My bald head and I are going places

My bald head and I are going places.

Last weekend, we went to the outlet mall.  I wore a hat most of the time, but I took it off at a couple of the shops (Hot flashes trump propriety.  Every. Single. Time.).  I was surprised at the reaction.

At first, I got plenty of stares.

Then, I learned to look beyond the stares to see what people were really looking at.  And there was, more often than not, a kindness in their eyes.

They might have stared at first, but then they saw me, really me, who I was, just a mom trying to shop with two little boys, and their eyes softened. 

Today, I didn’t leave the house, but, oddly, part of the world came to me.  FOX News came to visit (Hi, Beth!  Hi, Lance!), and they stayed for a little while.  They took footage of me talking about inflammatory breast cancer, the signs, the symptoms, and why it’s so important to be checked out right away if you notice a change in one of your breasts.  We talked about the hard parts of having cancer, and my day off from cancer last week.  They took footage of my little boys playing with trucks and teddy bears, and they took footage of me blogging.

That’s right, internets, they are filming me typing this very post.

News at 11.

Okay, that last bit was a bit lame.  But how often have YOU liveblogged on camera?  This was the first time for me, and it was quite something!  It was so cool that they were here! The segment(s) will air on Fox later this month.  I’ll let you know more when I do!

Edited to clarify: The visitors today were the local Fox 5 News special projects crew — not the cable guys.  Sorry to be unclear.  I’ll definitely post a link if it goes up on their web site as part of their breast cancer awareness month footage! 

31 Responses to My bald head and I are going places

  1. Too cool! Too bad I don’t have a TV to watch it on. But if you let us all know when it will air I will be sure to go to a friend’s house!

    It is truly amazing the way you are reaching out farther and farther in your quest to educate people. Speaking of hats, mine is off to you!

  2. Jessica says:

    ACK! Very cool…I would probably forget how to type if I was being filmed, and my post would look like my 1-yr old typed it. Rock on!!!

  3. canape says:

    Dang. I may have to get cable now.

  4. NYfriend says:

    Too cool! I hope there will be a way I can see it too. Will it be local or national?

  5. tricia says:

    I think that’s pretty cool!!!🙂

  6. Stimey says:

    So absolutely cool! I cannot wait to see you on the news! Spread your message, cool woman!

  7. Jacquie says:

    Hmmmm must check if I have Fox news??? You are doing so much WhyMommy you are getting the word out!

    I have some beautiful tags a friend of mine made for me with WhyMommy on it. All regarding Breast Cancer Awareness, I would love to send them to you if that would be ok? E-mail me if you are intersted.

  8. clifford says:

    Youtube it, please ma’am, for those of us lacking cable and a satellite dish.

  9. Veronica says:

    I won’t get to see it😦

  10. magnetobold says:

    Wow. Keyboard is wet again. WM this is truly amazing and so are you.

    Wish I got fox news here in Oz😦 would love to see you and your bald head in the flesh.

  11. KillerBoob says:

    i agree that’s awesome. go WhyMommy! hmm, i’ll have to chek my schedule. i’m sure some of those big news agencies much be on their way to my house in belgium any day now. i better go wait by the phone🙂

  12. Susan K says:

    WM,

    I am so glad you reached that point. Reached the point that you could see beyond the stares to the softness, the understanding, the kindness. It has been there all along, you just stopped looking too soon.

    But now you know. So now you will understand that your support network is bigger than you realize. It is not just your friends and playgroup. It is not just names in red on your blog. It is people who are REALLY anonymous, people you see at the mall, or on the street or in the park. People who will never talk to you or write to you. But who are ALL pulling for you and sending you strength.

  13. Susan K says:

    Oh, yah, and cool about Fox News. This bleeding heart liberal may just need to reign in her knee jerk reaction and put on that channel when you are on! Let us know.

  14. That’s cool.

    And just reminded me that in a dream I had last night, there was a Team WhyMommy signed by all your fans. Hm. I might be blogging a bit much🙂

  15. Linda L. says:

    WOW!
    🙂 🙂 🙂

  16. tori says:

    That is very cool. I love the fact that you are raising awareness so well!

    I have to say thank you because I have had these really strange things going on with my one breast. My gynecologist has done tons of ultrasounds and keeps finding “nothing” wrong. He told me to give up caffeine, change laundry detergents, etc. I finally got frustrated enough to call another doctor (who I saw while breastfeeding when I had some bloody discharge) who said it is ludacris to ignore the symptoms I am having and he is seeing me today. I’ll be thinking about you. Hopefully my stuff will turn out to be nothing, but if it is something, I give you the credit for me finally calling another doctor and figuring out what is wrong. Thank you for being my inspiration!

  17. whymommy says:

    Tori, I’m glad you’re going to another doctor! It would be totally unfair for you to have something else wrong like that — but I hope you find an answer soon. IBC (which I hope you don’t have) doesn’t often show on ultrasounds — you need a clinical exam by someone who is familiar with it and a biopsy. A skin and a core biopsy. Like I said, I hope it’s nothing, but if it is, it’s best to catch it early!

    And yes, I’ll try to youtube the segment….

  18. Colleen says:

    It is so great that you were able to see that people were seeing more than just the bald head. I think most people can’t help but stare and not know what to think at first. But given a few moments the majority of people out there really feel for what you, and others, are going through.

    Wow! Fox News 11! How exciting is that? You really are doing a fabulous job at getting the information out there. Applause!

  19. ~JJ! says:

    Will I get to see it in NY???

    Hope so.

    Hey, you rock!

  20. jenn says:

    I read about you in Parents magazine (or Parenting, I can’t remember which, they showed up the same day.) I’m your age and have two little boys who were born almost the same times as your boys. I just wanted you to know I’m thinking of you and pulling for you!

  21. Ally says:

    Whoa! This is all so great. The kindness while you were shopping, the coverage for IBC education. Fantastic!

  22. ohamanda says:

    Yay! How exciting.

  23. SarahK says:

    I think you are such a strong woman and I read religiously. Your son and my son are close in age, as are we and your story has made such an impact on me. You have taught me a lot about cancer, not just IBC but the people behind the bald heads and I appreciate your candor and honesty. You are definitely in my thoughts! Yay for being on TV!

  24. sillydreamer says:

    Too cool and no, I’ve never been filmed for TV while blogging so rock on WhyMommy!!!!

  25. April says:

    The first part of your blog had me in tears… I had a woman stop me in the grocery store one day when I was going through Chemo she shared her story of her sister that had passed away, and then she asked me if she could give me a hug. I had been worring about my husband and children so much I didn’t realize that I wasn’t even thinking about myself because that hug made me cry. She told me that she would pray for me, and I’ve never seen her again. But I still remember that hug…

    Congratulations on the News story, you deserve it.

  26. allthepretties says:

    I get the “oh you poor thing” look when I go out with my bald mom.
    I can’t wait to see you on fox news

  27. Ree says:

    Oh yes. Even though I don’t watch Fox News (being the screaming liberal that I am), I will turn it on for you.

  28. ella says:

    That’s so exciting! I won’t get to see it, but maybe you’ll be able to link to it?

  29. whymommy says:

    They filmed me at the hospital yesterday too — it will be posted on their web site or the hospital’s web site in a few weeks. I’ll let you all know!

  30. motherofbun says:

    Can’t wait to see the segment air! How cool.

