Goal!

New goal today!  Although I feel very anonymous here (thinly veiled as it is), I’m going to take a step out into the world next month and DO something I’ve never done before.  I’m going to WALK for breast cancer!  Or is that AGAINST breast cancer?  Anyway.  I’m doing the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure October 14 in Hunt Valley, MD. 

I won’t be racing, actually.  Or even walking, probably, since it’s only 10 days after my first Taxol treatment (this is a new chemotherapy drug for me; it may be better, it may be worse, but we don’t know how I’ll react!).  But I hear that they do a survivor lap in the 1 mile, and they even run a trolley for survivors who can’t do a whole mile.  Now that’s my kind of race!

Maybe next year I’ll be able to race for real.  But for now, my new goal is to get out and get to the race.  To put on my pink shirt and hat.  To mingle with other survivors and see that it CAN be done.  And hopefully to bring my mother-in-law along for support — for both of us.  Won’t we be a sight in our matching pink survivor t-shirts?

57 Responses to Goal!

  1. canape says:

    That is a great idea.

    Especially the trolley part. I hope you don’t need to ride it, but still. That’s a cool thing for them to have.

  2. Alice C says:

    You will be walking WITH survivors, OVER Breast Cancer and FOR yourself! Make sure you take a photo of the finishing line.

  3. Her Grace says:

    Good for you! I can’t wait to hear about it!

  4. Robin says:

    I wish I lived nearby, I’d be cheering my head off to see you walking proudly by.

  5. b*babbler says:

    A terrific goal indeed! Good luck!

  6. Arkie Mama says:

    Fantastic! Race for the Cure is just incredible. Inspiring. You will love it. I’m so glad you’re going. (Make sure you post photos!)

  7. Sarahc75 says:

    Hi.
    I’ve been reading your blog for a while and never commented, but i really wanted to today, i hope you don’t mind.
    I think your goal of doing the race/walk is completely wonderful. I wish you all the luck in the world🙂

    Sarah♥

  8. tori says:

    I did Relay For Life for the first time this year, and it was a very emotionally healing experience. I hope the same is true for you! It was just so amazing to see all the people with the matching survivor shirts…I don’t know if that is the same for Race For The Cure, but it was just such a bonding experience to know we had all been through it. Can’t wait to hear (read) about it!

  9. CE says:

    I love your blog – have been reading for about 5 months now. I live very close to Hunt Valley and would love to come and support you and give you a donation. What time is the race? Is small child/baby friendly? I hope to see you there!

  10. Perfect. Just perfect!

  11. Good for you. I’ve done a couple of Relay for Life walks, and next weekend I’m going to a Cancer Retreat. It really does you a lot of good to be able to meet other cancer patients and survivors to share stories and just to be able to support one another. You’re going to love it.

  12. PunditMom says:

    Hunt Valley is a great place for the race. Have a great lap!

  13. Kristin says:

    Is there a “Team Whymommmy” in the race?

  14. It will be great for you to feel part of something bigger than you after all that time “fighting” alone in bed. Excellent goal!

  15. LawyerMama says:

    Good for you! There should be a Team WhyMommy as well!

  16. NoRegrets says:

    It’s a great time of year to do it too. Enjoy!

  17. Jennifer says:

    Oh how wonderful! I’m guessing it will be a great experience for you. The 3-Day walk in Seattle was just a couple of weeks ago, and that was a life changing experience for me. ( I can’t believe it’s already over.) I made a 3-Day blog if you’d like to see pictures of the event. http://www.jenniferswalking.blogspot.com

  18. ohamanda says:

    Awesome! I did Race for the Cure, too. It’s an amazing experience. It will be awesome for you, too!

  19. mumof4 says:

    I recently saw one of those said walks here in Denver. The pink outfits (hats, bags, water bottles) were really what drew all the attention. It was breathtaking. Good luck. Much admiration from the Rockies…

  20. crazymumma says:

    For me, the most inspirational sight at those races for cure are the survivors.

    you go!

  21. zellmer says:

    Brace yourself for an intensely moving experience. Pack tissue in your pockets. I’ll be cheering you on in spirit.

  22. Char says:

    Good for you! I am so glad that you are going to do this. I can’t wait to see the pictures after!🙂

  23. MammaLoves says:

    Survivor being the key word.

    Way to step out!!

  24. Bon says:

    We have an annual national run here in Canada, and i’ve participated for the past two years, ever since we moved back from Asia. the sea of shirts with the pink ribbon them, interspersed with the red and pink shirts of survivors, and the pinnies saying “I am running for….” always makes my eyes prick a little, with pride and hope and sadness. Last year, my half-sister and I went together, and our pinnies said “I am running for Hilda” (our grandmother, who died in 88 when my sister was only 3). This year I’m supposed to be running a conference that afternoon, rather than a race – but since Dave is running it with me I’ve made arrangements with him to slip away early and join the run, at least the last part. I will have your name on my chest, Whymommy.

  25. motherofbun says:

    Been thinking of you lots recently. And that’s so cool that you plan to participate in the Susan Komen race. I’m cheering you on via computer!

    Found out recently the wife of a guy I went to grade school with (my first crush EVAH) was recently diagnosed with cancer as well. And it was the same kind you have. They too live in DC area. She too has children (one boy that I know of for sure) and she too is a scientist. If I knew how to contact her, I would to let her know of your blog. I hope she’s somehow found it — no doubt she’d LOVE your blog as much as all of us do.

  26. motherofbun says:

    Can I get your e-mail address? There’s something I need to ask you before I refer your blog to this person… Its kind of important but not time critical. (My e-mail is motherofbun@yahoo.com)

    Am sending you energy, love, and support.

  27. kami says:

    I did the Avon 3 day a few years ago and it was the single most incredible 3 days of my life. It inspired me, humbled me, and made me push myself further than I thought I could. Such a good feeling…I might have to post about it.

  28. Katherine says:

    Very cool! You’ll be running on my birthday.

  29. Susan K says:

    What a great goal!! And then your NEXT goal is to walk the whole thing next year. And next, and maybe even run it some day – with “the boys”?

    Thinking of you, as always.

  30. Matt says:

    That’s great. Just go. It doesn’t matter if you need the trolley or not. Keep up the fight!

  31. Uncle Outdoors says:

    Hey sign me up for Team WhyMommy west coast. You inspired me. I just signed up for the Komen race here on Sunday. I’ve been hesitant because of the usual negative self-talk that haunts type-As everywhere (I haven’t been training, won’t run fast enough, should be studying, etc), but that’s just ridiculous, isn’t it. I’m going to run because I love to run and because I’m excited that you will be involved with the same event in a coupla weeks. I wish that we could both be at the very same one. We’ll hafta make a date for next year to walk together. I’ll push my nephews’ (future?) runner-stroller thingy.

  32. Leann I Am says:

    That will be so awesome! I’m so glad they have a way for survivors to participate that haven’t fully recovered or are still going through treatment! Take lots of pictures, okay?

  33. Yay, You!! I wish I could be there, too…

    With you in spirit, though!! Can’t wait to hear all about it.

    xo CGF

  34. Joanna says:

    You are awesome! I would love to do a BC race one year; it’s on my short list of things to do – what a perfect cause. I wish you strength – I hope your next treatment goes well, WM.

  35. Ally says:

    Good for you. That will be such an amazing and uplifting event. It’s the perfect goal to set for yourself. Keep up the good work, WM!

  36. magnetobold says:

    Oh and wear your pink converse shoes too! I’ll wear mine (well my daughters :)) on the same day and ‘run’ with you in spirit!
    Go Team WhyMommy!!!!

  37. Mrs. Chicken says:

    Terrific! I know you’ll be at the finish line first next year.

  38. urban-urchin says:

    Excellent! I hope the weather is beautiful and that you enjoy the day.

  39. Good for you! My friend is doing the 3-day and we are raising money. I will make a donation in your name. For “Whymommy” who I love from afar.

  40. KillerBoob says:

    wish I could be there to join you! one of these days…

    you go girl

  41. Darlene says:

    I love this blog. I just read about u in parents magazine. This is so empowering for soooo many. I am a mammo tech and I appreciate what you are facing. Be strong and keep busy that seems to help.

  42. Jennifer says:

    Good for you! Next year you can do it without a trolley!

    I’ve recently taken up running, this gave me the idea that I should be training for our upcoming SGK race for the cure.

  43. Vanda says:

    And a great sight you will be. Enjoy! As always, keeping you in my thoughts from across the pond.

  44. Jenn says:

    You’re running the race everyday.

    Next year, you’ll just be running it faster.

  45. clifford says:

    Maybe they’ll have a golf cart with cold fermented beverages on the back that you can ride around on…woohoo! Ahem, I mean, lots of diet coke.

  46. Lauren says:

    That is so great that you will be doing the race. I really hope you are feeling better. I know it is up and down but I hope you begin to have more up days.

    I also wanted to ask you your opinion. My dear friend just found out this week that she has breast cancer and I wanted to get her a thoughtful gift for when she is home. Do you have any ideas? She is probably going to be having a mastectomy. Thanks!

  47. 3chicksandadog says:

    Hi there. This is my first time doing this. I heard about your story in Parents Magazine. I wanted to write you some words of encouragement. I am a 7 yr survivor of bc. I have done the Race for the Cure each year in NJ. You should really enjoy the day. It will be emotional, but it really makes you feel good inside. It does me. After my 2nd child I was diagnosed with bc just 6 weeks later. It was a rough time. But I am here to say you can do it! And now 7 years later I had a 3rd child, which is such a blessing! Believe or not I have nursed her for 6 months on one breast and will continue for the next 6 months. I hope positive stories will help you through it. Good luck!

  48. Liz says:

    Dana sent me over here and I’m glad I came – sending you lots of good luck and keeping you in my thoughts – it’s so nice to meet you.

  49. How wonderful!! My sis just did it here in Oklahoma🙂

    And I just have to share… a little background: My sister’s best friend is fighting her own battle; many, many ups and downs – mostly down lately… My Dad, who is the sweetest, kindest, gentlest of men has had his retirement stolen from him by bad health and other ailments… he told me the other day that the doctor told him his oxygen level is low and he needs to start walking to help. (He’s not done much physical activity at all in the past few years) He told me his ultimate goal is to “Walk in one of those walks to help people”. I figure it’s either Relay for Life or the Race for the Cure, most likely, the latter, in light of sis’ friend’s recent plight.

    You are truly amazing… we are ALL pulling for you… even Daddy🙂

    xxx

  50. MC Milker says:

    I’m catching up on your blog this week. I was wondering…any thoughts about printing up some “Walking for Why Mommy” tee-shirts for those of us who would like to walk for you? It might help raise additional funds for The race for the Cure…???

  51. whymommy says:

    MC, what a neat idea! I am definitely not done with this topic — although I don’t want to be a fundraiser, I do want to be an awareness raiser — and the races are so wonderful!

    I would love this.

