A Day Off from Cancer

Great article in the NY Times today about the toy recalls and how hard it is now to shop responsibly for toddlers.  Liz from Mom 101 is the FOCUS of the article, and Beth Bleichman from SV Moms and Danielle from Chicago Moms Blog (sister sites of DC Metro Moms Blog) are quoted extensively!

Coolness. 

Yesterday was my first day solo’ing all day with the kids, without WhyDaddy or WhyGrammy or WhyGranddad or WhyGrandma or WhyPawPaw here for help and support.  I’m happy to report that both kids were fed, napped, and played with until we all collapsed from exhaustion.  We spent time outside on the swings, and we had a playdate with friends.  Widget painted a big piece of cardboard with ALL the colors, and he climbed up on the stool to choose his own snack.  Little Bear crawled and walked with the support of my hands.  And then?  I put Little Bear down to sleep THREE times — morning, afternoon nap, and bedtime —  doubling my success rate since July, when my chest/arm pain became so intense that I could no longer hold him long enough to rock him to sleep.  Good times.

Today, I’m taking a day off from cancer.  I’m just going to pretend it isn’t there.  I desparately need a break from tbe research, the options, the future, the past, the pain, and the medication.

Wish me luck.

redtoy

I’m going to focus on this bundle of giggles — and his brother — instead.

24 Responses to A Day Off from Cancer

  1. i hope you have a wonderful, peaceful day.

  2. delilah says:

    Enjoy those beautiful boys!

  3. ~JJ! says:

    These days, more than any other…will get you healthy…

    You need this time. Take it.

    I wish you luck, but I know you don’t need it.

    Enjoy your weekend.

  4. Qutecowgirl says:

    Enjoy it!! Days like this help get through the tougher ones.

  5. ree says:

    You go whymommy. Give those boys lots and lots of hugs and kisses

  6. Have a great, giggle-filled day!

  7. Char says:

    I hope that your day is filled with many giggles & tons of fun!

  8. Stimey says:

    You know, when I was over yesterday, I spotted two slinkies on a shelf and marveled quietly to myself how intact they were, considering you have two small children.

    Now your red slinky looks just like all of ours.

  9. Enjoy your day! It’s gorgeous outside here and I’m sitting in a cafe with my nearly 16 yo daughter (who rarely talks to me). I’m enjoying being in the same room with her and not fighting. It’s the small things. 😉

  10. A day off from cancer is, paradoxically, a very healing thing to do in every way, just feeling the joy of those boys in your body.

  11. He is SO stinking cute! Oh my gosh! He is absolutely adorable!

  12. canape says:

    That sounds like quite a perfect day. I hope you have a bunch more of those really soon.

  13. Congratulations!!! Thrilled to hear of all your enormous accomplishments with the boys!!

    I hope you have a thoroughly enjoyable weekend… Thinking of you!!

    love, as always, CGF xo

  14. BetteJo says:

    Sounds like a tremendous day! Wishing you bunches of them!

  15. clifford says:

    Was there ever any doubt that a child of yours would develop/advance so quickly?

    Rock to Slinkys. They’re fun for girls, boys, and nutball pooter geeks in their 30s.

  16. Thanks Whymommy! Then I guess we both had a nice day, huh.

  17. Mom101 says:

    Oops that was me above Mom101 with a computer autofill problem, apparently.

  18. magnetobold says:

    oooh, give that gorgeous guy another big sloppy kiss on the back of the neck for me OK?
    Sounds like a beautiful day you and your boys had yesterday. I cherish the days where it is just me and my Boo and we just spend our day together just being. Just like you had.

  19. Ally says:

    Wow, this was a huge day. Glad to hear that you took a day off from the research and the worries and focused on those two cutey pies.

  20. Colloquium says:

    Powerful Personal Writing: Is Your Site Pink for October?

    Every time a writers sits down in front of a keyboard or picks up a pen or pencil, he or she hopes to craft a written work powerful enough to impact its readers in some way. Ironically, we cannot foresee the many ways in which our writing affects those…

  21. Jessica says:

    Good luck and good for you!

  22. motherofbun says:

    That sweet little smile!

    So happy to hear you had a great day. YEAY!

  23. Lauren says:

    I am glad you were able to take a day off. I hope there will be many more of those in your future.

  24. […] day without pain I finally got my wish … a day off from cancer.  For the first time in a long, long time, I had a day without […]

