Chemo Fairies

You people, you wonderful people, are making it impossible for me to stay sad.

First, the comments.  The wonderful, supportive comments to my last post (and every post!) are making me cry.

Then, the copying and pasting of my post on inflammatory breast cancer.  In the last two days, I’ve seen 40 links — and a Perfect Post award, from Fenicle.  Awesome.  That makes me happy.

Mail call.  I know I’ve been stubborn and not given out my name/address to you guys from the internet, but the anonymyty anonmyty stubbornness is just an attempt to keep my kids safe, since I’m sharing everything else with you.  I don’t need anything.  Just love and words from you. 

But I have to share with you what some of my longtime friends and family are sending, because they are just too wonderful to keep to myself.  And maybe one of you will steal these ideas if you have a close friend going through cancer, another illness, or a longterm bed rest:

Toys for the kids.  My cousin sent little toy cars for the boys to play with, and cute outfits for the baby, and a surprise package for Widget (which I’ve been saving for today when I come home from chemo and am too tired to play).  I think it’s hardest on the little ones when Mama can’t come down and play like she used to.  (Well, this part sucks for Mama too.)

Surprise bags for Widget, and me, and Wonderdaddy.  NYfriend sent a BIG box full of little brown paper bags, each with a wonderful craft, or activity, or bit o’ fun for us to do together, along with a physics joke in EVERY bag, to keep me laughing.  Yesterday’s was a sampling of six different pine cones, along with a photocopied sheet with pictures of the kinds of trees that they came from — and a drop of paint on each to identify them.  Way cool.

Canape and Clifford sent me an iPod.  I know, I am not worthy.  I SO totally am not.  But I’ve hereby been dragged into the 21st century, and I am taking it with me to chemo today, to drown out the sounds and hospital smells, and hopefully it will help.  Oh, and the BEST PART?  The part that I especially encourage you to emulate with your friends?  They PRELOADED it with 478 songs from the 80’s that they remembered from our teenage years together.  Awesome.  Stimey sent some songs along too!  Whoo-hoo! 

A way cool large-muscle-play toy for Widget and me and Wonderdaddy and Little Bear all to enjoy together.  It’s called the Cranium SuperFort, and I suspect a mom from playgroup sent it, but I haven’t been able to confirm that yet.  :-)  We’ve sure been enjoying it, though!

Grandma and Paw-Paw just arrived to help and brought me comfy clothes to recover in.

Grammy and Grampa have been cooking meals and watching the kids for the better part of the last month.  I wouldn’t have been able to do this without them.

And last, only because we just discovered it, is a big pink bag from the Chemo Fairies.  My playgroup has conspired to deliver a big pink bag of goodies on Chemo Day (again!) filled with chocolate, comfy socks, homemade goodies, olive oil scented soaps, a funny book, stickers, a big red hat, and…a tiara.  That’s right.  A tiara, just like I’ve been wearing this week in Second Life.  And on the top, it says “WhyMommy Rocks!” 

Tee hee.  You made me laugh.  And, faced with another difficult day of hair coming out in clumps while I’m just trying to take a shower, for Pete’s sake, spending the day at the hospital, lookin’ bald, and waiting out the pain so I can describe it better to the oncologist, making me laugh this morning was pretty close to a miracle.

The chemo fairies have done it again.  You all have.

Someone asked me last night how Team WhyMommy is helping me.  I think this is a pretty good sampling.  Team WhyMommy is lifting my spirits, helping me laugh again, entertaining my kids, and turning bad days into good.  As if they all were wearing tiaras and using their magic wands. 

And now, off to Chemo.

33 Responses to Chemo Fairies

  1. Thinking of you, today and every day… xox

  2. canape says:

    I’m sorry I don’t know any physics jokes. I suppose I have to start by learning some physics. And we both know that isn’t going to happen.

    And in our defense, we did put some 90’s and even music that is *gasp* current on there😉 Clifford and I are way hip. And we refrained from putting too much Steely Dan. Although it was hard.

    Good luck today. I’ll be thinking about you all day long, cheering for the chemo to go on and do its job!

  3. Emily says:

    In the interest of keeping going with writing that I think I cannot do if I stop, I have not posted your IBC post. But, tomorrow, I’ll be linking to it in honor of another mother. Mine.

  4. Danielle says:

    I’m so thankful the chemo fairies could make you laugh today. Everyones generosity has made me cry. See your helping people not only be educating them but by reminding us that there are so many good people in the world. Even if sucky cancer of which you will kick it’s ass, has to be the thing that does it. I want a WhyMommy Rocks tiara.

  5. Arkie Mama says:

    I am SO IMPRESSED with the tiara. Fabulous. You have to wear it. Promise?

  6. Jenster says:

    All that love is overwhelming, isn’t it!! Glad you’re basking in it!

    You definitely deserve the tiara! :o)

  7. imstell says:

    Yeah for Team WhyMommy and the Chemo Fairies! I pray that you find strength in the healing powers of chemo. Draw courage from the other women in the room. You have gone thru pregnancy. You can handle chemo. You have gone thru bedrest. You can handle chemo. You have gone thru childbirth. You can handle chemo. You have inner strength as yet untapped. Chemo is just another “something” to endure and conquer.

  8. Angela says:

    I’m sorry I haven’t been keeping up with you – been too focused on my own issues. I am thrilled that you have so much help and support while you get well. I hope you see a BIG improvement after this chemo.

  9. Spacemom says:

    Wow, the generousity is amazing, isn’t it!🙂
    You will kick this cancer in the Butt. With an ipod and a tiara, how could you not?

  10. twithhoney says:

    Who would have thought that something as simple as a comment on a blog could have such a powerful effect!

    Yeah! I’m so glad to hear that you’re feeling better emotionally today. You need a strong spirit and will to beat this physical invader.
    Two thumbs up for WhyMommy!!

  11. Angela says:

    Thinking of you right now and sending you strength and love.
    Enjoy that IPod, what a fabulous idea! You are much loved!

  12. amanda says:

    Been silly and fiercely supportive each time I leave a comment, today I am bereft at not being able to smile at your face and hug you. Don’t know why. Try and get an extra hug today, let it be from me.

  13. Jenn says:

    An I-Pod loaded with the 80’s.

    I don’t think you can get better friends.

  14. LawyerMama says:

    Oh, the tiara! What a fabulous idea!

  15. Matt says:

    Keep smiling. Keep kicking cancer’s ass. In a tiara – I love it. You will win through this and you will continue to perform the great public service you are giving through educating women – and a few guys too, damnit – about IBC. Sending many positive vibes today.

  16. Hope you kicked ass at chemo today. Here’s a physics-related joke for you:

    What gets wetter the more it dries?

    scroll down

    scroll down

    A towel.

    HAHAHAHAHHA

  17. christine says:

    due i know you don’t want to give out your address and i so get that. so imagine this in the mail:

    a homemade peach pie with a gingersnap crust
    a chocolate chip cookies (of course!)
    mint chocolate chip brownies
    cheesy romance novels to make you laugh
    a journal for your thoughts while you are in chemo
    a head scarf with chil peppers all over it
    a hug

  18. Oh Whymommy! This makes me happy. I just read your post from yesterday in tears and now I am reading this one and it is with a sense of relief that I hear that people are taking care of you, that are taking care of your family, they are distracting you, they are loving you. this is as it should be. I am thrilled to know that you support is not just virtual, but it is tangible. I am sorry about your hair, I am sorry about your pain. I wish I could ease these things for you. But for now, I will just keep lifting you up in prayer and love.

  19. I am also sorry that I am on my husbands laptop and the keyboard is different and I cannot type. I hope you could decipher it anyway.

  20. Q: Why are quantum physicists so poor at sex?

    A: Because when they find the position, they can’t find the momentum, and when they have the momentum, they can’t find the position.

  21. Jennifer says:

    What great ideas! I’m so glad to hear that you have a wonderful support team. Soak in all the love.

  22. Two Shews says:

    Thinking of you today, as those nasty drugs go into battle in there, kicking cancer’s ass. I can visualize the chemo drugs… they look like those little army men kids play with… except they’re wearing tiaras and bright pink boas. Bwaa haa haa.

  23. NoRegrets says:

    All the best! Googled physics jokes for you – here’s a link: http://www.xs4all.nl/~jcdverha/scijokes/2.html
    Tell me if they are funny. I actually laughed at one of them though!

  24. NoRegrets says:

    Here’s one so you don’t have to link:
    Two atoms were walking across a road when one of them said, “I think I lost an electron!” “Really!” the other replied, “Are you sure?” “Yes, I ‘m absolutely positive.”

    I posted about IBC: http://womanwithnoregrets.blogspot.com
    /2007/08/inflammatory-breast-cancer.html

  25. ohgrammy says:

    At last, a tiara! Yes!!! With your tiara in one hand and your iPod in the other, I see you dancing down the hall to kick this thing once and for all. You go, girl!!!

  26. ohgrammy says:

    You DO have the very best friends in the world!!!!! Hugs to them, too, for being there, at your side. (And, yes, you do deserve them!!!)

  27. Tracy says:

    You go girl!!! BASK in all that love that surrounds you!!!

  28. MammaLoves says:

    Shoot! How did you find out about our tiaras and magic wands. We were saving that as a surprise.

  29. ~JJ! says:

    You are worth it all.
    Your friends are so lucky to have you…

    Feel good and strong.

  30. For all the good thoughts and energy that I’m sending you, you should be lifted up on a cloud of butterflies…can you feel them fluttering beneath you? Can you feel them invigorating your already fierce spirit?? Because I can see them…I can see them quite clearly, in fact…

  31. whymommy says:

    Yes. I think you guys totally lifted me up yesterday during chemo, and afterwards, and it was awesome.

    A tough couple of days. But I’ll be back on track soon. I will.

  32. maggie says:

    A tiara! Did you wear it to chemo??? I think my mother might need a tiara for chemo.

  33. clifford says:

    A woman came up to me and said
    I’d like to poison your mind
    With wrong ideas that appeal to you
    Though I am not unkind
    She looked at me, I looked at something
    Written across her scalp
    And these are the words that it faintly said
    As I tried to call for help…

