Chemo #3

Chemo #3 went really exceedingly well today.  I even got good news — the chemo is WORKING and the signs of IBC are receeding.  Great news, really, fabulous, hopeful news!

The rest of the visit went well also — I saw two fabulous nurses to take my blood and start my IV flawlessly and with no pain. Unlike the guy I’ve been seeing, who leaves me with big bruises all over my hand.  So all, in all, a fabulous day, and I came home and slept for a few hours.

But (said in a very small, very ashamed to complain voice), it still makes me vomit.

79 Responses to Chemo #3

  1. Stimey says:

    Dude, complain away. IT’S WORKING!!!!!! Congratulations! I am so happy for you!

  2. mayberry says:

    Working!! Doing a happy dance over here!

  3. clifford says:

    Beginning of the end, IBC. In your face.

  4. just a mom says:

    HEY PUKE AWAY….. That has to be the least to deal with with THAT news!~!!!!!!

  5. Danielle says:

    Great news (not the vomit part)! Get some rest. Keeping ya in my thoughts and prayers.

  6. ella says:

    I’m so thrilled for you – fantastic, fantastic news! (And you have every right to complain about anything you like!)

  7. Jacquie says:

    Fan-freakin-tastic! That is wonderful news.

    Feel free to vent about vomit! We are here for you. I’m sure there are some of us that would take a few vomit sessions for you if we knew it could ease things for you.

    You are a pillar of strength WhyMommy!!

  8. Robin says:

    Wonderful, wonderful news!

    And complain away whenever you feel the need, I’ll even hold the bucket while you puke and hand you a cool cloth when you’re done.

  9. Amy says:

    Wonderful, wonderful news!!

  10. Kim says:

    WhyMommy, this post made my day. I am SO happy to hear that the treatment is working. We will all continue sending positive energy your way…I truly believe that helps!!

    And although we didn’t realize it, we both had chemo yesterday.🙂

  11. amanda says:

    You shame us all with how very little you complain, silly. Don’t be afraid to remind us that you are human, it’s why we come.

    Feel better you kick ass warrior, you!

  12. Amy says:

    My dad, a nurse, says that 1 out of 5 jabs don’t hurt, because of the density of nerves in the arm and hand. I once had a glucose tolerance test, and had 5 blood draws in one day, and sure enough, exactly one was entirely painless. Maybe that little bit of trivia will give you something to look forward to?

    I am so happy that you are responding to treatment! Outstanding!!!

    Don’t feel like you have to pretend to be stronger than you feel.

  13. Bon says:

    everything Amanda said…you complain so little, that i at least need to hear your small voice now and then.

    i am thrilled with the news, Whymommy.

    now keep resting and fighting.

  14. Susan K says:

    WHOOO HOOO.

    I am SO pleased and happy for your news. I was thinking about you a lot yesterday, wondering how it was going. And here it was, going fabulously. GREAT.

    And a suggestion, for next time you are feeling draggy but want to play with Widget. Ask him to put on a show for you! He could dance, he could do a puppet show, he could sing a song or two or three. If you have ‘costumes’ lying around, he could dress up and do a ‘play’. Or have him ask YOU to identify the flash cards (I love hearing my nearly 2 year old come up to me, card in hand, and say, “whass that?”. He could do all of the above. It gets him active and having fun and you are interacting with him without needing to do more than lie on the couch.

    Take care, continue to feel well, don’t let this weekend’s weather drag you down.

  15. Eva says:

    Great to have some positive results from [that nasty ole, vomit-inducing, terribly fatiguing] chemo, huh? woot!

  16. Rock on mama! Hooray!

  17. thetardyteacher says:

    Screw ashamed, just yak that IBC out!

    Yay for working!

  18. kgirlto says:

    Meh, what’s a little vomit in the face of such wonderful news?! So very, very happy for you – but with your amazing attitude, I didn’t expect anything different. Truly.

  19. NoRegrets says:

    Oh, give yourself a break. It’s fine to whine once in a while! There’s a kid inside of you that needs to be taken care of too…

  20. ~JJ! says:

    Be good to yourself. You are not whining. You are fighting harder than ever before.

  21. Awesome awesome news this Friday! Vomit and have a great weekend WhyMommy! 😉

  22. Vanda says:

    Great news! Huh, complain all you want. Everyone hates to bow to the toilet goddess kiddo. Did I say that’s GREAT NEWS!!!?

  23. Colleen says:

    Woohoo! Yippee! It’s working!

  24. Angela says:

    That’s wonderful news! About the receding not the puking. Puking still sucks…or blows…well you know what I mean.

    Keep on keeping on, and we’ll keep on sending you all the good vibes we’ve got.

    This will all just be an interesting bump in the life-landscape of your future self.

  25. Leeanthro says:

    You can complain all you want. We’re here to listen.

    I always say that letting things out often lets them slip away.

  26. LawyerMama says:

    That is FABULOUS news!

    ((hug))

  27. Jen E says:

    WooHoo!!!! Great news, hon!! So glad you got great nurses too!

  28. Jenster says:

    Wow! 3 down and 5 to go!! You’re almost to the half way mark. I’m so glad for you!!

    I’m sorry it makes you sick, though. :o( That’s no fun.

  29. Jenster says:

    Ack! I’m smacking my head because I forgot to comment on the really GOOD news!! I’m so glad the chemo is working for you. REALLY, REALLY glad. (Please excuse my childish grammer. I’m just really, really happy. lol)

    Knowing that it’s working makes it worth it, doesn’t it?

    Blessings to you!!

  30. Binky says:

    So glad to hear the good news!

  31. maggie says:

    Good nurses make a huge difference. Sorry about the nausea, but glad to hear the that chemo is working!

  32. canape says:

    Well that’s a bright shiny post on the internet today! I’m so incredibly thrilled.

    So why are you vomiting? Pastor MargiePoo said there were plenty of anti-nausea drugs? Do the docs know you are still puking your sweet guts out?

    Nag nag nag. Hey, I’m bringing donuts soon though. To make up for the nagging.

  33. Spacemom says:

    Excellent news! I know this is tough, and it is okay to complain while you vomit… really!

  34. Linda L. says:

    Hurray! It is working! Such good news!🙂 🙂 🙂

  35. Michele says:

    you shouldn’t be ashmaed to complian, thought I’m not sure it should be considered complainging. I mean, who likes to puke, right? You’ve earned your stripes. bitch away! and while you’re at it, kick a little IBCs ass!

  36. andi says:

    Ashamed to complain? Wow. You are such a better person than me. You can bet I’d be pretty whiny if I were going through this.

    I am so, so happy it’s working. That is fabulous news.

  37. Jenn says:

    My heart is soaring.

  38. twithhoney says:

    Oh, who cares about vomit. It’s working!!! Yeah!!!!!!!!!!

  39. Jenn says:

    Sorry about the vomiting, but what great news that the chemo is working! Yeah!!

  40. practiceliving says:

    WOO HOO!

    I never thought I’d be happy to hear about someone vomiting, but if vomit means things are working, then YAY!😀

  41. whymommy says:

    It’s working, it’s working! And just a little vomiting, really, although I didn’t know that last night. Nothing at all today. Just fatigue….

    Thanks for all the kind notes.

  42. Liz says:

    Fanbloodytastic! You go girl.

  43. Katherine says:

    I am so happy for you! Keep fighting and complain all you want to, but I’ll tell you I sometimes found it better to just throw up than to get that awful waiting-to-vomit feeling… Anyhow congrats!

  44. Jennifer says:

    Oh, I’m so happy to hear that you had some great news! I am praising God!

  45. Andrea says:

    This is wonderful news. Yak as much as you need to and don’t even worry about complaining! All of us at DC Metro Moms are here for you!

  46. Jennifer says:

    Great news!
    It’s okay to complain by the way!

  47. Christy says:

    Vomit, shomit! Complain all you want it is working!!! Doing a happy dance for you at my desk right now!

  48. Qutecowgirl says:

    Complain as much as you want!! the chemo is working. Heck that stuff takes a lot out of you.

    Congratulations on it working = ). I just found your blog and well I am sending lots of positive thoughts your way.

  49. WAAAA-HOOOOO!!!

    Can you hear me shouting from the rooftops?!!

    Lots and lots of love, CGF xo

  50. ColleenZ says:

    No WONDER you looked so radiant! I am so happy for you I’m crying.

  51. A says:

    Hooray! Hooray! Hooray!

  52. PA_Lady says:

    **Snoopy dancing for you!** What great news!

    If you caught their names, ask to have those nurses do your pokes every single time. You might have a longer wait if they’re busy with someone else when you get there, but it’s worth it. (I have bloodwork done twice a month, and after a couple months of painful jabs and giant bruises, got a lovely lady who did it quickly and painlessly. She now takes care of me each time.)

  53. ohamanda says:

    YAHOO! I’m so happy. And I think it’s just a confirmation in the physical world of what’s happening in the spiritual world! Prayer works! And chemo helps!

  54. You made me smile, even the tiny voice part.

  55. Joanna says:

    You go woman! I am so thrilled to hear that you are kicking ass, literally! Of course, so sorry about the side-effects, but you are a trooper and will persevere! Hope you feel better tomorrow and have some sun outside to enjoy, if for a bit –

  56. Jenifer says:

    YAY! SO happy to hear you good news!

    I read everyday, but often don’t comment because I feel at such a loss as to what to say. I don’t ant to leave generic words of reassurance that come across as meaningless. But know that there are many of us thinking of you and praying for you every. single. day. weather we can come up with something to say or not.

    You’re such a fighter. You inspire me.

  57. Amanda says:

    Wonderful news!! And complain away! You totally deserve it.

  58. NYfriend says:

    YAHOOO-EEE! WhyMommy I have goosebumps of excitement from your wonderful news that the chemo is WORKING. YES!! (insert big ole grin here, from ear to ear. I would be doing a happy dance or FRAP’ing like our pooches if the kids weren’t sleeping😉 ).

    Hope your tummy is feeling better today. 🙂

  59. fidget says:

    i am so glad that you got some good news!

  60. Angela says:

    I don’t know if you do memes, but if you do (and if you have the desire or time- insert maniacal laughter here) I’ve tagged you on my blog. Mostly though I just wanted to point folks over here to get addicted to your blog. Consider it more like linky love🙂

  61. ohmygoshohmygoshohmygosh!!!!!!!!🙂

  62. ohmgoshohmygoshohmygosh!!!!!!!!!!!!

  63. (I said it twice I was so excited!)😉

  64. Ana says:

    YAAHOOO!!! Awesome news and still praying for even more good news! I’m greedy for good news for you!

  65. Mrs. Chicken says:

    Oh, thank goodness! I am so relived.

    And I can only imagine how you feel. Complain all you want, my friend.

  66. Wendy says:

    Hi Why Mommy! I have a resource for you. Vent to Connie. She has survived cancer TWICE: breast cancer and then bone, lung, and liver cancer. She REALLY wants to support ANYONE who is dealing with cancer … she would be THRILLED if you would write to her. Please do, and tell her that her friend, Wendy, sent you. EVERYONE is welcome to write to Connie.

    kidstuff@comcast.net

    connieiamasurvivor.blogspot.com

  67. Surviving says:

    I’m sorry that it makes you feel sick but I’m so happy that it is working!!!

  68. KDF says:

    Yay for barf!

    Congrats on the wonderful news and the good (though pukey) day.🙂

  69. BetteJo says:

    Wonderful phlebotomy makes a huge difference in how comfortable a procedure is, huh?
    And the news? Fabulous. Nothing short of. 🙂 🙂 🙂

  70. Leann I Am says:

    But I guess it’s worth it to know that it’s working! That’s great news and I am so happy for you! Prayers are being answered!

  71. R says:

    Vomiting sucks, sister… but I am glad it’s working. I know it will continue to do so…
    You are an inspiration and I hope you know that deep in your bones

  72. Oh wow, so thrilled to hear some good news for you! Hooray!

  73. planetnomad says:

    AWESOME!! As for the vomit, I think it’s supposed to make you vomit. And I don’t think you’re supposed to like it. So don’t worry about complaining.
    YAAY! Hang in there; keep fighting; we’re still praying.

  74. i’m so happy to read that it’s working! awesome awesome awesome!!🙂

  75. Ally says:

    Holy toledo! It is working! I am floored!

  76. It’s not fun to be sick and it’s even worse to have to be sick in order to get better – it’s just weird…

  77. Kristen says:

    Such wonderful news…so happy for you. Keep it up, you are doing just great!

  78. allthepretties says:

    so late…Im always so late to the comment…I want to know, and maybe its just because of the different types of chemo…isnt there a pill or injection you can take to stave off the nausea? The first chemo my mom was on (synovial sarcoma is her cancer) she was able to get an injection that made her not so sick to her stomache.
    She is now taking the Chemo Pill, and the side effects are supposed to be not as bad. We’ll see.

    I am so happy to hear that its working. What great news. Great for you and especially great for the babies.
    Im so glad to hear those words (or read them, rather).
    xoxojen

