Post-Chemo Delusions: Waiting

all day today and
yesterday I have been sick
but it beats dying

 

tomorrow my friend
Canape comes to visit
and she’ll bring donuts

 

soon, soon the nausea
will recede and I will move
again; now I wait

 

alone in pjs
my head spins; I read your blogs
but don’t risk comments

 

I know this haiku
(these haiku?) is terrible
but it makes me laugh

12 Responses to Post-Chemo Delusions: Waiting

  1. Your oldest friend, Adam says:

    It is just all hi-cool that you’re able to do this. You could drink haiku-lade with the donuts? I’d recommend grape.

  2. whymommy says:

    Okay, so I was so embarrassed about this post that I just came back to delete it — but Adam’s puns are making it worth keeping. Friends, this guy has kept me in stitches for the past 30 years! Since we were kool-aid drinking age, I’d say. Although we were most often given diluted apple juice instead.

    But I digress. Again. With apologies to Mrs. A., my junior high English teacher, I’m going to just sign off now.

  3. Jacquie says:

    This was a good post. Never doubt what you write, we are here to support you and thats it!

    Hugs.

    P.S. Your friend is hilarious.

  4. bon says:

    i’m laughing too. not AT your haiku, but at the whole form…because i love it, but it amuses me in a way that i suspect is not, perhaps, its intended purpose.

    i always giggle at my own haiku and then a very serious old Japanese man who lives in my head gives me the hairy eyeball.

  5. It made me laugh, too.
    Thank you!

  6. Ms. A says:

    apologies! How could I read your haiku with anything but overwelming pride.

  7. Emily says:

    Your junior year English teacher reads this?! I’m impressed.

  8. NoRegrets says:

    I love haikus! they are so much fun, aren’t they? See my recent odes to sweet potato fries. 🙂

  9. Jennifer says:

    I love this post! I love haikus! Glad you didn’t delete!

  10. canape says:

    The donuts were sweet
    But Little Bear was sweeter
    Yummiest baby.

    Even Kepler ate
    A donut straight from Widget
    Sneaky puppy thief.

    So good to see you
    Should have asked for Tums
    Before we started back home.
    🙂

  11. planetnomad says:

    I love the haikus!

  12. Damselfly says:

    That is beautiful. I especially like “but it beats dying.”

    PS I’ve been on Team WhyMommy too!

