Look Good, Feel Better

Shortly after I lost my hair, I attended a Look Good, Feel Better program at the local hospital where I get my cancer treatment.  Over the course of 2 hours, a volunteer, a social worker, and a cosmotologist named Hans fussed over us, helped us learn to apply makeup in new ways (like placing our eyebrows in the right place, and drawing attention to other parts of our faces), and discussed the ins and outs of selecting a wig.

It was a great program, and the best part was the homework.  Dozens of makeup companies, from Revlon to labels I can’t even pronounce, had donated enough so that each of us went home with a 20 piece kit for our skin tone (more or less).  From foundation to concealer to eye pencils, we had a complete starter set and the skills to use them. 

Because when your hair goes, people tend to focus on your face more.

Or your shoes.

The Look Good, Feel Better program helped me, and today I am grateful for the corporate sponsors and the professionals who volunteer their time to help cancer patients feel better about their appearance.  I didn’t think it would matter to me, but eventually it did.  This is a national program, and I encourage all cancer patients going through chemotherapy to check it out.  It’s free, and kind of a fun morning.  At the very least, you may learn a little something about yourself — because of the wigs (yech) that I tried on, I’m hoping that my hair comes back a nice deep red for a change.  Wouldn’t that be fun?

There’s a new book review over at Review Planet:  ironically, it’s You Look Nice Today: A Novel, by Stanley Bing.  Tomorrow, I’m going to review Edible Arrangements, a fun alternative to sending flowers!

11 Responses to Look Good, Feel Better

  1. ~JJ! says:

    Awesome. That is truly a fantastic cause to donate funds, makeup to…Who’da thunk it?

  2. canape says:

    They focus on your shoes?

    You know I love you, but I’ve seen your shoe “collection.” All two pairs😉

    I see boots, fabulous boots, in your near future.

  3. Stimey says:

    Maybe you can help me learn to apply makeup. If you haven’t noticed, I badly need help.

  4. Just Seeking says:

    I’m all for the shoes! and the makeup. Congrats to you on your strength and courage. While I have seen the Team WhyMommy all over the place, I finally found you via From The Frontlines, my favorite thoughtful poster.
    Shine on, sister. We need strength like your’s among us!

  5. amanda says:

    Hmm, I don’t get to see you in person, I find that since you’ve lost your hair, I am more blinded than ever by your spirit and beauty.

  6. Robin says:

    What a wonderful program. And edible arrangments? That’s my kind of centerpiece!

  7. cousin in law says:

    You have a beautiful face and great shoes !!!
    I am all about the shoes and you have it going on !!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Love
    Your Cousin in law

  8. It’s here in Australia too! Fantastic program.

    When I saw you mention shoes it made me smile (being the shoe obsessionist that I am) I know you didn’t mean it that way, but hey wearing fab shoes is a great conversation starter!

  9. “Look Good, Feel Better” is here in Canada, as well, and has regular fashion supplements in several of our women’s magazines every year (“Chatelaine” and “Canadian Living”). It is a superb program, and provides vital support to some very special women. I am so glad you enjoyed your experience, Whymommy!! I hope you feel as beautiful as you must look… because you are.

    Love, as always, CGF xo

  10. ggirl says:

    I never knew that had it and, even if I had, I’m not sure I could have summoned the energy to go. Sounds like fun, though. I’m glad you got to go.

  11. KillerBoob says:

    I never got to do that, well, because i don’t know of the program here in europe. but i’ve heard endless praise for it and hope as many women go as possible.

    three cheers fort he participating companies!

