Walking with WhyMommy

Walking With WhyMommy – archiving a front page link, posted Sept. 26, 2007

Update: I walked the mile! I didn’t know if I could, three days after chemo, but with the help of my friends and family, we did it! Read about what we saw at the race — and leave your comment below if you’re doing a walk this year!

On October 14, I’m going to put on my Team WhyMommy t-shirt and my pink converse tennies and walk in the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure in Hunt Valley, MD. I’m walking to raise awareness of inflammatory breast cancer, the silent killer. My first post about the race got 50+ comments encouraging me to do it. Emboldened, I made the decision. I’m going to walk. Even though it will be 10 days after chemo, I’m going to walk.

If you’re in the D.C. area and want to walk too, that would be awesome. Here’s an easy link to register for the walk if you don’t have a team already. I’m not asking for money here. I’m not a fundraiser, and I know how hard it is for many of us to make ends meet. What I want is for people to hear about inflammatory breast cancer. That’s all.

If you walk or run in a race near you, would you talk to people about IBC for me? Would you let me know if you’re doing it? I’ll recognize you here, and give you links and post pictures — whatever I can do to thank you. Because the word still needs to get out.

Inflammatory breast cancer kills. Early detection is critical. Know yourself.

Walk with WhyMommy.

These are the women and men walking with WhyMommy — aren’t they beautiful and amazing?

PortlandOregon

This is my brother. I believe that he is the very first Walker for WhyMommy. He ran in last weekend’s Race for the Cure in Portland, Oregon, with 46,000 of his closest friends. He put my blogname on his back and ran this race. I am so proud of him.

Sob’ah My Soul is strapping on her fannny pack and adding me to the people that she’s walking for this year.

Jessica at It’s My Life, Laugh if you Must is walking for three family members. And me. Thanks, Jessica.

Candy Girl Flies will be walking with her three girls in their public school’s Terry Fox walk/run for the Canadian Cancer Society on Friday, September 28. She says, “I’ll be pinning a big “Whymommy” sign on our stroller, just for you… and telling everyone I can about IBC!”

C.E., her husband, Jessica, and Matt and their kids walked with me and my family in the Baltimore walk in October 2007. It was an absolutely wonderful day. I will be forever grateful for everyone who is walking with me and for me.

Awesome!

Who else is walking with Whymommy?

Oct 6 – Jenn writes, I just wanted you to know that I walked in the RFTC in Charlotte, NC today, and I thought of you and told a girlfriend about what you’re going through. We have boys the same age as your older one (within a month) and baby boys too, and we are pulling for you!”

Oct 20 – Amy writes, “HI! I just found your site and I have to tell you that I am completely in awe of your bravery. You are one amazing chick! I’m local to you, somewhat, I think, and I just wanted to let you know that I am walking in the “Walk to Fight Breast Cancer” in Alexandria on Oct 20th. I know you are doing a lot of walking this month, but if you are interested, its at http://alexandriava.gov/oow/evt/walk_index.php. If you can’t be there, can I walk for you?”

Mel writes, “I’ll be praying that the new chemo schedule is much easier on you! Also know that the 1st weekend of Nov I’ll be walking in the Breast Cancer 3-Day in Arizona. I carry cards with messages from my donors so that I walked in memory, honor or support of those with breast cancer. I am adding a WhyMommy card to remind me to pray for you as I walk. Always remember that you are an awesome mom and a beautiful person. IBC can never take those away from you.”

Tina Mickelson is walking in her 4th and 5th Avon Walk for Breast Cancer this year. She wrote a lovely bit about me on her walk page — go check her out!

Stimey and some friends from Moms Club are going to walk with me in May. And I WILL be walking with them! Huzzah to all the walkers!

Comments are closed.

