Good morning!

When Little Bear wakes up in the morning, he wakes up with a giggle.  When I walk into his room, he laughs and waves.  When I feed him his oatmeal or rice mush, he claps his hands in delight.  And when I pick him up again, he squeals.  Little Bear is one relaxed little dude. 

That, my friends, is serenity.

Yesterday, I met with the surgical oncologist.  She agrees that we cannot yet proceed to surgery.  But she also agrees that the chemotherapy is working, and that I may be able to have my surgery at the end of the year.  A single.  And keep some of the skin I thought I’d lose.  Which means I’ll only need one-quarter of the surgery that I had been anticipating.  This means a much easier recovery and I’ll be able to hold Little Bear again much, much sooner than I would with the surgery I was anticipating.  Whoo-hoo!

More wonderful news?  I’ve seen 57 mommyblogs this month specifically mention inflammatory breast cancer.  I’ve collected them over at the Breast Cancer Awareness Month ’07 link on the left.  Did I miss yours?  Just leave a comment and let me know!

Click over to Review Planet today to see adorable new pictures of Little Bear and find out how you could win a $50 gift certificate for Vincent baby shoes!

24 Responses to Good morning!

  1. Oh, Whymommy… what wonderful news!! You have made my day.

    Have you seen Kim Klein’s blog today? It looks like she’s going to win that scholarship!!

    Much love, CGF and Girlies 3 xo

  2. Veronica says:

    That is great news! YAY!!!

  3. The best news! Awesome!

    Little Bear reminds me of Jack as a baby — we used to call Jack a little Buddha.

  4. Good Morning!!!
    Or should I say FABULOUS MORNING!!! I haven’t been around for the last couple of days and just had some time and thought I would catch up with you. And this post has made me so glad. I am smiling all over the place! I love what you shared about little Bear, but the news about the oncologist has me jumping up and down! I will make sure I check in EVERY DAY cause I don’t ever want to miss news like that!

    Give your family a group hug from me.

  5. I was so excited🙂 I forgot to say I lurve your new avi!

  6. maggie says:

    Good news. Continued good luck.

  7. bs honey says:

    HEY, WHYMOMMY. AND THE NEWS JUST KEEPS GETTING BETTER. I’M SO HAPPY FOR YOU AND YOUR FAMILY.
    GOD JUST KEEPS ON BLESSING AND BLESSING.

  8. abunslife says:

    Longtime lurker, first time commenter.🙂 I’m so happy for you and your family that you seem to be feeling better and able to do more with them…..I wanted to let you know that I had given you a little shout out on Oct. 4th on my blog when I went “back to pink”.

  9. Ally says:

    This is fantastic news. Hooray!

  10. motherofbun says:

    Yeay! Such great news!

  11. Meg says:

    I don’t have a blog, but I just had a lecture about breast cancer. My professor didn’t mention IBC, so I brought it up in discussion. And my goodness did we discuss!!! Thanks again for sharing.

  12. Robin says:

    What wonderful news! That just put a huge smile on my very tired face.

  13. ~JJ! says:

    Now, I’m happy!

  14. margaret says:

    Thats great news.

    It’s not much but I sent some people over from this post: http://mylife-whirlwind.blogspot.com/2007/10/photo-hunt-staurday-pink.html

  15. Kim Klein says:

    This is good news! I’m so happy for you today!

  16. Stimey says:

    I am so thrilled to hear this! One-quarter of the surgery? Able to hold Little Bear sooner? A relaxed little dude-baby?

    Awesome.

  17. Jen says:

    Great surgery news! I know IBC takes loads of yuck chemo to get to surgery. Holding that little guys sooner?!?! AWESOME!

  18. b*babbler says:

    That’s amazing news! Terrific!

  19. KillerBoob says:

    what great news on your upcoming surgeries. It makes my day jut that much happier!

  20. oh amanda says:

    Awesome news! Praying that the news is always good news!

  21. Arkie Mama says:

    That is fantastic news!

