Today sucked.

Widget and I went out on our weekly playdate, and we had to come home early.  Because of me.  My blood counts must have dropped again, and I almost passed out on the couch.  We had to call another mom to come pick us up and drive us home.

I’m not looking forward to seeing this week’s bloodwork results.

61 Responses to Today sucked.

  1. I’m so glad that there was someone who was able to come and help you right away… Please take good care of yourself, and know that we are ALL thinking of you and praying HARD!!!

    Love xoxo

  2. Stimey says:

    That does suck. For lots of reasons. Maybe next week will be better. Good luck with your bloodwork. Sending tons of love!

  3. bon says:

    worried about you, sweetie. glad you had someone who could pick you up, but…i’m sorry. that must have been disappointing and scary. will wait for news.

  4. MammaLoves says:

    That sucks!

    I’m glad there was someone to help.

  5. kgirl says:

    Just rest up. And I’m glad there are people you can call when you need them.

  6. Katherine says:

    Blood counts are tricky, but take heart sometimes a quick blood transfusion can perk you right up. It sounds like a weird thing to be happy about, but if you really are running low it can help. Just remember it’s all numbers and you can beat anything. Take it from the woman who had a white blood cell count of ONE!

  7. Nancy says:

    I am glad you had someone who could step in. Take care of yourself.

  8. Lynn in GA says:

    Rest, rest, rest. I think your body was trying to tell you not to do too much. You’re handling this like a trooper and your mind and spirit is being much stronger than your physical body right now. Like Katherine said, it is probably something a quick blood transfusion can take care of.

  9. rest. and keep us posted, ‘kay?

  10. Susan K says:

    ….and it WAS 100 + degrees today!! Even if you were only out for the time it took to walk to the car. I was exhausted from walking across the street at 1 PM to go to a meeting today and I got no excuse! Don’t beat yourself up over this. Rest up. Widget doesn’t care – he was with his mum. Thinking of you and praying for a break in the weather!

  11. twithhoney says:

    Take it easy. That’s part of the healing process… although a very sucky part of the healing process.

    Hang in there and get in some quality horizontal parenting!!

  12. amanda says:

    Rest your sweet head!!

  13. Jennifer says:

    I’m sorry. Sending good thoughts and prayers.

  14. debra says:

    {hugs}

    Praying for you…take care!

  15. E :) says:

    Sending many positive thoughts… I still have no doubt that you are going to WIN. There will be good days and not so good days, but in the end you’re going to come out of it having beaten this asshole of a disease. No doubt.

  16. Lynn says:

    As Susan said, it was 102 degrees here in the DC area! Just stepping outside the house made my throat tighten and made me feel sick! Hey, just blame it on the weather and focus on fighting the nasty C bug. You are kicking butt! Take it easy tomorrow…they predict more of the same.

  17. Lisa says:

    Sending all our love your way! You get an A for effort! Widget loves you and once this gets taken care of we’ll have more playdates. Believe me Saturn and Spaceman can hardly wait!

  18. carrie says:

    Take it easy, I know that’s easier said than done – but it is sooo important. Stronger days ahead. Yes!

  19. BetteJo says:

    Tough stuff. Thank God for the GOOD days when they happen, right? Rest. Hopefully tomorrow will be one of the good ones.

  20. Rose100 says:

    The air quality is bad, too, when it is so very hot.
    Rest. Breathe. Kiss and hug the babies.
    Here’s hoping for better , stronger days ahead.
    Rose

  21. Hang in there, mommy. Our thoughts and prayers are with you!

  22. Arkie Mama says:

    I’m amazed by all that you’ve been able to do throughout this. But take it slow. Your body is fighting off an invader and some days it just needs time to recoup.

  23. clifford says:

    I prescribe a healthy dose of vintage Indigo Girls with a Joshua Redman chaser. (you can mail me the five bucks later :))

  24. ohh its so not fair to have to stop a fun day for this. I hope you are feeling better soon. I hope your blood counts are really ok and if they aren’t I hope they improve quickly. You are in my thoughts and prayers (and I sent out your post via email to EVERYONE in my address book to keep passing along the word. Even sick, you rock.

  25. ella says:

    Sending you a big hug.

  26. Kristin says:

    Thinking of you. Praying. Wishing I knew more th do.

  27. ohgrammy says:

    Watch a video — Widget can help you choose one — and escape the heat and humidity. Hug those boys. Today’s a new day.

  28. ColleenZ says:

    WhyMommy — I saw the heat index for yesterday — with the humidity, it felt like 111 degrees! Your blood count might be low, but you also were dealing with insane heat and humidity. Today will be a bit better, weather-wise, but rest and recharge today.

  29. ~JJ! says:

    That’s not fun.
    I’m sorry.

    I’m happy that you had caring friends there to help.

    I send my love.

  30. NoRegrets says:

    Ups and downs…but hopefully the ups will be more prominent.

  31. Tracy says:

    So sorry you had a rough day…Some playdate is better than no, playdate, right? ;o) So glad you had someone to help out though. Rest…(HUGS)

  32. Ana says:

    Take one day at a time and please don’t get yourself down if you don’t have the same energy as before. Always in my prayers~

  33. Jenn says:

    AWW I am so sorry (((HUGS))) Your in my prayers!

  34. imstell says:

    I’m sorry. I’m sorry that this doamn cancer is stealing your days with widget! I’m sorry that it’s taking your strength and vitality. You’re trying to do too much. You are in a fight for your life. Surrender the battles to win the war. Have play dates come to you. Make that concession to the treatment. Those first few days after chemo have Widget go to someone else’s house so you are not even even emotionally or mentally distracted from recooperating.

    Be well and stron and know this is passing.

  35. stacy says:

    Hang in there. Everday is a brand new day !
    We love you
    Todd and stacy

  36. maggie says:

    I hope Thursday is better, and Friday, and Saturday, etc.

  37. Jenn says:

    Not because of you.

    Because of the cancer.

    Whose ass you are kicking, and that’s tiring stuff, remember?

  38. Gidge says:

    Thinking about you!!!

  39. practiceliving says:

    You are kicking butt, mama, and that’s exhausting. You are doing it with a lot of grace, while being a good mama to your boys, and letting your friends BE your friends. It’s amazing.

    Praying hard for more happy, melty-ice-cream moments.

  40. mamatulip says:

    Hang in there. There will be good days, and bad days. I’m glad someone was there to help you out on one of the bad ones.

  41. Binky says:

    I hope this down day is soon followed by an up one. Get your rest in preparation for that next happy ice cream moment.

  42. NoMommy says:

    I’m sorry that it was a sucky day.

    Rest and take care.

  43. Matt says:

    Man, the heat and humidity will knock down anybody. Rest and build your strength. The fight goes on. Sorry you had a tough day but know there are many better days ahead.

  44. I discovered your blog today and posted a link to your post about inflammatory breast cancer. You are an amazing woman.

  45. MsRebecca says:

    Sorry you are feeling badly, glad you had someone who could save the day so to speak..
    Hang in..

  46. Ally says:

    Ugh, what a bummer of a day. I’m thinking of you tonight and hoping that you’re feeling better after getting some rest. Thanks for posting and checking in even though you didn’t feel well. I’m praying for you and lighting a candle right now. (6:09 p.m. Pacific Time)

  47. Scylla says:

    I am sorry to hear you had to leave the playdate early. I hope you feel better very soon!

  48. Kim says:

    I hope you’re feeling better today. I’m thinking about you and sending positive vibes your way.

  49. Susan K says:

    Where are you Whymommy? The problem with being so darned good at posting daily is that when you don’t, we worry…

    I hope you are feeling better. This heat will break eventually.

    Let the Disney channel be your new best friend. If you don’t get it, time to upgrade your cable!

  50. I’m sorry. I choked up reading that. I know how it feels. I also know how it feels for your child to look at you and say, “You’re always sick, Mom.” I wish I didn’t. I wish you didn’t. Hang in there. I hope the bloodwork is better than you expect. I hope the next day is better too.

    Julie
    Ravin’ Picture Maven

  51. Your oldest friend, Adam says:

    Buck up, kid. You’re made from true G.R.I.T.S. and you know it, so this won’t keep you down.

  52. Rose100 says:

    Hoping the bloodwork results were good, and hoping you are feeling better today, and being cheerful in your stylin’ new head wraps!

  53. You are never far from my thoughts, Whymommy… I’m hoping that things today went better than you thought they would!

    Sending you love and hope and strength xo CGF

  54. Katherine says:

    I was just thinking about you this afternoon. Stay strong and if you’re having trouble coast a bit on the strength of those around you. And that’s my thought of the day!

  55. Matt says:

    Thinking about you like every day. I just read canape’s Blogher posts and her comments about missing you. What a friend. I’m looking forward to reading both your posts on next year’s conference. Still hot as hell in NC. Hope you’re getting some rest.

  56. Emily says:

    Just letting you know I’m still here reading and thinking of you.

  57. Christy says:

    Hope that today was a better day. My prayers are with you!

  58. whymommy says:

    Sorry to worry you guys. Yesterday was no better. Worse, in fact, with an afternoon at the oncologist. But I’m better today and will be even better tomorrow. Thanks.

  59. KillerBoob says:

    my blood counts were always so frustrating. they left me unable to reach up for something on a shelf without a near pass out! just count the days until they are likely to be up is all you can do. and don’t forget, they WILL come up!

    just promise me you won’t push yourself. (you don’t wnat to end up in the hospital with an infection.) in a few days you’ll be up again for sure.

