Shhhh … g’night.

My other favorite time of day is the early evening, when the kids are winding down and getting cranky, ready to be soothed.  I lift Little Bear into my arms (or, more often, ask WhyDaddy or WhyGrammy to pick him up for me and rest him in my arms), walk upstairs, and put little footie pajamas on him.  I turn off the lights, settle into the rocking chair with his head in the crook of my left arm, and sing him to sleep.  After a few verses of one of his favorite songs, he closes his eyes gently and falls asleep.  Then I carefully, so carefully, place him in his crib and wait to see if he’ll stay down.

Just like every other mother.

Which is the beauty of this time together.  For just a few minutes each morning, afternoon, and evening, as I put my baby to sleep, I can forget about our troubles and just concentrate on my baby’s sweet face.  On the long eyelashes dancing on his soft cheeks.  On his big blue eyes that search mine, as his hand falls across my face.  For a moment he is all mine, and I am all his.

Jealously, I protect this time of ours together.  Whether I’ve been at chemo, in bed recovering, or out at the oncologist’s, this time of all times is mine, and I insist on putting Little Bear to sleep. 

Bedtime is my favorite time of day.

20 Responses to Shhhh … g’night.

  1. jen says:

    gorgeous. and i bet you hold onto each and every evening, and sear it into your brain.

    and how precious that is for you both.

  2. margaret says:

    Bedtime is my favorite time of day as well. There is something about snuggling with the girls as they wind down for the day. I just wish the ywere still small enough to curl up in my arms still!

  3. Jen says:

    Little Bear will remember the feel of your arms and the soft voice singing him to sleep. It will remind him of peace.

    Keep snuggling and singing! 🙂

  4. Stimey says:

    I think quite possibly my very, very favorite thing about my kids is when they sleep in my arms. Sometimes I read, sometimes I nap too, but they are so peaceful and I am too.

    I fear those days are disappearing for me as my guys get older.

    It truly is a lovely thing. I’m glad you get that too.

  5. WorksForMom says:

    This was a beautiful post WM. And I’m glad you do what you can despite how you may feel to have these cherised moments. I love bed-time as well. I love them even better when my son’s not teething. 🙂

  6. Oh, such lovely words, WM.

  7. Dawn says:

    jealously? all that lovely mommy love energy coursing through your heart at that point … that’s powerful healing right there….

  8. BetteJo says:

    Brings me back to when mine were babies. Sigh-h-h.
    Nice to have that sweet sweet routine stay the same. Wonderful for you, wonderful for baby.

  9. b*babbler says:

    Routine is so beautiful, isn’t it?

  10. Ally says:

    There’s nothing like snuggling the little ones to sleep, is there? I was just thinking that tonight as I held my Eli and felt how long his legs are getting. These are precious moments, to be sure (and not like the cheesey figurines).

  11. Carrie says:

    I love bedtime too, even though it is kind of hard to rock my big boys now. I still kiss them though, and sprinkle “magic” on their foreheads. I’ll do this until they are old men.

  12. christine says:

    that time is indeed one of the most precious times with a child.

  13. ~JJ! says:

    And he is one lucky Little Bear.

  14. Gill says:

    How precious and comforting to have this routine with your babe!

  15. deb says:

    You made me cry sweetie. It’s true though, it’s those small things, those bits of our days that are most precious. I love watching my children sleep, still to this day.

  16. So sweet. But yes, bedtime is one of my fave time with my kid.

  17. ggirl says:

    Beautiful. I know it’s one of those things that keep you going while you endure these hard, hard times. Take care.

  18. Yes, wonderful moments.

