Milestone

This morning was the first morning that I woke up, looked in the mirror, and was NOT shocked to see myself sick and bald.  This morning, I just saw me.

And that, friends, is a milestone.

More about Chemo #6 and MOMS Club Magic tomorrow.  Walkers with WhyMommy who are meeting up this weekend in Baltimore — I’ll email you about a meeting time and place.  Have a good night, everyone!

27 Responses to Milestone

  1. Your oldest friend, Adam says:

    You’re still the same you…perhaps weaker in body, but stronger in all the things that make you you.

  2. Kristin says:

    That’s fantastic!

  3. MammaLoves says:

    Passing milestones is a good thing. It means progress.

    Cheering for you!!

  4. practiceliving says:

    Woo hoo!

    Been thinking of you today.

  5. Sweet lovable you, that’s all.

  6. know what? this is one of my favourite posts ever.

    I was thinking of you today. Was your nose itchy?

  7. Hey. Fantastic. Beautiful. You and this post. And the sentiment behind it.

    Julie
    Using My Words

  8. Kat says:

    You go girl! I hope when you look in the mirror, you see what we all see in you….a strong, beautiful, amazing woman!

    Hugs!
    Kat

  9. KillerBoob says:

    Indeed it is, and an important one. It is such a strong and striking image of yourself.

    I’ve actually gotten to a point that I kinda liked myself bald. Ok, not that I’m going to do it again, but I am proud of my bald photos. You’re on the way there.

  10. ~JJ! says:

    The best news yet!!!!

  11. Reading this was a wonderful way to start my day! I can only hope that you can also see some of what WE see, through the internet…

    You are beautiful beyond words, inside and out.

    xo CGF

  12. Ally says:

    Good for you. Gorgeous, amazing you.

  13. Ree says:

    And you saw the absolutely breaktakingly beautiful woman that you are.

  14. Amanda says:

    Hmm, that makes me happy. Happy. Let’s see about seeing happy next time, how awesome would that be? Happy You Friday dear friend.

  15. wrekehavoc says:

    i lurk. quietly🙂

    it’s so freaking hard when you’ve some sort of illness, disease, or life-threatening disorder. you get so overwhelmed by being disfigured. or tired. or battered. my arm is literally black and blue at the moment, from inside my elbow to my wrist. three different IVs, three different days. two of them took 4 tries in 4 different places with 4 different people because my veins are crap. my DD is embarrassed; she wants me to pull down my sleeves and cover up my arm, like i did something bad to earn the bruise.

    i guess what i’m inarticulately saying is, yay for those moments when we get beyond the things that weigh us down. how wonderful when we get back to ourselves.

    you keep goin’, sistah.

  16. Leann I Am says:

    That’s awesome! You are still you, only STRONGER!

  17. What a wonderful milestone to have. Happy ME Day to you!

  18. KillerBoob says:

    and think of your bald not as “looking sick” but as looking “edgy”. I just pretended that i was way cooler than i am. it’s all in the attitude, baby!🙂

  19. Jodi says:

    That is a good thing!

    My name is Jodi. I blog over at Organized Chaos. I actually have a little “treat” for you over on my blog. Go on over and check it out.

  20. ohamanda says:

    You have a unique gift to show us the very inside of you! Thank you! Always praying.

  21. Damselfly says:

    Our hair and faces change, but we are always who we are. And even though I don’t know you or comment that much, I think you’re a beautiful person.

  22. Kim says:

    I have recently experienced this, too. It is amazing to me that it takes this long to “get used” to this look. But it does make the day just a little bit easier when you don’t have to deal with that initial shock of seeing stranger in the mirror, doesn’t it?

  23. BTW, here’s something
    for you. For truly inspiring me.

  24. Sorry to mess up with the links but here’s the real something. For touching many women -me included.

