Baby Steps

Little Bear turned 7 months old on Monday and took his first steps. Really — he did! He has always loved to stand on those chubby little legs, swaying back and forth, and pushing up with glee and giggles. On Monday he held my fingers in those tiny little hands, teetered back and forth for a minute, picked up his little feet, and moved them forward. Once, twice, three times! What a thrill.

Bear is really a wonderful baby, full of smiles and happiness, and oh so expressive! He growls when he’s concentrating on something, grunts as he reaches, and purrs when he’s happy. Oh, and when he’s impatient between the milk, chicken, and fruit “courses” that Grandma or Grammy(1) spoonfeeds him? He definitely lets us know! He wakes up every morning happy and content, playing in his crib, flipping over, and working to figure out the toy attached to the side. Or trying to untie it. I wouldn’t be surprised to see it unattached and reassembled as something altogether different one morning.

Because he’s as curious as his brother, dexterous as one could expect (he can pick up little bits of puffed rice in his fingers, but he can’t aim them into his mouth himself yet), and I can see those little wheels in his brain starting to spin. I am so excited that he’s growing up so well and so happily. I am one proud mama — just like all of you mamas out there — and today, I just had to tell someone.

Because I love my Little Bear, and I am so loving being here with him as he begins his long journey of growing up.

building2

(1) No, not me. My right arm is not very functional these days, and I’m in a lot of pain when I use it. So the repetitive motion of spoonfeeding a baby 7 ounces of formula, 1/2 jar of pureed chicken, and mashed-up fruit one baby spoonful at a time just isn’t something that I can do right now. I’ve struggled a lot to accept it. Now, I’ll admit it. No, it’s not something I’m happy about. But with the right pain management and a couple more chemo treatments, I’m hoping that we can reduce the pain and get back to Mommy feeding him. (I’m also encouraging him to pick up puffed rice and whole oat o’s, so that he can start feeding himself when he’s ready too. That will help.)

P.S. to Grammy and Granddad — today Bear started to cut his third tooth!

P.S. to everyone else — sorry for the self-indulgent baby brag today. I was just about to burst with pride! There’s also a new review up over at my review blog — click over to Review Planet if you’re interested in reviews of Imagitales personalized children’s books and the Cranium Superfort play materials. A review of Mr. Dad’s new parenting book, Fathering Your School-Aged Child, will be posted there on Friday.

29 Responses to Baby Steps

  1. Jacquie says:

    Brag away WhyMommy, we must brag about our kiddies! He’s is too cute btw.

  2. Kat says:

    Oh. My. Goodness! What a cutie pie!

    Hugs!
    Kat

  3. Wow, he’ll be running all over after his brother before you know it! He is totally cute and brag-worthy!

  4. He’s adorable! And it’s OK to brag about him. Isn’t that what we all, umm, I mean I, do?

    He’s precocious in those gross motor skills, isn’t he…

  5. Stimey says:

    Please. Brag, brag, brag away. Your guys are totally brag-worthy. And isn’t that what moms are for anyway?

  6. amanda says:

    Not that I doubted it for a second, but somehow reading this blissful riff reassured me that you are still able to savor the magic of this time.

    Brag, brag, brag away!

  7. BetteJo says:

    Babies are for bragging about, aren’t they?
    Had a ‘shower’ at work today for a 20-something guy and his wife – the joy of babies is something most people, okay women, never get tired of.

    And please don’t feel bad about the not feeding thing – my goodness – right now you need to choose your battles. Besides, grandparents usually love the opportunity to help out!

  8. Karen says:

    I searched and searched for an email addy for you and can’t find one…but alas, it’s early in the am here and I am coffee-less.

    If you can direct me to your email, I would appreciate it.

    And of course: I just recently found your blog and am enjoying your writing immensely. I can relate to oh so much of what you write….

    Regards,
    Karen P. in NC

  9. You brag away! Who’s got a better right than his proud mama?

  10. Bon says:

    i’m with the person who said “babies are for bragging, aren’t they?” especially if he’s seriously putting rings on that stacker already…that’s clearly a sign of genius.πŸ™‚

    i’ve thought, since he was only weeks old and i first started coming to your site, that Bear has one of the sweetest, most appealingly cute baby faces i’ve ever seen. such round features, such a winning little smile…and always so content looking. that boy knows he’s well-loved, it’s clear. brag to your heart’s content.

  11. Oh, he’s darling, Whymommy… it’s no wonder you’re so proud.

    Thinking of you xo CGF

  12. Jennifer says:

    Brag away!! What a cutie.

    Great to have the grandparents there to help.

  13. Kristin says:

    I agree with everyone. Keep bragging. This made my day.

  14. Matt says:

    Brag on! He’s cute and obviously following in his parents’ super-capable ways. Still sending good thoughts your way every day.

  15. ~JJ! says:

    Yay Bear.

    Keep bragging. That’s what we do.

  16. Linda Lawrence says:

    Little Bear walking! Wow! I am impressed! πŸ™‚
    Love ya

  17. Jenster says:

    Brag away!!! Such a precious picture, too. I enjoy hearing the pride and love in your heart. Gives me warm fuzzies and you can never have too many of those.

  18. NoRegrets says:

    Glad he’s growing and making you proud. πŸ™‚

  19. canape says:

    I could just nibble on his little nose . . .

  20. Angela says:

    He’s a cutie! And bragging is important stuff! And if he’s doing that stacker thing there I’m really impressed! Nicky’s had one for ages and at 16 months I’m not sure he can do it yet.

    Hmmm, of course it might help if I FIND all the pieces…πŸ™‚

  21. Aliki says:

    Look at him! What a fantastic age…

  22. Are you kidding? Shamelessly brag away! What else are blogs for?!πŸ™‚

  23. Colleen says:

    No apologizing for bragging about such a cutie! Why wouldn’t you take the time to share him?

  24. NYfriend says:

    Awww, what a cutie pie! It’s so amazing to watch these little guys grow.πŸ™‚

  25. practiceliving says:

    Brag away, mama. Congrats to Little Bear on his first steps and the beginnings of tooth #3. Congrats to you and WonderDaddy on making a cute little man!

  26. LawyerMama says:

    Oh, I love hearing baby brags. He’s just adorable.

  27. Ally says:

    If we can’t brag on our blogs, then where, I ask you! Brag on, my friend. He is just adorable, and clearly very smart, too. πŸ™‚

  28. Gill says:

    Mums should never have to apologise for bragging – it’s part of the job description! Your babe is a cutie pie – love that look of intense concentration!

  29. magnetobold says:

    πŸ™‚ ooooh what a gorgeous little man! Makes me ache even more for another one. Definitely a little angel sent straight from heaven to give you the strength and distraction to keep motivated in your fight. Give that gorgeous little guy a big smootch on the back of the neck (my absolute favorite part!) from me.
    Kelley in Australia

