Welcome to WebChat!

Welcome to today’s webchat with Fox 5 News!  I’ll be online live at myfoxdc.com from 5:30 to 6:30 tonight and then I’ll archive the chat (and link the video clip) over here — post your questions over there if you can, over here if you can’t, and I’ll answer them as best I can!

For those of you I haven’t met before, here’s a quick intro: I am a 34-year-old mother of two beautiful baby boys.  The oldest just turned 3, and the little one is 9 months old.  They are my life.  Before kids, I was a program scientist at NASA Headquarters.  I ran several research grant programs, started an Early Career Fellowship and Workshop, and ran selections for the Discovery Program of small ($350-$425M) planetary missions.  I loved working for NASA, and, at the time, that was my life.  I’m kind of single-minded like that! 

Right now, I’m dealing with a new diagnosis and treatment of inflammatory breast cancer, and blogging as I go.  I have hundreds of blogging friends who have written about me and my disease on their own web sites, and many of them even sport the cool-looking Team WhyMommy logo that you see on the bar over to the left.  I use this site to keep up with them and to let my friends and family know how I’m doing as well.  I’m happy to have visitors from all over the world join me here at Toddler Planet — on the days after chemo, when I’m stuck in bed, they’re often the only people I get to see besides my immediate family.

Welcome to Toddler Planet.

chatphoto

This is me and my youngest.  I call him Little Bear here on the Internet.

19 Responses to Welcome to WebChat!

  1. Stimey says:

    Hiya,
    I’m trying to find your live blog on the FOX website. Where specifically on the site are you?

  2. whymommy says:

    Stimey — it just went live at http://www.myfoxdc.com/myfox/pages/ContentDetail?contentId=4730636. I updated the link above. You can also look for the pink ribbon on the front page, in the main block, just under the headline story. Come join us!

  3. Hey! I just heard the intro to your segment! Its so great that your story is being told to an audience this big!!!

  4. Ali says:

    Thanks again for the chat, Susan. ~ AliCF

  5. Nice segment on Channel 5! You did a great job.
    It also was pretty cool to see my signature in the scroll down. 🙂

  6. Stimey says:

    Your webchat was great! And I loved your story on the news. It was really informative and relatable. And you looked gorgeous (NOT gourd-geous)! As did your beautiful little dudes.

  7. Stimey says:

    I forgot to mention that one of my favorite things in the news piece was when they showed Little Bear falling on his face on your floor. Really funny. And something I’ve seen my kids do 600 times.

  8. canape says:

    Those were the most awesome eyebrows ever. I totally approve.

  9. Nancy says:

    I’m so sorry I missed the segment — but you were amazing on the chat. You handled the questions with poise and great info.

    And hey, I sent you an e-mail (you’ll see why when you read it!!)

  10. Bon says:

    you guys are really beautiful. congrats on going live!

  11. platespinner says:

    i haven’t seen your segment, but wanted you to know how much i enjoy your blog. you’re fab.

  12. Kat says:

    You go girl! BTW, you looked incredible!

    Hugs!
    Kat

  13. ~JJ! says:

    Awesome!!!!!

    I’ll have to go read the archives today!!!!!

  14. LilNicksta says:

    hey! im sorry your going thru seroius breast cancer… ♥♥♥♥♥ but on the bright side ur little toddlers are cute =)

  15. CINDY BELLM VOSHOLLER says:

    I AM CURT’S COUSIN – WE MET AT CRAIG & LORI’S WEDDING. I’M ONE OF THE HOTTY-HOO GIRLS. MY MOM (MARTHA) WAS TELLING ME ABOUT THIS INTERVIEW THIS AM. SHE WAS WITH JANE & STAN YESTERDAY. CAME INTO WORK TO SEE IF I COULD PULL THIS UP…AND HERE YOU ARE! I JUST WANTED YOU TO KNOW YOU’RE IN MY THOUGHTS AND PRAYERS EVERYDAY! STAY STRONG AND POSITIVE AND YOU WILL BE REWARDED! THE BOYS ARE SO CUTE AND JUST BROUGHT A SMILE TO MY FACE TO SEE THEM! THEY REMIND ME OF CURT WHEN HE WAS THAT AGE (YES -I’M OLD ENOUGH TO REMEMBER WHAT HE LOOKED LIKE AT THAT AGE). I’LL VISIT AGAIN – TELL CURT HELLO AND KEEP UP THE FIGHT!!

  16. Anta says:

    Whymommy, you rock! And your photos don’t do you justice….you’re even more beautiful “live”! Peace and strength to you, and congratulations on truly making a difference in the lives of others. I also went to get myself checked out after finding your site…you truly are an inspiration.

  17. Whew. Good job. Really good job. You are some kind of super woman…in that… it’s super of you to share with and help others while you slog through this.

  18. Carrie says:

    You’re beautiful!

  19. bitsy parker says:

    Yea! Loved knowing more about you. Keep it up!!

