Quietness

The weekend stretches ahead of us, filled with promise.  Well, the promise of a quiet weekend at least!  I’m hoping to get out to the hammock soon (mental note: all cancer survivors undergoing chemo should have a hammock.  It makes us feel like we’re “out” somewhere when we’re still really home, sick in bed).  Widget and I are watching parts of the Cars movie this morning, cuddled up together.  Baby Bear has been up and playing with Daddy and now is headed off for his morning nap.

The Neulasta shot yesterday wasn’t bad at all.  They put it in my arm, and the nurse explained everything to me very well.  I should have bone pain in my hips and thighs later this weekend, but that’s just the Neulasta working, helping my body make new bone marrow to bring me back up to speed.  My bone marrow is depleted, you see, a common side effect of chemo. 

I think the hardest part was walking through the hospital to the chemo unit the day after I’d been there.  I was so tired.  But that’s all done now, and I just have to rest.

My goal is to get to the Wellness Community on Monday for yoga.

9 Responses to Quietness

  1. ~JJ! says:

    Ah! Gotta love a quiet weekend.

    Glad the shot wasn’t so bad.

  2. The hammock sounds like a lovely idea. Enjoy it.

  3. Kristin says:

    Weekends are meant for hammocks and people you love. Enjoy it.

  4. MammaLoves says:

    Hammocks are like mini-vacations.

    Way to just keep swimmin’!

  5. Ally says:

    Oh, I’m so glad the shot was in the arm. The thought of it in your stomach was too much. Prayers and hugs to you, on this hammocky day.

  6. Arkie Mama says:

    I’m so glad the shot wasn’t as bad as feared.

    Enjoy that hammock. Love them.

  7. BetteJo says:

    Have a lovely rest! Hammock sounds heavenly.

  8. magnetobold says:

    Wonderful to ‘hear’ you sounding a bit brighter today. Cars is my Boo’s favourite movie too. I am still wearing my connies and my girls and their friends think you are amazing. Just like I do. Was unusual to say the least having an Inflammatory Breast Cancer discussion with 13-15yr olds at a birthday party🙂

  9. KillerBoob says:

    hang in there! one more chemo down (even if it was a crappy one) is one less for later. i know you know that but it’s great to say!

    i got neulasta each time as i had such WBC problems. I have such a love/hate relationship with it. overall it’s great stuff though. the hip pains will be over soon. strong tylenol helped with those!

