Chemo #5

I’m still here … just trying to process yesterday.  I’ll share the facts now and get to how I feel about them soon.

* The cancer’s appearance is improving, but the tumor is still inoperable.  In fact, every time I get chemo, it seems that the tumor shrinks for the first two weeks, but grows back in the third.  That’s why

* My treatment regimen has been upped to every week.  That’s right; I have to go down and sit in the chair and get chemotherapy dripped into my arm every week from now until Christmas.  But

* The dose won’t be as high as on the every-three-week cycle, so perhaps it won’t knock me on my tush as hard.  I hope not, at least.  The last three weeks have taken me 8 days to feel decent again.  And now I go every 7 days.  At least

* I don’t have to go out to the local blood draw and testing facility to get my blood drawn on the alternate weeks anymore.  Their needlesticks invariably hurt and left bruises.  However

* I’ll still need a needle stick downstairs and my IV upstairs at the hospital.  Oh well.  At least

* WhyDaddy is still going to be able to come with me to chemo.  There’s only one that he’ll have to miss, for work.  He and

* My mother and father were with me this week, keeping me company, and it really helped.  Also

* The news crew came along too, filming everything from check-in to needle-stick, and a bit of the drip.  Lovely.  But

* It’s more awareness for IBC.  The segment(s) will air the last week of October, on Fox, channel 5/25 here in D.C. and surrounding areas.  It looks like it will be on the web too, so I’ll link up when it comes out.  I’m the one in the pink converse tennies and the hat.  I’m wearing a soft new chemo cap now, from

* My amazing Moms Club, the local Team WhyMommy, who showers me with a pink bag of encouragement and fun items to help me through each chemo cycle.  AC was really hard for me, and it’s been amazing to have their help and support all the way through this.  I certainly don’t expect them to do this for every chemo treatment now!  An email or a note would be enough, since it’s weekly.  (Although I will miss the chocolate chip cookies, the brownies, and the veggie breads.)  I’ll have to email them and let them know that instead of three more treatments, I now have

* Eleven.

38 Responses to Chemo #5

  1. PunditMom says:

    You are amazing to let them film for more IBC awareness!

  2. andi says:

    I’m sorry. You are so brave. Please know that you are in my thoughts while you undergo even more chemo.

  3. April says:

    Wishing you luck…

  4. Amy says:

    HI! I just found your site and I have to tell you that I am completely in awe of your bravery. You are one amazing chick! I’m local to you, somewhat, I think, and I just wanted to let you know that I am walking in the “Walk to Fight Breast Cancer” in Alexandria on Oct 20th. I know you are doing a lot of walking this month, but if you are interested, its at http://alexandriava.gov/oow/evt/walk_index.php. If you can’t be there, can I walk for you? Please e-mail me hanleya at asco dot org.
    (also, I work in research for ASCO–the American Society of Clinical Oncology…this is an issue that is very near to my heart!)

  5. Spacemom says:

    Ugh, okay, 11 is not an impossible number. The shrinking is helping, but I know the slow progress is frustrating.

    You can do this! I know you can!

  6. canape says:

    Wishing I was there to hold your hand right this second.

  7. Monica says:

    I make a mean brownie. How do I get in on this local secret society?

  8. Jessica says:

    Hey Girl!
    I just saw that we are both doing a review for PBN! I didn’t know you were part of their network too🙂
    I would have emailed you, but I didn’t know how to reach you…
    Thinking of you A LOT…

  9. I hope that even though there is more chemo, the lower dose per round doesn’t stop you in your tracks quite so much, as you hypothesized.

    You’re incredible. Just had to say that.

  10. Ree says:

    {{{{{{{Hugs}}}}}}}}

  11. Jessica says:

    I am sending hugs your way. And since I am in your general area (although I think on the opposite side of the beltway), please let me know if there’s anything I can do to help. I make a reallllllly good Irish bread…

  12. Meleah says:

    I just wanted you to know that I referenced you in my post today. I just wanted some people in my family to experience your unique point of view and bravery.
    Little Bear is the same age as my twins, and I think of you daily as I care for them.
    Many many hugs and lots of positive energy.

  13. Mel says:

    I’ll be praying that the new chemo schedule is much easier on you! Also know that the 1st weekend of Nov I’ll be walking in the Breast Cancer 3-Day in Arizona. I carry cards with messages from my donors so that I walked in memory, honor or support of those with breast cancer. I am adding a WhyMommy card to remind me to pray for you as I walk. Always remember that you are an awesome mom and a beatiful person. IBC can never take those away from you.

  14. This is why you are number…one!

  15. b*babbler says:

    I hope that while the number of treatments is higher, that they’ll be easier on you.

    Thoughts are with you, as always!

  16. Leann I Am says:

    You really are able to grasp the good and the bad! So healthy! So strong! I’m so impressed!

    I would love to be able to watch that news program! You hang in there and keep being the incredible role model that keeps me in awe!

  17. Qutecowgirl says:

    *Hugs*

    My thoughts are with you.

  18. The doctors KNOW how to make the cancer shrink… and now they’ve been monitoring you long enough to know how to KEEP it shrinking. It must be really, really hard to imagine going through eleven more treatments, Whymommy, but just imagine what an ass-kicking you’ll be giving that awful disease… An even BIGGER ass-kicking that you had originally planned!!

    You can do this. And we are all right here to help you through it.

    Promise.

    Love, love, love to you,

    CGF xo (and The Girlies, too xxxooo)

  19. Robin says:

    Eleven. Damn. Hopefully the recovery time with the lower dose will be easier on you, and this way you’ll get to see how much better it’s working that much faster. And it will. Work better that is. It just has to with so many people around the world pulling for you. And someday, when you’re on your world inspirational speaking tour, you’ll be able to talk about just how very much it sucked at the time.

  20. christine says:

    wow. eleven.

    but it sounds like your support group is amazing. isn’t MOMS Club wonderful?

  21. Imstell says:

    Shit. More AC? Taxol? What’s your new Regimen? I wondered at the 3 week schedule for IBC… they had me on dose dense which is every 2 weeks. Maybe that’s designed so the tumor doesn’t have time to start growing back. But even at that in the 5 weeks between my last taxol & my mastectomy I felt like it was growing again. Damn cancer!

    You are one brave woman. Please link to the news story. I can’t wait to see it. My prayers to you.

  22. Stimey says:

    You are an incredibly brave woman. Eleven is tough, but you get to take a whack at the cancer every week. Good luck; and the MOMS Club and I will be right here with you.

  23. Just let the hours carry you like they always have, one after the other.

  24. Veronica says:

    I’m thinking of you and sending positive thoughts your way🙂

  25. magnetobold says:

    *waving my pink connie clad feet at you*
    keep giving yourself those huge hugs from me. Love that you are still able to put a positive spin on the situation.
    That’s why I love ya WM!

  26. ~JJ! says:

    I’m still hugging…

    And thinking of you every day.

  27. motherofbun says:

    (I’m going to put on my cheerleader skirt — from 8th grade. HA! Like that would EVER fit — and do a little cheer — from what I remember….)

    Be aggressive! Be-be agressive. Be agressive! Be- be agressive. (Don’t remember the rest. But please know that I (and MILLIONS of your adoring fans) are cheering you on. Go WhyMOmmy! Kick cancer’s ass! You can do it!

  28. Joanna says:

    Thinking of you completely and entirely, WM…

  29. Sandee says:

    From one survivor to another… “kick cancer butt!!!”

  30. Lindsey says:

    I’m praying for you too. I know you can do this, WhyMommy.

  31. Aliki says:

    I’m still thinking of you and wishing you the best of luck, and sending gentle hugs your way.

  32. Rose says:

    Hope those eleven will do the trick!

  33. Ally says:

    I’m guessing you’re feeling a bit discouraged when you think about the daunting number eleven. I’m so glad that you have a supportive, loving husband and a mom and dad who can be there to see you through this. We’re all here, too, reading your updates each day, lighting our prayer candles each night, and keeping you in our thoughts always. You can do this, WM! I am looking forward to the huge post entitled, “How WhyMommy Kicked Cancer to The Curb with the Rest of the Trash!”

  34. jenn says:

    I just wanted you to know that I walked in the RFTC in Charlotte, NC today, and I thought of you and told a girlfriend about what you’re going through. We have boys the same age as your older one (within a month) and baby boys too, and we are pulling for you!

  35. amanda says:

    I always kiss my husband or at least think of him when the clock reads 11:11. I am going to think of your 11 as another sweet number. Sending you 11 style love.

  36. Kelly says:

    Reading your blog made me head back to the BC center where I’ve been a lapsed patient (no BC – just high risk) for a couple years – so thank you for that. As a mother of 2 (one of them just 9 months), my heart goes out to you and your family. Good luck and stay strong.

