LIVE from the (virtual) BlogHer Conference!

This is amazing.  Although in reality, I am at home, in bed, in pain (and in my pajamas), I am still able to attend the BlogHer Conference virtually using this program called Second Life.  They’re streaming audio this morning while the attendees sit in chairs.  Soon we will get up and walk around and “talk” to each other, making connections and renewing friendships that we’ve made through blogging. 

I am so enamoured with this technology.

My mind is racing with ideas.  This technology could be a lifesaver for shut-ins.  A way to distract from the pain, to visit new places virtually, and to learn new things while on bed rest or recovering from surgeries or procedures.  I wonder if I could do something to help other people with illness find solace through this technology.  Or help with the science education resources on info island.  The possibilities are there, and I’m excited. 

But now, I’m going back to the conference. 

Conference_1

P.S. If you’re a BlogHer blogger and are there too, come up and say hi!  Robinelise (http://doyounotknow.typepad.com), Sam (http://www.temporarilyme.com/), Coolbeans (http://coolbeansmama.wordpress.com/), bon (http://cribchronicles.com/) , and I are having a blast!

21 Responses to LIVE from the (virtual) BlogHer Conference!

  1. clifford says:

    If I may be allowed to quote Ogre: “nnNERRRDDDSS!”

    Just kidding YM. Glad you can attend the conference this way. Rock.

  2. Mad Hatter says:

    Hey, it could be a real boon to those of us out in the boondocks as well. Mind if I pull up a chair beside you. I can’t wait ’til they pass round the virtual gin and tonics.

  3. amanda says:

    You look divine, I love the Cher-style cling on the backside of your gown, va va va voom!

  4. Jenn says:

    Love your dress. Absolutely love it.

  5. I am so proud of you. For me its easy, I’m healthy now (14 year survivor who wouldn’t talk about cancer for a very long time). For you enduring this hurdle or trial in your life you still have succeeded in doing something magificent, creative and couragous. I am proud of you and proud to post your post on my blog.

  6. I must be too old for this. I totally don’t even understand this. Sigh. It’s not that I’m averse to it — I truly don’t get what you’re all doing.

  7. That is THE SINGLE BEST use of Second Life I have ever heard. And I just told twitter that. http://twitter.com/Pistachio/statuses/171746942

  8. Amy says:

    It’s so cool – and I’m so glad you’ve found this outlet!
    But, I have to say, I know one woman who has given up her “real life” in favor of this one. Does nothing. Sits in front of the computer & feels like she’s living….

  9. Colleen says:

    In the registration I am totally confused about the whole “choose a last name” list. Very odd.

  10. Paull Young says:

    This is a great post.

    One of the best uses of virtual worlds I’ve heard to date is as a training tool for autistic kids. These kids struggle to pick up signals in social interactions, but in a virtual world they can practice without the added difficulty of confronting a real person.

    What’s your avatar name? I’d love to say hello! I’m LL Platypus – see you at the conference.

  11. whymommy says:

    Fun! I’m WhyMommy Babii — who else? 🙂

    (Babii is one of the 40 or so standard last names to choose from at registration. I have no idea why. But it seemed appropriate.)

  12. Excellent post.

    The best example I’ve seen of virtual worlds in action has been as a tool to train autistic children in how to read social signals. Apparently it is much easier for them to learn virtually, without the difficulty of confronting a real person.

    What’s your avatar name? I’d like to say g’day, I’m LL Platypus – see you at the conference!

  13. Oops, double posted that because I thought it didn’t work last time!

  14. Kristin says:

    Way to keep yourself entertained. That’s pretty awesome, you know.

  15. Emily says:

    Also good for days you don’t want to have to shower and get dressed.

  16. Vint Falken says:

    Glad you like it. =d Took a snapshot of you last night too. *grins*

    Anyway, there are already a lot of non-profit organisations in Second Life, so maybe one of them is allready doing what you’re looking for. And did you ever hear about all the efforts the Second Life residents pulled off for Relay for Life?

  17. that is sooo great! I didn’t know about attending that way. fabulous!

  18. whymommy says:

    I am SO new to Second Life. Like 3 days new! I’m in a session right now about nonprofits in SL … I had no idea. Wow. I have so much to learn!

  19. […] I had a lot of positive comments in IM and met some more interesting avatars. Yet none of them could beat the ‘neat’ factor of this blogpost over at Toddler Planet: […]

