blessings,

    Lori Bradley

  20. Luanne says:

    Hi honey, sorry I haven’t wrote you in a bit. I am working on those blankies for the boys and get them off to Canape. They are uber soft!!
    You are being so strong and have such a fantastic attitude, you are in my daily prayers.

  21. christine says:

    and lady–you will soar!

  22. I’m sending this info via e-mail to all the women I know. My prayers are with you!!!

  23. jojo says:

    I’m so sorry it hurts so much!
    I’ve linked whymommy, and I’ve linked Toddler Planet, and you have my prayers every day.
    Hugs…jojo

  24. ~JJ! says:

    Yay you!

    I’m sorry you have pain. The pain killers are good now.

    hug you.

  25. Jacqueline says:

    wow. another wonderful, powerful voice in my blogsphere. i think i discovered your blog from “skrt”- i’m not sure because i wonder from here to there and next thing you know i forget where i was originally. i wanted to email this message to you so it wouldn’t seem like i was advertising my website so please delete this comment if you wish. (i couldn’t find a contact for you) i just wanted to let you know that i have added your blog to my resource website at http://www.rebel1in8.com/dialogues.html and thanks to you i now have information about ibc there as well at http://www.rebel1in8.com/resources.html thank you for living your experience openly and with such raw, sincere testimony. i’ll keep checkin’ in…

  26. Katherine says:

    Pain meds rock. Don’t try to go without. Don’t let your pain level get too high! Keep your mind as busy or as vegged out as you need it to be. You’re doing great.

  27. Tina says:

    WhyMommy I am jealous that even if you have to go the BlogHer virtually you still get to go. =) Most of all I am thankful that you found an outlet for your pain (at least a mental vacation to blogland). Chemo hurts, there is no way around that but it is saving your life! we are all THANKFUL FOR THAT!

    Girl, YOU ROCK!

    Tina Mickelson
    Cancer survivor

