WhyMommy Walks

Every day, I am stronger.

Where last week my major physical accomplishment was a walk around the block (and what an accomplishment that was!), this week I accomplished something that I truly thought was beyond my grasp.

I walked in the Susan G. Komen Race For the Cure.  That’s right.  I didn’t sit on the sidelines.  I didn’t ride the trolley.  I put one foot in front of the other, and, with the help of my amazing family and new friend C.E., I walked a mile.

Sure, I faltered.  Sure, I tired quickly.  But family and friends kept me going, and, when I needed it, they stopped and rested with me.  My mother-in-law put her arms around my waist and kept me going.  My younger cousin’s inexorable spirit kept cheering me on and snapping pictures of us as we walked.  My older cousin pushed my toddler in the stroller and set the pace.  My cousin-in-law kept talking to me and encouraging me to walk if I could.  My husband, God bless my husband, carried our baby the whole way, cradled in his arms, so the baby could sleep through and take his morning nap.  My husband and father-in-law even registered for the race at the last minute (they’re not listed at the link above; their registrations brought our team donation to over $700) to walk with us and cheer my mother-in-law and me on.

And we made it.  We walked the mile.  Together.  And at the end of the race, teenagers ran up and gave us pink roses and Boyd’s bears, and we laughed and smiled and went out to breakfast.

It was an amazing experience.

It did, however, wear me out.  I’ve spent the last few days recovering, and working through the bone pain that has only increased with the second Taxol treatment, building on the first.  My body hurts.  But that which does not kill us makes us stronger, and today, I am stronger than I was last week.

The event itself was amazing.  I didn’t know what to expect, but what I saw was dozens of breast cancer survivors with tens of thousands of supporters.  I think I’ll try to write about it again tomorrow, and talk about What I Saw At the Race. 

In the meantime, check out who’s talking about Breast Cancer Awareness Month and IBC!

40 Responses to WhyMommy Walks

  1. Kim says:

    You are so inspirational! I am so glad that you were able to take part in this amazing event!!

  2. ella says:

    Congratulations! A fantastic achievement!

  3. Jacquie says:

    You are simply awesome WM!! You continue to leave me in awe.

  4. Your oldest friend, Adam says:

    You’ve never been one to sit on the sidelines. You never have. You epitomize Winston Churchill: Never, never, never quit!

    Keep it up.

  5. Wow, that is seriously incredible! Good for you!!! Maybe we DID see you guys walking and just didn’t know it was you…although I was on the lookout for anything that said Team WhyMommy, it was SO amazingly crowded we could easily have missed you. What a great accomplishment!

  6. Esme says:

    Excellent achievement! You are an inspiration.

  7. Wow! You are simply AMAZING!

    Go you!!!!!

    xxx

  8. Meleah says:

    I AM SO PROUD OF YOU! You are my hero! Daily you amaze and astound me! CONGRATULATIONS on such a meaningful accomplishment!

  9. Ally says:

    What an amazing and inspiring experience! I love all of the support and love you felt there. Congratulations on finishing it. You are amazing!

  10. I’m so glad, WM! That’s fantastic!

  11. WorksForMom says:

    Wow YM, you are so amazing and that is just so awesome!

  12. C.E. says:

    WhyMommy,
    It was such a pleasure to finally meet you in person. You are truly an inspiration and I was so proud of you for walking in that race. Keep fighting and winning and taking good care if your absolutely beautiful family. We are all pulling for you over here. Don’t ever stop blogging, you energize all of us and keep me focused on my important job!

  13. Amanda says:

    I’ve been lurking for awhile and wanted to let you know that I am so impressed with your courage and strength. I learn so much from your posts – about IBC, but also about life. You remind me to cherish every day and not sweat the small stuff. I loved this post. Your strength and the love and support of your family are so beautiful. You ARE strong! – You go!!! I am sending you and your family good thoughts.

  14. I’m proud of you too! It must have been a great day.

  15. NoRegrets says:

    What’s the old saying, ‘walk a mile in your shoes…” You just ran a marathon.

  16. Kristin says:

    Congrats on walking it!

  17. JAMs Wife says:

    Good job, you must be very proud of yourself. It is so good that you had so many people there to cheer you on. It would be great to see some of the pictures that were taken at the event.

  18. Veronica says:

    You are an amazing woman. Congratulations on walking it!

  19. Stimey says:

    Yay! I’m so glad that the whole family got to go. Congratulations!!

  20. Bon says:

    tears in my eyes. proud of you, and happy for you.

  21. You’ve made me weep… I’m so truly delighted that you were able to do the run, with your incredible support group all around you. I am in awe… I am so very, very proud of you!!

    Know that even though I could not be with you in person, I was certainly with you in spirit.

    Love you, Whymommy–

    xo CGF

  22. deb says:

    Congratulations!

  23. feener says:

    did you watch the view today ?? you are an amazing woman

  24. April says:

    How excited you must be. What an accomplishment!! Praying you will be feeling better soon.

  25. Arkie Mama says:

    Wonderful! I was pulling for you.

  26. ~JJ! says:

    Go girl.
    So proud of you…

    I am kicking myself. I’m missing my walk this weekend. I have my inlaws 40th wedding anniversary party….First year ever. I’m sick about it.

  27. FENICLE says:

    Good for you!

    Amazing perseverance & spirit.

  28. Gill says:

    You are the most inspiring woman, do you know that? Well done!!

  29. marlene says:

    I recently ran my first half marathon, but the feeling of crossing the finish line doesn’t even compare to how exhilerated I am reading this post. Congratulations!

  30. beanmom says:

    You are amazing! Congratulations, Whymommy! And thank you for sharing with us all in your blog.

  31. You walked the mile! You walked the mile! You know S., that what you walked was so much more than that. So much more.

    Can you go visit my blog, I have something there for you. It’s brand new and was made with you in mind. Everyone go see it and take it with you!

    Take care and keep on walking …

    Tanya

  32. Ree says:

    Oh, Congratulations girlfriend! Awesome. I’m so proud of you. {{{hugs}}} {{{kisses}}}

  33. b*babbler says:

    Way to go! I’m so impressed. While it may have tired you out, I can imagine that it was something incredibly uplifting and positive to think about as you made your way through the rest of the week.

    Congratulations!

  34. Congratulations! I wish I lived closer to DC. I would have been proud to walk it with you.

  35. You are amazing, you are a blessing. You ROCK! I am proud of you. You inspire me. I could go on and on. You are already on my t-shirt for my San Francisco Avon Walk for Breast Cancer shirt under:

    INSPIRATION
    WhyMommy (you go girl)

    You make a difference EVERY DAY! to all of us.

    Hopes and Prayers for a Cancer free Tomorrow,

    Tina Mickelson
    http://info.avonfoundation.org/site/TR/Walk2008/SanFrancisco?px=2097414&pg=personal&fr_id=1480

  36. This brings a smile to my face. Go,go, go! I’m so happy for you. And for everyone who struggles and makes an achievement in their struggles. Go, go, go!

  37. YEOW!!! And you thought you were going to be riding the trolley. You big liar.🙂🙂🙂 (Although, don’t get me wrong, riding the trolley is awesome too!).

  38. clifford says:

    Rock on, girlfriend.

