I remember.

Six years ago today, I saw the smoke rise from the terrorist attack on the Pentagon.  It is as clear in my memory today as it was last year, when I wrote this rememberance, and as it will likely be every year for the rest of my life.  I saw the horror, from across the river, and I will never forget.

I remember.  I will always remember.

12 Responses to I remember.

  1. PunditMom says:

    I wasn’t that close, but I will never forget the fighter jets streaking overhead — over my house, in my neighborhood — again and again and again. How can we ever forget?

  2. ~JJ! says:

    I remember too. I was that close to the towers. They were across our ‘pond’ from Queens to Manhattan.

    Terrible.

  3. Phoenix says:

    I remember too. I always will.

  4. Ally says:

    I remember, too.

  5. deb says:

    My husband is a pilot and was on a plane that morning. When he landed and saw the news he called me. I told him he had to rent a car, now, and drive home. He did. All I wanted was my family around me and to know that they were all safe.

  6. jessica says:

    6 years ago today I was at my second week at my new job, had just moved in with what would be my fiancee and now my late husband…I was not in NY, I know nobody who died on this day, but for some reason, it seems like yesterday. This talk on CNN about when is it time to stop the grieving or remembrance on 9.11 is such a non-issue for me. I will NEVER forget. Every 9.11 since 2001 at 9:03 I stop, and reflect on that day.

  7. Tara-Lynn says:

    From a Canadian blog sister….we felt your pain all the way up here, and said many prayers for all of you. I too will always remember that day.

  8. christine says:

    this was such a terrible , frightening day. i’ll never forget it either. but here is some light: i had my cancer surgery for malignant melanoma on that very day. today i am 6 years cancer free. in the darkness there is always a little light.

  9. Susan K says:

    For some inexplicable and blessed reason, I was home from work that day. My husband was on an airplane (thank God I knew he was OK before I knew I should be worried) and my 11 month old was at daycare.

    Had I been up in DC, as usual for a Tuesday, I have no idea how I would have gotten home, what time it would have been when I finally got 50 miles south, and what my daughter would have been doing in the meantime. But instead, I was at home, with the Today show on.

    I can still hear it, first Katie Couric, in a shocked and confused voice just as the second plane hit, ‘WHAT is going on???’. And a little later, Matt Lauer said, “Does it look like it is leaning?”

    That afternoon I took my car to be inspected. I didn’t know what else to do and it needed to be done… but it wasn’t right.

    I will never forget.

    My parents, even in Canada, many, many years later always asked the “where were you when you heard about JFK” question at dinner parties. I guess this is our JFK question….

    But just think Whymommy – in another 6 years you will ponder the anniversary yet again and you will add in your mind, “and I remember…… at the 6 year anniversary….. all that was going on in my life.”

    And you will watch your boys – both coming home from school that day. And you will pray they never have their own JFK moment.

  10. I just read your articulate, vivid remembrance of the psychological impact on you of that day. I, too, wrote a very different post today about being a psychologist outside Boston having to see my patients all day, not knowing if this was the end of the world or not, getting news from my patients only. The whole day felt unreal.

  11. Tracy says:

    Remembering along with everyone…I spent much of yesterday thinking, praying, remembering…((HUGS))

  12. Danielle says:

    I’m a day late after taking time off of reading others blogs yesterday. I’m shocked how many people have just moved on. I work at an elementary school and was at a loss for what to say to the kids. I was angry with myself and the school as a whole that there wasn’t more guidance on what to say to the kids. I wanted to explain without telling them too much, first grade. I went more the route of explaining that many people would be sad today and many people would be scared. I talked with my son last night and tried to stress they way that people were united after it happened. He even wrote about it and posted it on his blog.

    I was in Seattle. My oldest was just under a year old and I remember clearly. Watching on TV. Going to work and trying to make things normal for the kids at school, while sneaking into the teachers lounge to check for updates. Looking at my tiny baby and wondering what life would be like for him.

    I remember.

