Adventure

On the best of days, driving 12 hours in the car with your toddler is an adventure. 

Today, it was just what I needed.

At 6 a.m., WonderDaddy tucked me, Widget, and our stuff into a rented minivan, turrned on the GPS, and drove us down South for a meeting.  I’d been planning to go since well before my diagnosis, but when it came down to it, I wasn’t sure how to actually do so, when I wasn’t supposed to

  1. fly;
  2. be in a crowd; or
  3. stand up for too long as I recover from Thursday’s chemotherapy treatment.

So you know what?  We decided to just try

We drove straight through to Alabama, stopping for two rounds of running around grass lots, one lunch at Cracker Barrell, and nothing else.

Widget was (and is) an angel.  We played games, talked, sang, did a sticker book, read books, and popped in an Andre Rieu DVD to sing him to sleep when he had trouble dropping off at naptime and again as the last hour loomed large at the end of the trip.

I slept.  Or talked with WonderDaddy, having wonderfully intricate talks about the future, and plans, and ideas, as we have done on long trips in the car since college. 

WonderDaddy, bless his heart, drove us South. 

It was wonderful.

(This post was written Tuesday; sorry for the delayed post, but my internet access on travel was limited to nonexistant.)

33 Responses to Adventure

  1. WFMom says:

    Sounds awesome WhyMommy. Enjoy and relax; it is most certainly deserved!

  2. bon says:

    Wonder Daddy is indeed a wonder.

    as, apparently, is Widget. and Little Bear. and you.

    i love car talks when they’re not interrupted by screaming from the back seat.🙂

  3. Oh, yay, YOU GUYS!!

    What an uplifting post.

    love to you all xo CGF

  4. Char says:

    Road trips do wonders for the soul. Especially when it’s to a place you really want to be at. I am so glad that you guys decided to just try going. I hope that you have a wonderful trip, and you get to relax some.

  5. Kristin says:

    Way to go! You continue to impress with your energy, enthusiasm and willingness to just try.

  6. binky says:

    Yay for road trips!

  7. b*babbler says:

    Oh I’m so happy that you had a wonderful time! How good and uplifting for the body and soul.

  8. Katherine says:

    Sounds great, I had a rather difficult day in the car today. Fire trucks, fussy baby, running late, train stuck on the tracks…it felt like it wouldn’t end. On the bright side I got my test results back today and I am not going through chemo again! Woohoo!

  9. diatribal says:

    Glad you had an “uneventful” trip. I hope you enjoyed Cracker Barrel. I miss them so much!

  10. Leann I Am says:

    That sounds wonderful! I’m glad you did okay. It’s always harder with kids. Please be careful and let us know how it went when you get back!

  11. I’m so glad you got to do that!

  12. Joanna says:

    So, so awesome for you. What a total joy your family is. I can’t travel for more than three hours with my kiddos in the car (they are quite impatient in the car); consider yourselves blessed to have such a wonderful connection and peaceful babes. Enjoy your time and rest. Hugs –

  13. Danielle says:

    Sounds wonderful.

  14. baylove says:

    I read your story in Parent’s mag, and I thought I’d share some encouragement. My aunt had breast cancer when her boys were 4 and 7 years old. I was in college, so I used to pick them up after school and entertain them to give her a break. It was hard for her not to enjoy every moment with them, but I think resting made their moments together better. She just moved her oldest to college, and the younger one just started high school. She will be in remission for 10 years this Christmas. Just a little glance into the future excitement you have yet to come. Not to mention all of those fun years in between!

  15. BetteJo says:

    Sounds like you and WonderDaddy are a wonder-team!

  16. Carrie says:

    Sounds like just the right adventure for you and your family!

  17. magnetobold says:

    My husband and I used to have the most amazing conversations on long trips in the car with little ones snoozing in the back. I had forgotten all about that.
    Thanks for the reminder. We really need to do that again without the electronic distractions of home.
    Glad you had a wonderful trip🙂

  18. Elizabeth says:

    I’m here from The Dana Files to grab your badge code and tell you that I’m joining Team WhyMommy. I can’t imagine what you’re going through, having chemo and taking care of young children, too. Oh, and my husband and I have also been road-tripping since college, and it’s when we have some of our greatest conversations.

  19. magpie says:

    Sounds like a nice trip – did you leave the bear home?

  20. Vanda says:

    How wonderful you just did it! Good for you and hope you have many more “just do it” moments.

    Hugs and pat on the back from across the pond.

  21. deb says:

    Road trips are a wonderful chance to reconnect with your family, that’s why I like them. Glad you were able to get away.

  22. PunditMom says:

    That’s great to fit in a little trip, even if it doesn’t “make sense!”

    Also, I have a quick question for you — could you E-mail me at punditmom1@gmail.com? Thanks!

  23. clifford says:

    Two fine, fine kiddies, YM. They will make phenomenal Mississippi State doctoral graduates.

    (down boy! down YM! no scratching or clawing!) <:D

  24. ~JJ! says:

    OOohhhh! Sounds like some fun!!!!

    Yay WonderDaddy!

  25. zellmer says:

    Ah, road trips and intimate talks with the hubby. Gotta love it.

  26. Oh, The Joys says:

    Wait! When are you coming back? Are you driving through Georgia?

  27. Jennifer says:

    You were in Alabama and you didn’t call!!

    I kid.

    Sounds like a wonderful trip. Glad it was a success.

  28. Susan K says:

    Whymommy,

    I hope your trip home was OK. It was GREAT to see you!!! You look GREAT!! I hope you didn’t find it too stressful, seeing all those people who know you but maybe didn’t know of your diagnosis. You seemed much more comfortable towards the end of the meeting than you did that first night. And that was wonderful to see.

    I hope you didn’t wear yourself out too much. Rest up. Hug Little Bear. I had a lovely reunion with my girls this evening. The 7 year old was, “oh, yeah, hi”. But the 2 year old was very sweet in her excitement to see me.

  29. Andrea says:

    Hi. I am Andrea. I am 37 and a mother of 6( youngest is Clay is nearly one). I was diagnosed with stage 4 IBC in May. The day after I graduated from Temple University. I just finished chemo. My double mastectomy is scheduled for October 11th. If you want someone to talk to about motherhood and cancer let me know. I have a blog too called punkrockmommy.org. God bless you dear. I am praying for you and your family.

  30. motherofbun says:

    Yeay for you. And yeah for Wonderdaddy too.

  31. motherofbun says:

    Hi, WhyMommy. Its me. Again. Sorry to bother you. But I have this overwhelmingly odd feeling that YOU are the woman I was going to refer YOUR blog to! (If your in-laws are who I think they are, they were at my little brother’s wedding in April. And they can do a great polka! heehee) I didn’t mention this blog to my sis-in-law in case you are who I think you are and want to keep your blog a “private” matter amongst family.

    Sorry if I sound like a complete wierdo/stalker. If you do get some time and energy, I’d love for you to e-mail me at mother of bun at yahoo dot com. If not, I completely understand.

