Wrapping myself in love

As mothers, as mommies, we spend a lot of time wrapping our arms around our little ones, holding them tight, and whispering, “It’s okay, darling, it’s okay.”  When the baby cries.  When the toddler falls.  When the preschooler has had just a little too much day and not enough nap.  When bigger kids have bigger needs.  We wrap our arms around them and murmur, “It’s okay, darling, it’s okay.”

And somehow it makes it all better.

I don’t know about you, but sometimes I have days myself when I could use a little of that.  Not my mommy, exactly, but some bit of that kind of love wrapped around me telling me, “it’s okay, darling, it’s okay.”

And the other day, a bit of that arrived in the mail.

Kelly, a friend I know only through this site, her blog, and comments, is a quilter.  She wanted to send me something to help me through this time.  She didn’t listen to my protests here and went to my friend Canape instead, asking where to mail this token of love.  But wait, there’s more.  Since she lives in Australia, she talked to some friends in America with the Heartstrings Project and arranged for them to send me a quilt.  They did.  It is absolutely beautiful, and I am overwhelmed.  They sent me this gorgeous quilt, and I have been wrapping myself in it on the couch this cycle.  It’s really helping me feel less alone.

Then another package arrived, this one from Girl.  Another woman I know only through this blog and hers.  She went to the trouble of making me something herself, something that she thought would remind me of my superpowers triumphing over cancer.  That’s right.  She made me a cape.  A cape with a great big WM on it, superman-style, in bright bold pink and white.  It makes me feel like I have superpowers, and when I wrap it around me (or my toddler races around the room in it), it makes me feel powerful.

And then NYfriend added to my bounty with a neck wrap/bed buddy scented with chamomile and other herbs and flowers.  She and her friend who makes Simple Slings, a fantastic carrier for infants, researched the ingredients, mixed the herbs (the kids helped!), and sewed them all up in a long narrow pouch (with gorgeous removable cover) for me.  I put it around my shoulders or alongside me when I lie down, and its sweet scent and comforting weight comfort me when I feel grouchy and I hurt.  It even goes in the microwave for soothing warmth for my shoulder.  It helps relieve the pain and makes me feel relaxed.

My mother, my wonderful mother, knitted me a prayer shawl last year when I was down on bed rest for the pregnancy for so long.  She learned to knit just for this, I think, and she did such an amazing job.  The blue/green shawl, and a peachy orange one that a family friend knitted for me last month, are wonderful knits to wrap around me or dust over my legs when I feel chilly.  And yes, I do feel chilly these hot August days, as my thermostat and hormones are all messed up and I begin to enter what they call chemopause.  When I toss them over my legs or wrap them around me, I feel loved.

And when I log on to the computer, made of bits and bytes and plastic and metal, the most unlikeliest of places, I find your comforting words and comments and posts, and I have found that they are often as soft and reassuring as baby-fine yarn and a chocolate brownie.  When I read your words of comfort, I feel surrounded by friends.

And that, friends, is priceless.  I can hear you, each of you, telling me what you would tell your children, and I hear you saying, “It’s okay, darling, it’s okay.”

Thank you.  I needed to hear that today.

21 Responses to Wrapping myself in love

  1. Kristin says:

    Everything’s going to be OK.

    I’m baking a loaf of zucchini bread for my new neighbors. That’s what people do, right? Bake for people. Knit. Quilt. There are ways to hug without touching, without physical touching, I mean.

    Want some bread? Chocolate zucchini cake? Cookies? (I’m limited in my range.)

  2. Thank you for the link to the Heartstrings Quilting Project website. Just looking at the patterns is soothing. And everyone who visits this site knows for sure that you are a darling who enriches all our lives.

  3. jen says:

    it’s how it should be, how it would be if we all weren’t relegated to our own corners…where we’d pad over from our village to yours to bring you gifts and sit and sing songs to you as you slept.

    THAT is as it should be, and yet what it is, the community that surrounds you is pretty darn amazing too.

  4. MammaLoves says:

    Warm arms to surround you and smooth your brow. That is what I send, my friend.

  5. Oh, I’m so glad you’re feeling loved. Because you are.

  6. maggie says:

    It’s okay darling. And that quilt? Breathtaking.

    I’m about to go to the yarn store to make a chemo cap for my mother. Would you like one too?

  7. You and I are both thinking about Quilts for Breast Cancer at the same time!! Jinx!!

    Take a look at my blog today, Whymommy, and SEE how much love we all have for you, for all Survivors of Breast Cancer, and their families.

    http://icanflyjustnotup.blogspot.com/2007/09/wonderful-news.html

    Love, as always, CGF xo

  8. Oh, The Joys says:

    That is amazing and incredible and wonderful and I love that they did that for you.

  9. I’m glad you can accept and appreciate the gifts, because people do want to help, and do care.

  10. Drink it up! You deserve it!

  11. canape says:

    The quilt is breathtaking. And Kelly is wonderful for arranging it.

    My favorite part about the cape that Girl made was watching Widget run up and down the hall in it. That was priceless!

    Accepting is what you do for us. It helps us feel like we are doing something. You being able to accept it is what makes you an awesome friend.

    If only I could do more.

  12. ella says:

    What wonderful people, what wonderful things they do. I’m glad they are bringing you comfort.

  13. girl says:

    That quilt rocks socks….

  14. Angela says:

    I am glad you feel loved!

  15. Her Grace says:

    Wonderful. Surrounded with love, just where you deserve to be.

    I’ve been rooting for you quietly from the lurker’s section, so when you commented on my blog today, I was honored…thanks!

  16. christine says:

    oh there are so many great people who love you!

    that quit is GORGEOUS!

  17. Mary says:

    I’m so glad that you like the quilt and that it brings you some comfort. When Kelly contacted me she gave me your blog address and I’ve been reading about your fight against cancer. I haven’t commented but you and your family have been in my thoughts.

  18. ~JJ! says:

    This makes me so happy. For you. For your virtual friends, for everyone who is touched so deeply by you and your story.

    It Is okay darling. I know it is…You have taught me that.

  19. Sue in MN says:

    I am part of HeartStrings and so happy you are enjoying your quilt . I am a six year cancer survivor . We have a group of quilters in Oz too . When you are feling better you are invited to join us and pass it on !
    Warm quilty hugs from Minnesota – Sue

  20. Kelly says:

    I’m glad you liked the quilt, there is nothing better than to lie on the couch wrapped in one.

    Mary and the Heartstrings Group do a wonderful job.

    Keeping you in my thoughts.

  21. Cricket says:

    Hi,
    I’m in the HeartStrings group, and I can probably speak for all of us in sending our love and best wishes. Cancer CAN be beat. I have five friends that have been though or are going through chemotherapy and/or surgery now. It looks like they will all make it, and you can, too. Here is a big (((((((((((HUG)))))))))))) from Massachusetts in the United States.
    Prayers coming!
    Cricket

