WV Rocks!

My story about inflammatory breast cancer came out in the West Virginia Intelligencer today while I was at chemo.  It is AWESOME, and I am so grateful to the reporter, Betsy Bethel, for interviewing me and writing this story — and my Aunt Linda for making the initial call to help set this up!  Thank you both!

http://www.theintelligencer.net/page/content.detail/id/501374.html?nav=510

P.S. I’m off to see the surgeon later today to discuss my upcoming masectomy.  I don’t know whether it’s fear of the unknown, the decision whether to have a single or double masectomy, anxiety about her assessment of my progess in treatment (improving, but still inoperable, said my medical oncologist today) or the steroids that they gave me at chemo this morning, but I am nervous as all get out.  Prayers for calmness (SERENITY NOW!) and optimism would be appreciated.

19 Responses to WV Rocks!

  1. NYfriend says:

    Sending you waves of calmness and peace.

    Your new picture is terrific! You look great, love the funky hat! And Little Bear … awwww.

  2. whymommy says:

    Thanks! The hat was actually knit by a woman here in DC and donated to the Wellness Community, where I do yoga. They just hang on the wall, for any cancer patient to take at will, and I just about live in mine now. She calls them “Happy Hats” … and they are! Mmmm … so cozy!

  3. Veronica says:

    (((hugs))) and peaceful thoughts for you.

    I hope everything goes well.

  4. ~JJ! says:

    Woman, I know you will rock this Dr. meeting just like you have rocked all others…

    I am so backed up…I have to get reading all of your media tour!!!!!

  5. Dawn says:

    My mom and I say SERENITY NOW! too!

    It’s gonna be okay.

  6. With every appointment and every ordeal and every consultation, that’s one more behind you than ahead of you. Hang in there sweet mama – just keep doing everything you’re doing, and give yourself permission to feel squirrely sometimes.

    We’re all so, so proud of you.

  7. Meleah says:

    I know everyone knows this prayer as the AA prayer, but I find it’s words to be ever comforting and apropos.

    God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, courage to change the things I can, and wisdom to know the difference.

    God bless you, WhyMommy.

  8. You are in my prayers, as always, Why Mommy!

  9. Prayers are being sent. And hugs too!

  10. Spacemom says:

    Good thoughts and calmness are coming your way…

    BTW_ the NYTimes had a good article on the choice of a double vs a single….

  11. Ginny says:

    Great article! Thanks for sharing the spotlight. The reporter contacted the IBC Research Foundation for info and ended up interviewing me as well. I’m blessed to be a 13 yr. survivor (dx at 40 not 42)and pray that you too will celebrate those double digit survival numbers. I just read your Fox TV chat…YOU GO GIRL!!

  12. Karen says:

    Lots of positive calming energy coming your way. Whatever you choose will be the RIGHT decision for you. Trust in yourself, Susan!

  13. Colleen says:

    Good luck with your appointment and with your decisions.

    And congratulations on the article! Fabulous.

  14. KillerBoob says:

    I’m sure you’ll be fine once you’ve spoken to her. (And you’re not alone. Remember I threw up when I went to find out what treatment I’d need?!) And certianly once the double/single mastectomy decision is made, I’m sure the anxiety of that decision will no longer be hanging over you and you’ll know for sure what’s coming. You’ll be fine! Please let us know how it goes.

  15. ohamanda says:

    Somehow I’m way behind on your blog. I just watched the FOX 5 thing—awesome. You were spectacular. And your boys—cute and cutest!

    Praying about the surgery. Always praying.

  16. Matt says:

    You’ll always be Whymommy to me. I love this -“…every day above ground is a good one.” – Ginny Mason

    Sending you best calming thoughts today.

  17. Carrie says:

    Hope your meeting went okay — that interview and the subsequent piece was wonderful. Your story will reach more and more and more. And I know that you are saving lives each time you tell it.

  18. Terri says:

    I’m friends with your mom. We used to teach together in APAC. I talked with her today and heard what you’ve been going through. I found your blog and watched your Fox News interview. WOW….so much is happening. I wanted you to know that my thoughts and prayers are with you and your family.
    I ADORE your mom and will talk with her soon. You are doing a great service in telling people about IBC. I’d never heard of it. I will spread the word to my own friends and family. Keep the faith!

