Driving downtown

Friday was a big day, as we combined my weekly blood test (oh, how I dread those) with a trip downtown to WonderDaddy’s office for a quick meeting.  My energy level is increasing again, and I felt up to a little outing to reward ourselves for surviving another “pinch” at the local lab.  (Several of the technicians are very good, but one is not; last week’s visit was horrendous and we ended up at the hospital anyway.)  We decided to go downtown together, and while WonderDaddy met with his boss, I’d walk around and see old colleagues and friends.

It was a wonderful time.  Except for the driving downtown bit.  We decided not to take the Metro because of risk of infection (people with cancer who are actively having chemo are incredibly sensitive to germs and getting sick, since their white blood cells are so depleted), so we drove.  I could spend hours descibing the hilarity that ensued, but instead, I’ll just close with a haiku that WonderDaddy uttered, in all seriousness, as we drove through a yet-to-be-gentrified neighborhood that our new satellite navigation system thought would be a good route:

If it weren’t for the
new GPS, we would be
arguing right now.

Yeah.  That about sums it up. 

Join us over at Review Planet if you’d like to hear what WonderDaddy and I thought of Mr. Dad’s new book, Fathering Your School-Age Child.

12 Responses to Driving downtown

  1. canape says:

    WonderDaddy is
    both artist and scientist
    write more haiku, please

  2. Kristin says:

    The haiku made me laugh.

  3. I had forgotten
    How much a clever haiku
    Could do for my mood.

  4. Stimey says:

    Love it! There’s nothing like a driving snafu to either make you collapse in laughter or get fighting mad. When we lived in the San Francisco area, we got lost in the city all the time. I usually collapsed in laughter and Alex got fighting mad. But he couldn’t keep it up and eventually he’d start laughing. I’m glad your energy is increasing! Sorry, I have no haiku in me.

  5. Carrie says:

    My husband needs to read that haiku!

    Glad you’re feeling more energy!

  6. Ally says:

    Love the haiku. And your new energy.

  7. Lisa says:

    Loved the haiku. Glad you had a great adventure!

  8. I could write a
    haiku if I remembered
    How many syllables go on each line oh I think less

  9. amanda says:

    I can barely spell haiku. I was hooked on WonderDaddy way back when he made the crack about how long it’s be before he returned with the cure for cancer.

    This was a great post! I’ll cross my fingers for a better pinch next week.

  10. Angela says:

    That’s a great Haiku! And I can sooo relate. There are those times when you’re unified in your self-preserving terror. LOL!

  11. Susan K says:

    sorry we missed you! Next time you make the trek in to the office, please remember your friends across the street who would love to see you and give you a hug and tell you in person how proud we are of how you are handling this and sharing this.

    I’m so glad you were up to it!

  12. Emily says:

    “yet-to-be-gentrified”

    snort.

