Got questions?

Anyone have questions about the cancer experience that I’m going through?  I’ve gotten a couple via email recently that I think I’ll share with everyone — leave me a comment if you’ve got a burning question, and I’ll do my best to answer it this week!

P. S.  A big WOOT WOOT to Schmutzie today.  Her cancer is GONE.  Hoo-ray!

21 Responses to Got questions?

  1. What a great (generous) idea, WM.

  2. Meg says:

    I’m a nurse, but not for oncology patients. I am intensely curious about the experience. What does your cancer look like? Is it moving? Does it feel different after chemo? How are you dealing with the nausea? Did you decide to get a port-a-cath/mediport? If ANY of these questions is too hard to answer, feel free to skip my comments.

  3. Monica says:

    Sorry for the random comment but I misplaced your email address – I am having a multi-family garage sale with a lot of DC area mommies on September 8. We will have a little concession area run by kids. I would like the proceeds to go to a the breast cancer awareness group of your choice, and would like to have some information on IBC as well for the mommies. Please e-mail me and we’ll chat more!

  4. Bon says:

    i leapt over to Schmutzie’s page to woot woot and have to admit, i was left smiling bemusedly at her post…cancer gone, wtf do i do now? without minimizing what was a really honest and fabulous post on her behalf, hers are admittedly good problems to have and ones that i hope, most kindly and fervently, are yours soon, my friend. i think with little ones at home the time to wonder what to do next may be interrupted, after all.🙂

    but still, my question is, do you allow yourself to think of after, when cancer’s ass is thoroughly kicked to the curb? who are you becoming in this process of pain and fear and courage and letting go and standing tall and becoming a voice and face for awareness? what are you learning about yourself?

    because we’re all learning that you’re amazing…but from inside your skin, i’m curious about what more you see.

    if that’s not too prying.

  5. christine says:

    this may seem weird to ask, but will any type of surgery help as well as the chemo?

  6. clifford says:

    Good that somebody gets to warm up the cancer-free bus before you step on it personally, YM. Rock.

  7. schmutzie says:

    Thanks for wooting on my behalf. I look forward to doing the same for you!

  8. Tracy says:

    Congrats on all your awards of late–very well done, and very well deserved! ((HUGS)) Great news about Schmutzie–hooray! :o)

  9. Angela says:

    I was just thinking of a question this morning that I wanted to ask you, but I couldn’t figure out how to ask. Are you psychic? Wait, that’s not the real question.😉

    Why no mastectomy? Is it because it doesn’t work for IBC? I swear I think you probably mentioned this long ago. I think I remember you saying something about it not being fair to have to keep the cancer as a part of you for right now perhaps?

    It’s interesting though, this internet, this blogging. Who knew I’d be thinking about someone miles away, who I’ve never met, and wondering how her day is going, telling my husband how she’s doing and how she looks so sweet in her latest picture with her youngest son.

  10. Stimey says:

    This is such a nice idea. I have a question: When you are with people, do you prefer not to talk about it at all, or would you rather discuss it? And if you want to talk about it, do you want to talk about it a lot or just a little? It’s such a huge part of your life right now, but I’m never sure if you’d rather just focus on other things when you’re out with your pals.

  11. I have a few questions, and maybe you’ve written about it. I searched your blog and couldn’t find what I was looking for. Can I ask … what prompted your diagnosis? I know IBC, but what I’m wanting to know, is prior to the probable signs, can you reflect back on things that you noticed such as pain, heavy arm, extreme burning itching, any thickness? Or were you just hit with this out of the clear blue? Just curious. I see a surgeon in 45 minutes, and here I sit unable to make myself get up and go because of the fear of the unknown and the reality of the “what if’s.”

    Tanya

  12. just a mom says:

    OK I have heard that a very early sing of this is little bug bite? is this true or just something that my head is adding to other things.

  13. whymommy says:

    Great questions! Keep ’em coming — and I’ll start writing! My chemo is this Thursday again, so I may save some for Friday-Saturday-Sunday, when I can’t really move (but I can think). Until then, I’m going to (try to) live it up!

  14. whymommy says:

    Meg, I think I’ve answered most of your questions already — check out these posts:

    https://toddlerplanet.wordpress.com/2007/07/12/marching/
    https://toddlerplanet.wordpress.com/2007/07/24/cancer-progressing/
    https://toddlerplanet.wordpress.com/2007/07/15/whats-it-like-to-have-chemotherapy/
    https://toddlerplanet.wordpress.com/2007/08/02/chemo-2/

    And no, I don’t have a mediport yet. But my friend LawMom does, and she describes her experience with it (as “RoboMom”) in a beautifully detailed manner over at The Merits of the Case.

    Glad to have you here. I’d write about all this again, but it’s kinda hard to revisit, so I hope you like the links.

    I’ve emailed Monica and Tanya privately, and I’ll work through more of the questions soon!

  15. Crissi says:

    hi.. i was just wondering. did you have arm pain before diagnosis? ir is it just a side effect from the chemo?

  16. Ana says:

    I’m sure you have probably answered this question before, but I’ll ask just in case. What gave you the inspiration and courage to share your journey with the rest of us when it could have been so much easier to fight your battle in silence?

  17. Mine is rather personal, but because this idea scares the shit out of me, I’ll ask – if, after you’re cured, etc. will you share a pic of what it looks like? Or point us in the right direction, for those of us who need to know what we’re looking for?

  18. […] Got questions? […]

  19. Crissi says:

    hi.. just wondering. did you have arm pain before diagnosis? ir is it just a side effect from the chemo?

  20. whymommy says:

    Crissi, I didn’t have arm pain before I noticed the other symptoms related to my breast. Sometime during the next 2-3 weeks of testing, though, I developed a great deal of aching and pressure in my chest and corresponding aches from my elbow to skull. I still don’t know why I have them (and really don’t want to know), but they are lessening now that I’m in chemo and the other symptoms (like the heaviness of the tumor in my breast) are starting to lessen as well. I’m glad of that. Typically there is no pain associated with breast cancer. But IBC can have this kind of pain and shooting pains in the breast itself (which I also had, but is also lessening) associated with it.

  21. […] Comments whymommy on Post-Chemo Delusions: Waitingwhymommy on Got questions?Your oldest friend, Adam on Post-Chemo Delusions: Waitingplanetnomad on Chemo #3Shannon @ […]

