For the Grandmas

A little photo album, for our Grandmas, cousins, friends and blogfriends, before Little Bear grows up too much. 

soccerball

Baby’s first soccer ball

balloon

Baby’s first balloon, from our trip to Trader Joe’s

annapolis

Baby’s first trip to Annapolis to see the boats

abacus

Baby’s first abacus (wink)

us

Baby’s first picture with his (nearly) bald Mommy

Our milestones may not be the ones in the typical baby book, but they are all OURS.

63 Responses to For the Grandmas

  1. Stimey says:

    Baby’s adorable dinosaur onesie. And baby’s beautiful mom.

  2. practiceliving says:

    I just want to go “nom nom nom nom” on his little fingers.😀 And high five his amazing mama!

  3. girl says:

    He’s a genius in the making…. all perfect for a one of a kind baby book.

  4. Mississippi Girl says:

    Your rosie cheeks and a pretty smile. Little Bear look’s a lot like his his grandpa. You have alway had beautiful hair… and you will again soon. It will probably come back twice as long and thicker than before. I know you are the “best-est” mom ever. I can see it in your face and here it while reading your writings. You are thought about often and in my prayers always. I will visit again soon. Kisses to the boys.

  5. tori says:

    You are beautiful! Thank you for allowing us to accompany you on this journey!

  6. Kristin says:

    Can I just say that I didn’t notice the hair until I read the caption? All I saw was the smile and the beautiful Bear.

  7. This may be out of place, but you are so beautiful, sitting there with him, with that smile.

  8. Vanda says:

    I agree with the others. The hair doesn’t matter kiddo, they are just great Awwwwwwww pictures. Thanks for sharing.

  9. That first picture of Little Bear is money…

    And you, with the most beautiful smile!

  10. Amy says:

    He’s adorable! But the reason for this comment is to tell you how totally COOL you look! Cool. Like Hip. Really, really good.

  11. Heather! says:

    Matching baby bear fuzz. You just look so at home and in the moment with him. He is a sweetie!

  12. allthepretties says:

    Cute cute cute.
    Hey, I was proudest to take pics with my nearly bald mom.
    You look fabulous.

  13. E :) says:

    You are both gorgeous!

  14. Katherine says:

    You look strong, happy, and beautiful. It may not seem like it now, but that is a picture that you might cherish for years to come. On the other hand you may hide it away and pull it out only on the bad hair days! There is a picture that we took about two weeks after my first round of chemo that means more to me now than any other. My hair was falling out in clumps and even though you can’t see that in the picture I felt like I was falling apart. Now when I look at it I see someone strong and brave and I remember who I really am. I’m someone who beat the big “C” and so can you. Congrats on the baby steps!

  15. Eva says:

    When my daughter was born, my mom was just finishing her last round of chemo. Grandma and granddaughter both had the bare head thing going on. They had a race to see who got hair first. Grandma won. (Big time.)

  16. bon says:

    i too wanted to tell you that you are both beautiful. my eyes are trained to look at one head with soft wispy hair and coo, “oh, sweet baby” and at the other and say quietly, with the sorrow of understanding that there is pain and hurt here, “oh, sweet baby” in a totally different tone. i see both when i look at you and Little Bear…and i see beauty and courage and love.

  17. Paige says:

    Thanks for sharing that photo…you are amazing and blessed.

  18. Colleen says:

    Such great photos! He is just so adorable.

  19. canape says:

    I love the one of him in the hat🙂

  20. jtcosby says:

    You are a beautiful woman! And a treasure.

  21. You look radiant. Almost bald, yes,🙂 but radiant. Kids look good on you!🙂

  22. MammaLoves says:

    Baby and Mommy are beautiful!!!

  23. Lynn says:

    What a beautiful family…….I think you look like the kind of person who always looks on the inside of the heart and could teach us all alot of lessons. I hope that everyday finds you healing and getting stronger.

  24. Gidge says:

    What a doll.
    And the baby is cute too.

  25. BetteJo says:

    Proud Mommy, and rightly so. Someday you and Little Bear will look back at that picture and both be proud.

    BTW – went and had a mammogram today. Just a screening, no symptoms or anything, but it just seemed like something I should stop putting off. Maybe if someone else goes out and does it – they’re life could be saved because you are sharing your story.
    Gratitude. Lots of it. 🙂

  26. You are both so adorable! What a beautiful little family.

    And man that little guy is STYLING in that hat I tell you!

  27. ~JJ! says:

    Oh Goodness…You are both so beautiful.

    Thank you for sharing.

  28. twithhoney says:

    After noticing the smiles I couldn’t help but notice how you both have the same hair do now. It’s actually kinda cute!!

  29. Ally says:

    Lovely photos. I hope that you know how beautiful you are.

  30. Arkie Mama says:

    Great photos. You’re both beautiful. And so contented-looking.

  31. andi says:

    You don’t have to be a grandma to appreciate those sweet pictures.

    Thanks for the sweet comment you left on my blog. I’ve been lurking around yours for awhile, but I don’t think I’ve ever left a comment. You’ve been so brave and your writing has been so amazing during this difficult time. I just wanted to let you know that I think of you and your kids and that your courage has been really inspiring to me.

  32. Jacquie says:

    You look lovely with Little Bear!

    I too want ot thank you for the insight of what is going on in your treatments, it has been an insight to my friend.

    You inspire many of us, I hope you know that!

  33. Robin says:

    He’s gorgeous, just like his mama.

  34. thetardyteacher says:

    Awesome.

  35. Robin says:

    He’s too cute! And the picture of the two of you – you have matching hair!

  36. Matt says:

    What we really need? – The tiara! Beautiful child, beautiful mommy. Loving, strong, resilient, kicking-cancer’s-ass mommy.

  37. amanda says:

    What a treasure! Love, love, love the lopsided, open mouth grin.

  38. clifford says:

    I wanna see Baby’s First Graphing Calculator!

  39. Jordan says:

    Wonderful photos! Thanks for visiting my site yesterday, I appreciated your comment (couldn’t find a way to email you directly). I have been following your blog and keeping you in my thoughts and prayers as you fight this cancer. I’ll be adding the WhyMommy button to my site as well. Take care.

  40. whymommy says:

    Oh, Clifford — for THAT, you have to see pictures of the 2 year old!🙂

  41. Jordan says:

    Oh, and I wanted to also say I’m so glad you’re part of DC Metro Moms! I’m a contributor at Chicago Moms Blog and it’s a lot of fun.

  42. clifford says:

    If he’s not graphing integrals by next year, I’ll be disappointed. Lim -> infinity, baybee!

  43. Oh, The Joys says:

    He is adorable! (And so are you!!)
    xoxoxo,
    Jessica

  44. Jennifer says:

    Beautiful, both of you!

  45. binkytown says:

    What’s typical anymore anyway? I concur; You are both beauties. I forgot how much I missed all the soft rolly parts of a little one his age, before they morph into toddlers before your eyes. Thanks.

  46. kami says:

    WhyMommy,

    I was just talking to my nutritionist about Glutathione. It can be used as a supplement, or found as a cream. It has been shown to help reduce the side effects of chemo and for use afterward to help in prevention and everyday healing. Maybe you could try it out? She recommended to me using a company called Apex – they have a lotion called Oxycell. You could rub in on your breast and use it as a lotion to promote healing?

  47. ohamanda says:

    Cutest of the cute!

  48. Imstell says:

    WhyMommy, Beautiful pics! I look back on all our “Baldy and the Baby” photos with a smile nowadays. What a series of “firsts” to celebrate. Little Bear has been keeping you very busy.

  49. Tara-Lynn says:

    What lovely pic’s – he is a cutie pie, and you look like a proud Mama!

  50. ohgrammy says:

    Thank you, WhyMommy!
    Hugs. . . .

  51. Jill Asher says:

    What an incredbile photo… you are both beautiful….

  52. Surviving says:

    I love all the pictures!!!

  53. Ana says:

    Beautiful! Simply perfect!

  54. I think you look great (nearly) bald. Press on my friend!

  55. juliepippert says:

    Oh how adorable is he!! Great photo of the two of you, the finger in mouth is hilarious! (I think i have that same t-shirt.)

    Award for you over at my place.🙂

    Julie

  56. I love Trader Joe’s!! And it looks like Baby loves the balloon as much as my babies do!

    You are an amazing woman! You are one of my heroes.

  57. Danielle says:

    It has to be so wrong to want to nibble on someone else’s baby! What a cutie. And girl, you are beautiful.

  58. Mrs Mogul says:

    Adorable!! I’m surprised the sun hat stayed on! My kid takes it off right away !

  59. Jenifer says:

    I think you look beautiful…and Little Bear? Way too cute for words!

  60. just a mom says:

    How sweet,,, I love the dew. I shaved my head last Feb. for my best friend who had just finished her chemo. Hang in there sweetie…. YOu look great!

  61. ggirl says:

    Beautiful baby, beautiful mom. My Inner Cancer Survivor says “Hurray for being bald in public!” Take care.

  62. Jen E says:

    Little Bear is adorable!! And YOU, my friend, are BEAUTIFUL!!!!

